We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rushbrooke Arms

134 A | Sicklesmere, Great Whelnetham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 0BU, England
+44 1284 388242
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible17%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
“birthday meal” (14 reviews)
“food was lovely” (11 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
134 A | Sicklesmere, Great Whelnetham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 0BU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited earlier this week and albeit that the setting is lovely, and the service could not have been better, the food, I am sorry to say was disappointing, and, therefore, not great value. I ordered a steak (and yes I know they can always be...More

1  Thank richardcD6266PL
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your review as this helps us to improve our service and standards. I am disappointed that the food you received was not up to our usual high standards and will be speaking with the team that were on shift this day. If...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal with family and served by a kind young man, he very helpful and friendly. I Would recommend this restaurant

Thank georgies992018
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Rebecca

Reviewed 1 week ago

There were eight of us . Most of us ordered Sunday roasts. They were very disappointing. Just a pile of poorly cooked or overcooked meat and vegetables just thrown onto a plate. The waiting staff were all excellent especially Victoria who is an asset to...More

Thank josephinegregory254
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as this helps us to improve our service and standards. I apologise that on this occasion you were disappointed with your visit and will be speaking with the duty manager and team that were...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this pub yesterday as it was our wedding anniversary apon arrival we were shown to our table where we were greeted by balloons, a card and a chilled bottle of prosecco very nice,( I did let them know it was our anniversary) the food...More

Thank ejandsj
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your lovely review and many happy returns on your wedding anniversary, we were pleased to be able to make this a special occasion for you both. I will be sure pass on your kind words to Georgina. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a Thursday evening for a meal with my husband. We had a voucher for a free bottle of wine for his birthday, and were given a very acceptable Temperanillo. I had. Rump steak and my husband had a chicken burger. We also both...More

Thank grumpsSuffolk
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm extremely pleased to hear that both you and your husband enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to see you return in the near future. Kind Regards Rebecca

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have always been fair in all my reviews and have given The Rushbrooke very high ratings. However, on this occasion, it fell totally below standards that I mark on. Good service at the bar for initial drinks but at the very grubby, sticky table...More

Thank norman1366
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as this helps us to improve our service and standards. I'm very sorry that your visit to us on this occasion was not up to our usual high standards and I will be investigating...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined here on a Saturday evening, first impressions we're brilliant! All staff members were very inviting and seemed happy as they worked, our main server for the evening was Conor, we had brought some friends over from Europe who were unsure of some items...More

Thank GeorgiaLW19
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm pleased to hear that you all had a lovely time and will be sure to pass on your kind words to Conor. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon! Kind Regards Rebecca

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Saturday evening, I had rump steak which was chargrilled, amazing flavour. My daughter had ribs & steak & husband mixed grill again all very good. Lovely evening, can't wait to go again soon.

Thank annierugbywidow
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank your lovely review. I'm pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your meals especially of our brand new grill! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Rebecca

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here friday night for a meal with my friends. They had a new menu so i tried a fillet steak from it. I thoroughly enjoyed it such a great taste from a chargrill. The service was fantastic they were friendly and made us feel...More

Thank TiffanyMartin
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for lovely review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening and our new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards Rebecca

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to go out for a nice dinner in a relaxed environment one last time before he left for university. Being just down the road from us and having been there before, we chose the rushbrooke arms; and god did we...More

Thank Evan3004
MRABuryStEdmunds, General Manager at Rushbrooke Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review as this helps us to improve our standards and service. I'm very disappointed to read about your recent experience with us and will be investigating further into with the duty manager that was working that evening. If you would like...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
491 reviews
2.06 miles away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
704 reviews
2.27 miles away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
660 reviews
2.35 miles away
The Angel Hotel
1,341 reviews
2.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Dining at Ravenwood Hall
194 reviews
2.28 miles away
Maison Bleue Restaurant
1,350 reviews
2.55 miles away
The Bennet Arms
12 reviews
2.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Greene King Brewery
677 reviews
2.36 miles away
Abbey Gardens
1,503 reviews
2.58 miles away
Abbeygate Cinema
379 reviews
2.62 miles away
St. Edmundsbury Cathedral
734 reviews
2.54 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
wisdom25
December 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MRABuryStEdmunds | Property representative |
hi, sorry we don't have a indoor play area but we have a fantastic outdoor one ! many thanks Rushbrooke team
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 134 A | Sicklesmere, Great Whelnetham, Bury St. Edmunds IP30 0BU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St. Edmunds  >  Great Whelnetham
  • Phone Number: +44 1284 388242
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing