We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
12076468467
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 610: English reviews
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stopped in here for lunch instead of the Maine Diner. The lobby is outdated with fake bears, I thought I was in a lodge in New Hampshire. The waitress took quite a while to come and wait on us. We wanted the lobster roll but they didn't have any gluten free bread. The waitress suggested having it on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette D
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went two times to Bull and Claw best time to go would be off season during the summer not the best service waitress forgot to come and ask if we needed anything we had to look for her and it was not busy .

Helpful?
Thank giovane07860
Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived around 12:30pm and didn't have to wait for a table, which is a bonus for 3 hungry kids! The waitress was very attentive and easily engaged the kids. There was a changing table in the restroom, which is a hit or miss feature in a lot of places. The food was very good. My husband had fried scallops... More 

Helpful?
Thank momfrommaime
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We're so glad you and your family could join us -- thank you for the kind words! I'm thrilled you guys enjoyed the menu, and we hope that means we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. We appreciate the support! All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Thompson, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fast, Friendly service and some of the best seafood I've had! We went on a weekday early afternoon so it was not real busy and I must say I was impressed at how fast our food came. We ordered off of the lunch menu & the prices were very reasonable. I ordered the fried combo which although wasn't overflowing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RonDon81
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We're so thrilled you enjoyed exploring the lunch menu -- thank you for the kind words! It's great to hear our seafood was a hit with you, and we're excited we can look forward to welcoming you back for bite sometime. Until then -- take care out there! Warmly, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was average Bill very high Ok salad bar Wasn't the best food Wasn't the worst But won't be going back Very expensive for what we got

Helpful?
Thank laurie t
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

I apologize we let you down, Laurie -- an average impression is the last we would've wanted to leave on you. We're always happy to prepare anything to one's preference, and I hope you were able to let your server know the food was lacking. Even so, I'm sorry you were disappointed, and we appreciate you taking some time to... More 

Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were happy to find somewhere that could seat us with only a 15-minute wait however once we sat it was several minutes before we could order drinks and appetizers. The bread took a really long time coming out. We had the fried shrimp appetizer which was decent and the clam chowder was okay. We would not recommend the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChantillyFishers
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

I'm disappointed we let you down with the lobster -- that's one of the things we're known for, and I sincerely apologize it wasn't a hit with you. If there's any chance we can make this right with you, we'd love to have you back for a better time! Thank you for the feedback. Warmly, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Kennebunk, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've thoroughly enjoyed every visit to this restaurant. Food is consistently well-prepared and the wait staff is very friendly and helpful if we have questions. But our favorite employee is the host, Manuel, a gracious and charming young man who is here from Spain for the summer. He recognizes us every time we visit, and he greets us by name... More 

Helpful?
Thank nanhiggins10
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

He'll miss you both too, Nan and Kent -- thank you for the kind words! We're so thrilled Manuel makes you feel at home, and we truly appreciate you taking some time to support us. Hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon! Take care. Warmly, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been coming to the Bull and Claw for many years, but this was the first trip back in quite a while and not much has changed, in a good way. The decor is definitely casual/family friendly, but still pleasant. We were there on a Sunday night and it was fairly busy, but we were seated right away and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mainetraveller_7
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Mainetraveller_7, we're so thrilled you've kept us in mind over the years, and we truly appreciate you taking some time to support us! It's wonderful to hear the baked haddock is a hit with you, and we're so excited it won't be too long until we can welcome you back for another bite. Until then -- take care! Warmly, Daryl... More 

Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had originally planned to go to another restaurant but were discouraged by the 70 min wait at 5:00! After searching for another place, we stumbled across the Bull and Claw. It had a children's menu and no wait! The decor was diner like but the food was plentiful and good! We had everything from lobster roll to prime rib.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danaks1940
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

We're so glad you could join us -- thanks for coming by! It's great to hear the whole family enjoyed what they had to eat, and we're even more thrilled we can look forward to seeing you guys again. Thank you for the kind words! All the best, Daryl T, Owner since 1973 More 

Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The billboard advertises Omelets, except the entire staff cannot make one.. Apparently the designated omelet maker was a no show... We visited the Sunday buffet left dissatisfied.. No shortage of lousy cold offerings...

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia219
Daryl T, Owner at Bull And Claw, responded to this review

Cynthia219, I sincerely apologize we were unexpectedly short on the day you stopped by. For our weekend buffet, our kitchen is set up to support the buffet specifically, while we have our omelette-maker set up to field made-to-order requests. It's usually a hit, and we're so disappointed we let you down. If there's any chance we can make this right... More 

Been to Bull And Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $100
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Digital Payments, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Buffet
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2270 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4716
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: 12076468467
Description
Located in Wells, The Bull N' Claw offers the highest quality seafood and steaks at the most reasonable prices with portions that will make you smile after every scrumptious bite! Over the past 36 years, we've become the destination for visitors to New England to enjoy deliciously fresh local seafood including our famous cape porpoise lobster, always prepared to order. It doesn't get any fresher or any better than Bull N' Claw.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bull And Claw and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Alburgh, Vermont
Wells, Maine
over a year ago
Brunswick, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bull And Claw staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?