We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zum Berger Heurigenschank

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Austrian, European, Central European
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Table Service

Location and contact

Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
19
13
3
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
19
13
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wiener schnitzel young wine musicians vienna bio trees
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were part of Avalon river cruise who brought us here for dinner and some live music. We were about 40 of us and there was a separate section reserved for us. They served us their own nice white wine with bread and nice cheese....More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went to this Heuriger with previous knowledge about the tradition and quality of a Heuriger experience. Additionally, I went with a local Viennese partner. We arrived to a dirty table without a menu. Which followed with a forced order for a “less expensive” water...More

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank K6899OUcatherineb
Reviewed August 10, 2019

The food is excellent and the wine too. Grüner Veltliner (BIO); der Heurige Rot is also very good. We ate Wiener Schnitzel, and extremely fresh (oven warm) bred with Liptauer and Grammelschmalz. Delicious. BUT the most incredible thing is the location itself !!!! Sitting under...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank 964hennyh
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Actually it was a perfect day and we set in a lovely restaurant. Unfortunately we have been surprised by waitress’s rude and arrogant attitude. We got a feeling this was due to fact we are guests from abroad. Food was average, service was bad. Shame,...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Ivo M
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Little midges flying all over, terrible wine, what we thought was German potato salad was pig grease. Sun dried tomatoes stuffed with pimento was tough and hard to cut. Forks were too small, not enough knives for the table. No accompaniment for schnitzel. Very overrated....More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank LaurieD220
HansH2662, Manager at Zum Berger Heurigenschank, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2019
Google Translation

Tut uns leid, dass es Ihnen bei uns nicht gefallen bzw. geschmeckt hat, eventuell hatten Sie eine endere Erwartungshaltung? ;-(!

Reviewed September 17, 2018

After several years, we had again a chance to go to the Berger. It was very nice - no problems finding a seat (without previous reservation), good traditional buffet and young wine. There was music but the musicians were not demanding any tip as in...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank choerig
Reviewed August 4, 2018

My wife and I were on the Vienna Hop on Hop off tour, and decided to hop off here. Good choice! We were just looking for a shady place to sit for a while on a hot summer day, and instead found (in my wife's...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank rmcleodx
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Visited this restaurant in January 2018 with a group of friends. Had originally intended to visit another restaurant I had been in a few years before but it was closed. Thank goodness! The Zum Berger was lovely and cosy on a sunny but cold day...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank David024
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

We visited Zum Berger as it looked like a typical, family-run restaurant in the centre of Grinzing. We were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted by a gentleman we believed to be the owner. He was attentive, friendly and had a jokey personality which made...More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank jacomus
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

The place is not ugly but is very touristy. This restaurant was not our first choice but all the others in the area were closed. When we arrived? the place was empty, which already takes a bit of charm in that kind of places. The...More

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank LoveTravel739145
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Living Hotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
655 reviews
.70 miles away
Suite Hotel Kahlenberg
70 reviews
1.27 miles away
Hotel Park Villa
194 reviews
1.59 miles away
Landgasthaus Fuhrgassl-Huber
32 reviews
1.64 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Mullers Heuriger & Weingut
142 reviews
.12 miles away
Zum Martin Sepp
639 reviews
.10 miles away
L'Autentico
44 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Beethoven Museum
67 reviews
.75 miles away
Grinzinger Pfarrkirche
34 reviews
.05 miles away
Krapfenwaldlbad Swimming Pool
16 reviews
.81 miles away
Beethovengang
27 reviews
.87 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zum Berger Heurigenschank staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing