We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lighthouse Inn & Restaurant

12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
+1 207-276-3958
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“crab melt” (7 reviews)
“lobster stew” (8 reviews)
“burger” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in for a quick lunch. Left 45 minutes later and had still not been served our sandwiches. No apologies from our waitress or management. We weren't the only ones either. Literally half of the patrons were waiting and upset with lack of professional service.

Thank cdemurphy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had no cell service anywhere in the vicinity of the restaurant so I took a chance. Aesthetically, the place is in need of an update. Couldn't figure out the theme here. I was waiting for Gordon Ramsey to come out of the kitchen asking...More

Thank Erwizard
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here at 8am after driving around Acadia, had eaten at the Coffee Shop Diner next door in the past which was great, but it was closed this morning. So we stepped in to this little restaurant/bar which is in the same building....this is why...More

Thank Karen W
Reviewed 1 week ago

nothing was bad, but nothing was good. - for special drinks, I always ask the bartender if it's something they excel at - very humid day, & I was in the mood for a Mojito. all sugar; mint leaves simply torn and tossed in; terrible,...More

Thank andreakimkey
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband ordered the haddock sandwich and we were surprised to see the "slab" of fish on the bun. Other fish sandwiches we tried at other places had very thin slices of fish. It was very good. I had the mushroom and garlic burger and...More

Thank Carol M
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I arrived on Mount Desert Island in the late afternoon and were staying in Otter Creek. With no groceries yet and needing to eat, we called the Lighthouse Inn & Restaurant. We asked how late they were open that evening and the...More

Thank Jay H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in here for an early morning breakfast. There were only two other people in there at the time, so we were waited on quickly and received our food not too long after ordering. We ordered basic eggs and bacon and they were fine....More

Thank revG777
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughters and I ate lunch here on June 26th between our hikes that day. It is the worst restaurant experience I have ever had! We did not have cell phone service and so did not read reviews until afterwards. There were very few diners,...More

1  Thank gardenfox
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We love Acadia but not the crowds of Bar Harbor. Stopped for lunch after hiking. Easy on street parking, Lobster stew was delicious and chock full of lobster. Fried whole belly clams were fresh and perfectly prepared, i.e. not greasy. Service was attentive and pleasant.

Thank mydeah
Reviewed June 1, 2017

Service was excellent & the food was superb & the price was right! Was so good, I went back for a 2nd morning.

Thank Everett K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jordan Pond House
2,211 reviews
1.74 miles away
Colonel's Restaurant and Bakery
354 reviews
2.44 miles away
Hitty's Cafe
23 reviews
3.44 miles away
The Coffee Shop & Pizzeria
17 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Asticou Azalea Garden
207 reviews
2.20 miles away
Sea Princess Cruises
324 reviews
2.31 miles away
Islesford Historical Museum
15 reviews
2.47 miles away
The Bold Coast
63 reviews
3.29 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kate C
I apologize about the rude service, I am shocked by it although I understand. Dale does tend to get more praise than not. I am in the kitchen mostly and am not always aware of all that happens in the front of the house. The dinner menu isn't up yet because I am rewriting it presently, although customers will come in and ask to see the dinner menu. I don't have anything on breakfast, lunch or dinner menu that cost $25 dollars, between the three menus prices range from $2.95 to $21.95. We serve lunch from 11am to 4 pm, I never thought to post the times but I can see a need for that, thank you for the suggestion. I dont mind doing lunch at night, but I separate the lunch from dinner because all the prep involved. We are not a 5 star restaurant, I offer casual comfort dining, to accommodate the variety of guests we have. I am new owner so I am making changes as I can and I will be making many within the next year. I may or may not remove the linen table clothes at night. I do recall you coming in because you asked for lunch and it was after 6 pm, and recall commenting to the "rude" waiter that everything you ordered off the lunch menu is also on the dinner menu, I can not comment on the "bad" food because I don't recall exactly what you had, but think you had appetizers and a kids meal but am not positive, apparently your guest check is missing, as soon as it's found, I may write you personally about the food. I wish I could comment though because if you didn't like something, I'm willing to change recipes, and I certainly would have comp'd your meal if you were that dissatisfied. My goal is to basically fix what's broken, and have positive comments here, I cant make a new page as a new owner for the Lighthouse, because I haven't change the business name, my great Aunt named it so im not willing to change it (yet), so I take all negative feedback as a priority for change. Again I apologize for your horrible experience with us and wish I had known as it occurred. Take care & God bless. Kate
June 22, 2015|
Answer
Response from Kate C | Property representative |
Please ignore the above, I posted in the wrong place. :) (still learning)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $24
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Main Street, Seal Harbor, ME 04675
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Seal Harbor
  • Phone Number: +1 207-276-3958
  • E-mail
Description
The Lighthouse Inn and Restaurant is under "New" management. Same family for 50+ years, third generation. We've changed our menus and will be making more changes as we progress. Thank you for visiting with us in the 2015 season.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing