We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roost Cafe and Bistro

262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
+1 207-646-9898
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (49 reviews)
“cuban pork” (24 reviews)
“flan” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Black bean soup was delicious goat cheese salad was also very tasty with sun-dried tomatoes would highly recommend this as a lunch place had quality selection of wine and beer

Thank Mrs G
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much, so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you soon, Rob Pinkham

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second trip to this area of Maine. We luckily found the Roost last year. It was so delicious that we ate three meals there. A year later we returned to find the good and service was consistently wonderful during both s dinner...More

Thank werwagner
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

WOW Werwagner, what an awesome review detailing many of your delights. It gives us at Roost (all team members) great joy to hear such warm and genuine comments and it gives us the continued encouragement to continue doing what we enjoy... providing wonderfully prepared foods...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The menu is small, but the food was great. On the expensive side too. The atmosphere was nice and the building was interesting. The music was low and allowed conversation. Tim as great.More

Thank Donna34746
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donna, thank you for your comments. I will let the kitchen staff know that you enjoyed your meal. Yes, we agree that Tim is a really nice person... and he is very genuine as well. Regarding menu pricing, we do not like to have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A year ago, I took the time to write a laudatory review of this restaurant, and have told others about it. Tonight was a disaster, and reflected a significant failure in terms of management. Worse of all, we were bereted by the host for a...More

1  Thank Alex H
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Mr. Hahn, thank you for your comments of and about our food that was served to you. We are happy that your meals and your Wanaleiya were enjoyable. Regarding your reservation time, you literally called us at 6:58 pm for a 7 pm reservation and...More

Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderland day in Ogunquit. Started taking a stroll down the marginal way and then went over to brunch at Roost. We had a beautiful table up at the front of the restaurant and loved everything we got. Started with almond and dark...More

Thank Heather H
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Good Morning Heather, thank you so much for your great review. It is so nice that you appreciate all of the hard work that the staff does to prepare a great meal for all our guests. Thank you too, for taking the time to write...More

Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

Do not miss. Eat in or take it back to your room. The croissants are fabulous. Chocolate croissant with champagne ANY time ... keep a couple around so you’ll have them.

Thank Pashado
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Hello Pashado, We could not agree with you more. hahahaa. Thank you so very much. They are done in the traditional French technique. Again, thank you . Cheers, Rob and Aldo

Reviewed May 11, 2018

We had brunch on Sunday and the food was simply delicious. The crab cake benny was tops in its class with lots of sweet, fresh crab, a well executed hollandaise and well seasoned breakfast potatoes. Get a side of the hash, you won't regret it!...More

Thank mcobrien
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Good Morning mcobrien, Wow, what a great review. Thank you so much. You made our day, week and month. Thank you also for taking the time to write this. Next time you will have to try us for dinner. The guys in the kitchen do...More

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We made our maiden visit to Roost Cafe this weekend and I will assure you we will return.My wife had lobster ravioli stuffed with butternut squash and reports that it was one of the best restaurant entrees she has ever had. The amount of lobster...More

Thank jimmarg37
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Wow, jimmarg37, we cannot thank you enough for such an amazing review. The chefs do everything they can possibly do to make sure each of our guests have a wonderful meal. And, then the servers do that as well, to make sure that the whole...More

Reviewed April 28, 2018

A wonderful delicious place to eat! Atmosphere is superb and to have a HOT plate of food delivered is a gift! Everything ordered 2x being there has been excellent. Highly recommend!More

Thank PeachesNewHampshire
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Hello Peaches. So nice of you to take the time to write a review of us at Roost. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your meals with us. The guys and gal in the kitchen try very hard to make sure our guests enjoyed...More

Reviewed April 25, 2018

We were here for breakfast midweek during the winter (March). Only 2-3 other tables occupied. We opted to share an eggs benedict, which was tasty but nothing spectacular. The other option we shared was a stuffed French toast. Unfortunately the French toast was very dry....More

Thank 783m783
AldoandRob, Owner at Roost Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Hello 783m783, we are sad to read your review of your breakfast meal. It is not what we normally prepare as we have won First Place for Breakfast/Brunch on the Seacoast just 6 months ago. There is no reason for the French Toast to be...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 35 hotels in Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel
503 reviews
.03 miles away
Sea Rose Suites
386 reviews
.12 miles away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
399 reviews
.25 miles away
Seafarer Condominium Resort
177 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cove Cafe
331 reviews
.24 miles away
That Place
665 reviews
.16 miles away
Lobster Shack
906 reviews
.45 miles away
Northern Union
212 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Marginal Way
4,430 reviews
.40 miles away
Ogunquit Playhouse
887 reviews
.23 miles away
Mount Agamenticus
258 reviews
.34 miles away
Ogunquit Beach District
235 reviews
.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Matt M
Dear Mr. Pinkham: I'm not sure how you can say "all the other reviews," if you take the "poor" and "terrible" reviews equal about 20% of the reviews posted. Another 20% defined it as average. We appreciate getting good food for a good value for our money. It seems that was not apparent for us and others. I may indeed be incorrect on the seating numbers, but July Fourth weekend, one would think that :excess" space would be in demand. I do not wish to get into a pissing match here. I try to be as forthright as possible with my reviews. If a place excels, I will post it as such, even noting minor missteps. But if a place is deserving of poor marks, I will post that too. Yes, it is subjective, but I've eaten in some awesome low and high end places, and I've eaten in some horrible high end and low end places. Please accept my and the other less than wonderful reviews as constructive criticism and use it for the betterment of your establishment. I hope you succeed in that task.
July 18, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AldoandRob | Property representative |
Dear Sir, I get all what you say.And we do, listen to all the reviews, regardless of the # of stars given. And we do meet and take away a bit of humility when we make mistakes, but use the review to improve. I do believe... More
0
Votes
Di30
March 7, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Henry D | Reviewed this property |
I am an occasional visitor, so I am not able to answer. Try contacting them through their web site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$25 - $35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 262 Shore Rd, Ogonquit, Maine, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Ninety Eight Provence)
    (Ledge Road)
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  Ogunquit
  • Phone Number: +1 207-646-9898
  • E-mail
Description
A warm and welcoming Cafe and Bistro where our philosophy is hand-crafted, a la minute entrees and appetizers that are exquisite, yet affordable. We pride ourselves on classical cooking techniques with contemporary flavors and creations that are perfect for a bistro. Our Summer hours are as follows: Breakfast/Lunch/Brunch: 8 am - 2 pm Pub Fare: 2 pm - 9 pm Dinner: 5 pm - 9pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;