We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cherry Tree

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Contactless payment
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,802)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveler rating
1,306
276
118
64
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
1,306
276
118
64
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black pudding scotch egg steak sunday roast fish and chips sea bass soup salmon potatoes bread market menu cooked to perfection lovely restaurant three courses fabulous food front of house birthday meal cannot fault
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We booked a table online over a month in advance to celebrate an anniversary. We were shown to our seats after a short wait on a blustery rainy Saturday night. There was live music on the other side of the restaurant. We were on a...windy corner by the roadside, we felt short-changed, a bit second class. Overall we felt disappointed, nice meal.....but.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After holding off going out for dinner whilst the restrictions are outdoors only, the decision was finally made to take the plunge...we were NOT disappointed! The efforts the team at The Cherry Tree have gone too, to make it welcoming for guests are spot on....We were greeted at the door by a very pleasant host that showed us straight through to our table. We were totally sheltered (as it started to pour with rain as we arrived) and it was warm...BONUS!! The service from Jordan fantastic, the cocktails were fab and the food was delicious!! To top it off there was live music on, which just made the perfect evening!! We can’t wait to visit again once they reopen indoors!!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I’ve visited the Cherry Tree twice since it has reopened post lockdown. The first experience was not the best, to the point I was contemplating whether to even attend the second booking (I’m glad I did). The first visit was as a group of six,...and the person serving us was the most rude and miserable server I have ever come across. Quite literally slamming things down on the table, as if we were an inconvenience. Their attitude was horrible. Had to wait 30 minutes for anyone to even take our drinks order, and that only happened as we called another servers attention. When the food arrived it was lovely, definitely no complaints there. And the other server was lovely and much more friendly. This trip was a 3/5 experience. I went again with my partner and had a much better experience. Our server, Ella, was amazing. Very friendly and attentive, on the ball with our ordering and just overall a great server. Food again was lovely, and came out with quickly. This trip was 5/5 thanks to Ella. Can’t complain about food at all, was lovely both times and everyone in the groups agreed. So I would recommend and I will attend again, just hopefully I won’t be landed with the rude server next time I go.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

Very very rude! Recently rang for a table and the lady on the phone was so rude FULLY BOOKED and baisicly put the phone down, this isn’t the first time this has happened! my farther in law has just told me he went to the...Resturant yesterday with my mother in law and walked in on the off chance to see if they could have some lunch sounds like the same woman laughed at them and said as you can see we’re full with a rotten attitude and sent them on their way! They are 70 years old I find that HORRIBLE! I get your full but speak to them nicely and not like presents entering ur Resturant!!! We had been going for years before the refurb and lockdown and now it seems youv gone abit to big for your boots have some respect for your regular customers and elderly! Appalling!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jadeee12344, Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We're so sorry you were dealt with in an abrupt manner on the phone. This is not the service we pride ourselves on and we shall investigate this fully so please...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Imagine being told you have outstayed your welcome by 3 minutes after spending over £100 for 2 of you to eat and a couple of drinks! Attitude of staff appalling, if you want great food and great service try the Rivington down the road!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?4  
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi j6ont, Thank you for taking the time to bring your issues to our attention. We are so very sorry to hear you felt rushed off your table. As you can probably appreciate we have been inundated with guests wanting to dine with us, so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a shame. Booked this place for 3pm on a Wednesday afternoon and was very impressed with what they have done with the outside area. The food was very good and the service was slow which was fine as we wanted a leisurely meal and...drinks. The 3 course meal was very good and after that we were asked if we wanted anything else. We ordered more wine. They asked if we wanted that large to which we agreed. No sooner was the drink placed on the table then the waitress came with the bill and insisted we had to pay and leave right away. Apparently we were told on the confirmation email our time was limited but who reads the small print at the bottom of confirmation emails? What was really annoying was there were many empty tables at this point. We were having a lovely leisurely afternoon which was ruined completely. Sorry, this is not good enough having spent £125 on a meal for two. Disgusted at a restaurant I have used many times but won't be doing again. A great afternoon was utterly ruined.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?3  
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Simon F, Thank you for taking the time to bring your issues to our attention. We're sorry to hear that you felt rushed out and that this ruined your experience. As you can probably imagine we have been inundated with guests wanting to dine...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely perfect. Took my Mum for lunch today. Her first trip out for a long time! The staff could not do enough for us and as usual, the food was exceptional. All staff were friendly and attentive. It hailed a lot but we were warm,...offered blankets and were well covered by the heaters. Staff went out of their way to help me when we were leaving as my Mum is elderly and some of the floors had become slippery with hailstones. I have been a customer at the Cherry Tree for many years and have never been disappointed.10/10 as alwaysMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Larrio68, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this incredible review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed everything and that our team went above and beyond - We will be sure to pass your praise onto them directly. Looking...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over priced for the portion sizes £7.95 for garlic bread is dearer than Manchester City centre prices!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Alison, Thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention, we're sorry you feel our garlic bread is overpriced. Warm Regards, The Cherry Tree Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was served by a lad named Lewis all night and he gave the best service we have had in any restaurant we’ve been too, top class! Food was great too would definitely be coming back.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi H5437CXscottt, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a brilliant review. We're so glad you thoroughly enjoyed the service you received from Lewis - we think he is fabulous too! Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came with friends to celebrate one of our birthdays. We have a variety of dietary needs and the staff and options were excellent - I am coeliac and really appreciate how they have a completely separate gluten free menu. (Makes a change from having one...or two options - which is happening even more with many places currently offering a limited menu). Staff were knowledgable, friendly and helpful, and all our food and drinks came out in a timely fashion. Really enjoyed my king prawns, cod and gluten free cheeseboard - will be back again soon. 🙂More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
CherryTreeBlackrod, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Bethnunn, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your lovely comments and we are so happy you enjoyed everything from start to finish. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Macdonald Kilhey Court
1,657 reviews
1.81 miles away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
856 reviews
2.22 miles away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
1,127 reviews
2.79 miles away
Plaza Hotel, Sure Collection by Best Western, Chorley, Preston
376 reviews
2.82 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Retreat Adlington
732 reviews
.93 miles away
The Hawthorn’s Restaurant
101 reviews
.99 miles away
The Goose & Gander
254 reviews
.72 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
JR's Ale House Adlington
7 reviews
.90 miles away
Liverpool Castle Replica
73 reviews
.98 miles away
The Lancashire Mead Company
5 reviews
1.69 miles away
The Brewery Bar
53 reviews
1.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andyvsf00d
October 11, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from petemeat | Reviewed this property |
Moderately I guess. I had 3 courses from the best of British for less than £20
1
Vote
davehulse2015
March 19, 2020|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SteveE1645 | Reviewed this property |
I do know they have vegan options on the menu. Gluten free I am not sure about.
0
Votes
P1TKL
November 23, 2019|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from SteveE1645 | Reviewed this property |
Yes.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cherry Tree

  • Yes, The Cherry Tree is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • The Cherry Tree is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5