We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $20
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
55
36
19
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
55
36
19
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch fish tacos italian sandwich chicken pot pie chicken cordon bleu steak tips provolone cheese very nice atmosphere the wait staff waterville area charlie beers eatery downtown lettuce specials meats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited for the first time (3/6)about 2 pm and the place was full. We got one of the last tables and our servers were great! Very warm and welcoming. My husband had the fish tacos and he loved them! Very tasty. I had the montana...sandwich barbeque steak, bacon and cheese sandwich. Wonderful! French onion soup was also good. Great menu and I bet after covid this would be a lot of fun! Will definitely visit again!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed June 13, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I went to Silver Street for our first night out since COVID and were very disappointed that only two staff members were wearing their mask properly. We were looking for a safe night out that unfortunately was not found at Silver Street.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
SilverStreetSpirits, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2020

Sorry...we will tighten up the proper way to wear the mask. Please try us again and let us know if we re doing better.

Reviewed March 23, 2020

Two of us came for lunch on a Saturday. I ordered the Teriyaki Steak Bomb which is teriyaki sirloin, bell peppers, onions, mushrooms and American cheese on a hoagie roll ($10.95). It arrived hot and delicious. The French fries were outstanding! My companion ordered the...Lebanese salad ($9.95) which she enjoyed. It was not busy that day and the bartendress was also our server. She was attentive and pleasant. I'll be back!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
SilverStreetSpirits, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Skeelovr...thanks for taking the time to provide this thorough review of your experience at SST.Hope you are faring well and hope to see you again after we go through these troubled times! Thanks...Charlie

Reviewed March 6, 2020

No reservations needed lots of options and flexible lunch and dinner and specials. Great beers and good service Food is quality no concerns

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
SilverStreetSpirits, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Thank you so muck for your comments and the five stars!

Reviewed December 10, 2019

This is one of those places that you really have to mentally prepare for. It does serve a purpose but the food is average, and the service for the most part is far below average. If you don't prepare yourself you'll end up feeling p*ssed...off by the end of your time there. Go during the warm season for their happy hour. Have their shrimp cocktail and half priced drinks. Their shrimp cocktail uses the biggest shrimp I've ever seen outside of 5 star restaurants. They also have decent flatbread type pizzas as well as a neat "build it yourself" nacho platter where all the toppings are served on the side along with a creamy cheese dip. Surprisingly unique and delicious. Ocassionally you find a wait person with a great personality that will take great care of you but just as often, you'll find a stone faced person who shows up once an hour if you're lucky. Service overall is poor and the place comes to a screeching halt if its' even half full. Just prepare yourself and you'll be fine. Side note: They have a decent selection of craft beers, and their wines are a generous pour.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 14, 2019

Three of us came for lunch on a recent Sunday. It has a sports pub atmosphere with lots of TVs. They offer a reasonably priced brunch menu as well as their regular menu AND $4.00 Bloody Marys and Mimosas! The Bloody was good, just spicy...enough and served with an olive, small celery stick, lemon and lime. I ordered the Italian Italian sandwich ($10.99) off the brunch menu. It was full of Italian meats, provolone cheese, lettuce, red onion and tomato. It was very good and hearty enough that I could only eat half. My French fries arrived cold. My companions ordered salads which they enjoyed. From the time we ordered until we received our meal took an HOUR! Our server was most pleasant but apparently "over-busy." Perhaps the kitchen was short-staffed. If you're not in a hurry, I'd recommend giving this place a try, but if you are, steer clear!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Silver Street T, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

So sorry that the wait time was so long. It was way busier than normal, Thank you for the three stars in spite of the wait and there's no excuse for cold fries! I'd be more than happy to send you a gift card if...More

Reviewed September 10, 2019

We had our entire baseball team, 40 plus people, for a family dinner at the Silver Street Tavern in July! Charlie, the manager/owner, was incredibly helpful and accomodating! The wait staff was excellent and provided us with amazing service. All the families enjoyed their meals....The food was outstanding and the drinks were great! Portions were big and many of us had to take home leftovers! YUM!!n Thank you to everyone at the tavern for making our evening memorable and so much fun!! We will be back next summer when we play again in the Cal Ripken World Series!!!!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Silver Street T, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Pamela...thank you for your wonderful comments. Let us know when you're back in town!

Reviewed August 22, 2019

First, I want to say I am a Professional Chef and Food blogger from Maine. I very rarely bad mouth local restaurants and only support and uplift those 99% of the time... however! My wife and I have been going to Silver Street Tavern in...Waterville, Maine for over 3 years now. Sometimes it’s a great place to kick back and enjoy Happy Hour and a steak Quesadilla and sometimes they fall short on burnt food and subpar service but we still good back for second, third and forth chances because they are one of the only places down town with the best outdoor seating. Now let me get to my issue. We often visit at happy hour because the owner has great deals and the food is ok. Honestly besides the one time they sent out a burned steak quesadilla the food is average. My wife and I always order the "single pour Preseco" as one of the specials. So, as usual we ordered the Proseco but when we got the bill we were charged the regular price for some reason. When I asked the waitress why we did not get the special price she commented that the owner changed the menu and the Preseco is no longer on special. As a business owner myself I know that he probably wasn't making much money on the deal so I quickly refocused on the real issue… communication. When asked to speak to the owner (whom was watching like a little rat from afar and to afraid to address the problem himself) she proceeding to walk over to the bar and retrieve him. Let me paint a picture of the angry, mean looking man with his arms crossed and his eyebrows slanted... he walked over to the table and stood in front of us and said "what is your problem?" I proceeded to engage in a conversation but quickly saw his demeanor change into a very confrontational sour owner. Now...this is not the owner’s usual look on his face. Honestly he has always seemed light, happy and focused. But this time was different...when my wife spoke up and asked him when he changed this menu items price he said "6 months ago". My wife said we were just in 3 weeks ago and it wasn't changed then. He said to her "you are a liar" Ok, now that's where I come in. (insert a lot of not so pleasant words here). This is not about the money folks... this review is about customer service. Needless to say the conversation did not go well between him and I after that. We paid the bill and left. WE WILL NEVER BE BACK! This owner really blew it. I have my own foodie radio show and I can't stop talking about this guy. He was absolutely an A-HOLE. I will use this poor customer service as an example for the rest of my life. Trust me I really don't let this ruin my life but I think everyone has that ONE experience they will never forget at a restaurant.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

We had a combination of different dishes, and every bit of it was awesome. The steak tips were hands down the best I’ve ever had. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 28, 2019

Very nice atmosphere where you can eat inside or on the front deck outside on a nice day or night. Live musicians playing inside. Wide variety menu with seafood, burgers, fish tacos. We had chicken pot pie..excellent with puff pastry top. Also had Chicken cordon...blue which had an excellent cherry cream sauce. Mom has fish tacos..very good. Portions are large too. Took home half my meal. Definitely recommend this restaurant in Waterville Maine downtown. Service was excellent..very attentive.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Silver Street T, Owner at Silver Street Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Bernadette...thank you so much for your detailed 5 bubble review! We hope to be able to repeat this performance on your next visit!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
67 reviews
1.20 miles away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
514 reviews
1.59 miles away
Fireside Inn & Suites
413 reviews
1.61 miles away
Hampton Inn Waterville
575 reviews
2.22 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Holy Cannoli
139 reviews
.06 miles away
18 Below Raw Bar
200 reviews
.05 miles away
Last Unicorn
190 reviews
.02 miles away
Amici's Cucina
133 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fort Halifax State Historic Site
20 reviews
1.11 miles away
Colby College Museum of Art
188 reviews
1.91 miles away
Two Cent Bridge
52 reviews
.13 miles away
Winslow Homer's Studio
24 reviews
3.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Silver Street Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing