We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Basket

Is this your business?
303 Old Bath Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4649
+1 207-882-6581
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good32%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“fried seafood” (30 reviews)
“haddock” (27 reviews)
“fries” (18 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
303 Old Bath Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4649
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

I had the fried scallops which were lightly battered and friend lightly -- not in the least bit greasy. Served with French fries and we got a side of cole slaw which was also very good. My husband had the friend seafood combo which included...More

Thank Susan O
Reviewed 1 week ago

I drove over an hour to get to this restaurant in anticipation of a special fried clam meal because I had heard their fried clams are exceptional. Having cooked fried clams on Cape Code for over 15 years I am pretty fussy when it comes...More

Thank Downeastme
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was recommended by someone for fried scallops. The cashier helped us pick out what to order and we were not disappointed. We ended up splitting a fried seafood platter and it was awesome. Incredibly fresh seafood. Casual place that was easy to get...More

Thank LuvBnBs_8
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered full size box of scallops 14.99+tax. When ready, the bag was so light, I thought it was the half box. Found out it was the full box and that it is only 6 ounces. I wanted my money back and they wouldn't give it...More

Thank ccthenomad
seabasket, General Manager at Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

hello, thank you for the review. a serving of scallops are 6 oz as i explained to you yesterday and you had about 12 scallops in your serving it is usually less then that depending on the size of the scallops. im not sure that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a meal along the way to somewhere else. It was fast service and great tasting. Our selections were for fried items which were good, but a little heavy, but tasty and generous portions.

Thank Karpedeb
Reviewed August 13, 2017

I love, love, love this place. Great place to stop and have some delicious food. Amazing lobster stew. Amazing fish chowder. Amazing fried shrimp. Shall I go on? Nice, friendly employees. I would highly recommend this place to family, friends, and more.

Thank Purple_Snow_Lady
Reviewed August 7, 2017

Daughter just got a clam basket that had 8 clams and went to complain that what was there was under cooked. The manager argued with her and she felt quite embarrassed before he slammed the mess into the waste basket and yelled to the cashier...More

2  Thank Engine91
seabasket, General Manager at Sea Basket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

hello and thank you for taking your time to write this review, since you were not present during the discussion i had with your daughter i will tell you what had happened. we nor any other seafood restaurant go by how many pieces of clams...More

Reviewed August 2, 2017

A basket of fried seafood, you can’t go wrong! The staff was friendly and the food tasty. A very casual setting, you order up front and pickup your own food. Plenty of seating and it’s located right on route 1.

Thank Steve B
Reviewed August 1, 2017

Our lobster rolls at Sea Basket today were the best we've ever had (and we've had lobster rolls from dozens of restaurants). They were loaded with 1/2 lb. of lobster meat, prepared with a light, tasty mayo dressing, and served in good bun-style rolls. They...More

Thank ARF-GF
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

We saw the mixed reviews but place was convenient to our trip so took a chance. Would not eat here again. Cole slaw was from prepared bag, could taste the preservatives, fried scallops were either soaked in salt solution or batter was salty, way too...More

Thank acmaine
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ship's Chow Hall
66 reviews
.26 miles away
Twisted Iron Grille
23 reviews
.55 miles away
Ship's Chow Hall
11 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Edgecomb State Historical Site
35 reviews
1.84 miles away
Monkey C Monkey Do
75 reviews
1.85 miles away
Montsweag Flea Market
17 reviews
4.82 miles away
Castle Tucker
52 reviews
1.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris A
December 17, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from George W | Reviewed this property |
That's what I remember, too.
0
Votes
Laurie S
May 11, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robert B | Reviewed this property |
No they don't but they do have probably space for close to that number.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 303 Old Bath Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4649
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Mid Coast Maine  >  Wiscasset
  • Phone Number: +1 207-882-6581
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing