We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Sun, 3/7
8:00 PM
Enjoy seasonal foods of Maine, harvested at their peak, in a casual coastal setting. The Pub offers locally sourced meats, freshly caught Maine lobster and seafood, and farm stand produce. Away from the crowds and close to the sea, join us in The Pub or dine on our deck with panoramic views of the ocean, serving lunch and dinner as well as a daily happy hour (check our website for dining hours). Don’t miss our Tuesday Lobster Bakes on the oceanfront lawn in July and August (please make reservations by 10am).
$15 - $45
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
American, Bar, Seafood
Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels salad lobster bake french fries filet newagen seaside inn boothbay harbor both nights out of the way seating area first night dining experience year after year children's menu enjoyed the clam chowder the bread pudding view
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed August 22, 2020 via mobile

The only saving grace was the view! There are so many good restaurants in Boothbay so you might want to cater to customers who make the trip to you. We called for a reservation but were told nothing was available until after 3 days!! So...we booked 3 days in advance. We show up tonight, the place is bare and deserted. Anyhow, we were seated with a great view. The server was attentive and prompt. The drinks were ok. The food surely overpriced. One little curry vegetable puff pastry for $10? We asked to re-do the slider to be well done but they brought it back without even doing anything to it. It was cold! I guess the chef did not want his food coming back. Lobster Bake for $36 included quarter of a lobster, 3 clams, 6 mussels in a butter broth with half a cob of corn (not fresh) and 2 potatoes cooked to the point of mashed potatoes. No fresh herbs to garnish either. Disappointing!! Should have stayed in Boothbay and eaten at a tourist trap like McSeagulls.More

Date of visit: August 2020
324corinnel, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our restaurant. Of course we are disappointed that it was not a rave review. We have enjoyed such wonderful feedback this season on our food and service, and were surprised to receive something so...More

Reviewed July 18, 2020 via mobile

Went there twice. A little out of the way at the tip of Southport at Newagen. A nice fine dining experience with great food. Reservation recommended.

Date of visit: July 2020
324corinnel, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2020

Thanks for dining with us! Glad it was worth the drive!

Reviewed July 11, 2020

My husband, our nearly 5-year-old son, and I ate at The Pub both nights of our stay at the Newagen Seaside Inn. We were very impressed - and very full! - both nights. We're by no means globetrotters, but we have stayed a few places...and dined on-site, and meh - they were just meals, not anything particuarly memorable. The menu choices at The Pub were at once traditional (clam chowder; Caesar salad) and upscale (golden beet and goat cheese salad; Statler chicken). The children's menu offered the usual favorites. We dined outside one night and inside the other night, and each seating area offered its own lovely ambiance. We enjoyed interacting with both the local, national, and international staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and attentive. We had the same server both nights - Tian. He was kind, attentive, and very knowledgeable of the menu. The first night, We shared the vegetable curry puff. My husband enjoyed a cup of clam chowder, the ravioli, and the Bailey's cheesecake. I devoured the sirloin au poivre and the bread pudding. Our son enjoyed a flatbread with cheese only (no sauce - a very nice accommodation indeed!) and a scoop of caramel sea salt ice cream. He also enjoyed sipping on his very first Shirley Temple - what a big shot! The second night, we devoured a Caesar salad. It was well-dressed in a tasty, creamy dressing and had tons of tiny croutons and shaved Parmesan. My husband had the Lawnmere flatbread, I had the Statler chicken, and our son had the macaroni and cheese (Béchamel-style cheese sauce on elbow pasta) with French fries (crispy, flavorful outside with a soft, potato-y inside). My husband and I both wanted to lick our plates clean but instead settled for helping our son clean up any orts he'd left behind on his plates. For dessert, mister had the blueberry pie, I had the Bailey's cheesecake, and little mister had another scoop of the caramel sea salt ice cream. We all waddled contentedly back to our room. Prices were reasonable for the goregous setting, high quality food, and excellent service. COVID-19 precautions were thorough and thoughtful. Tables (both inside and outside) were spaced appropriately to allow for social distancing. Single-use menus. Individual condiments upon request.More

Date of visit: July 2020
324corinnel, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2020

Thank you so much for this kind review! I love to hear about waddling.....high praise indeed. Congrats to little mister on his first Shirley Temple - that is a GREAT milestone!

Reviewed June 16, 2020

We had dinner here both nights of our stay. The menu had interesting choices. The Blueberry/pomegranate mojito was delicious. The scallops with saffron risotto was delicious.

Date of visit: June 2020
324corinnel, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2020

Thank you for joining us!

Reviewed December 20, 2019 via mobile

Dinner staff and service great - helpful, prompt, courteous. Food okay - have had better quality other places in the area.

Date of visit: September 2019
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Food is always good. We liked everything we tried here. Not a large menu, however. Live music some nights.

Date of visit: September 2019
Reviewed October 3, 2019

Lunch on the patio, overlooking Boothbay Harbor cover, was spectacular! So peaceful. Lobster flat bread was great! To us it was about the setting, which can't be beat!

Date of visit: July 2019
Corinne L, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Nothing better than oceanfront lobster flatbread! Thanks for visiting!

Reviewed September 3, 2019

We have been eating in The Pub at Newagen each summer for about 30 years. The quality does vary from year to year, depending on the chef and staff. In recent years, it has been quite consistently very good. The Pub is an informal place....Service can be quick or somewhat slower depending on how many diners it is accommodating. But overall, we return time and again, year after year because the experience is very enjoyable. You can eat outside or inside. The view of the ocean is the same as it's always been which means pure Main and lovely. The food is generally very good. We will continue to go back for many years to come, I hope.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Corinne L, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for your loyalty over all these years. I hope you agree that our award-winning Chef Nathaniel really brought his A game to the restaurant this season. We can't wait to see what exciting new menu choices he has in store for next year!

Reviewed August 26, 2019

Was able to score a last minute dinner reservation for Friday evening at one of our most favorite places. The staff is so attentive and kind. Food was delicious. We started with the mussels, then had the crab cakes & filet for dinner. Drink menu...has expanded and offers some great selections. We opted for the Paloma. Never felt rushed, was always checked in on, and the water glasses were never empty. Finished our meal with no room for dessert unfortunately, but headed over to the bar for a night cap. While at the bar we spoke with many of the staff who are so personable. Cannot wait to go back.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Corinne L, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback! We can't wait to see you on property again soon!

Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Waited for ever to be waited on then when we did I ordered a alagash white draft which was on the menu but was told we don't have that. Then wife ordered her meal a blt I specifically said I'll start with a cup of...chowder first then I'll have the fried calamari. He looked at me dumbfounded and said fried clams I said no calamari and had to repeat it a few times then finally had to open the menu and point to what I wanted. After a long wait sure enough here comes both chowder and calamari at the same time, so I refused the chowder. I really think the blame should be on the management for not noticing that he has a problem in his establishment. We will not return or recommend this place to anyone.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Corinne L, Owner at The Pub - Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your frustration. We rarely run out of a specific beer and I realize how disappointing it is when it happens. I hope you were able to find a suitable substitute. We are so lucky...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Newagen Seaside Inn
368 reviews
.01 miles away
Ship Ahoy Motel
101 reviews
3.28 miles away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
1,155 reviews
3.48 miles away
Ocean Gate Resort
464 reviews
4.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Five Islands Lobster Co
603 reviews
3.57 miles away
Robinson's Wharf
623 reviews
3.71 miles away
Sweet Dreams Bakery
6 reviews
2.40 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cape Newagen Alpaca Farm
23 reviews
.19 miles away
Reid State Park
293 reviews
3.28 miles away
The Wilson Memorial Chapel
14 reviews
3.31 miles away
Cabbage Island
463 reviews
3.56 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lew K
October 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from themaritimes92 | Reviewed this property |
Whatever your heart desires really. Vacation casual!
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing