We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Horse Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rede Road | Bury St Edmunds, Whepstead IP29 4SS, England
+44 1284 735760
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere in this great village pub, food was awesome, staff were friendly, helpful and willing to have a laugh. Would happily go back anytime.

Helpful?
Thank G00DM4N
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly village pub with good beers in a delightful setting. On our next visit will try the menu. Whepstead has its soul restored!

Helpful?
1 Thank chanrakthai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to this lovely pub as recommended by owners of cottage. There were 2 different rooms to choose from, we choose the quieter of the 2 as we had a young puppy with us. Sufficiently far from the bar not to distract puppy. Has starters and main course, food was preportioned that a pudding was simply out of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank wtpsg121
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

food good but veg needed more cooking. busy so long waits. Not impressed. Choose which table you want when you book as we were given a dark table in the corner.

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

We had a really lovely lunch on Sunday as a four and returned today for lunch as a two. Lovely welcome and lovely food with lovely staff. The fire was lit in the bar and the entire pub was very busy giving a really friendly feel. There is a very good choice of dishes across a selection of menus catering... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robertlintott
Whepstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2016

We have lived in Whepstead for nearly 4 years and before April this year we had only visited the Whitehorse 4 times. Under the previous owners drinking was not welcomed, only dining, so we are thrilled that the new owners, who are working so hard, have welcomed the villagers back. We are regulars now and the pub has a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank DKWills
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2016

OK everyone out there, if you are thinking of going to The White Horse please think again, we went today and found poorly cooked food a terrible wine list and a very poor dining room which could do with some paint on the walls and ceiling and also with such a miserable day outside if would have been nice to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank giles c
Lee S, Owner at White Horse Pub, responded to this review

Hello Giles I am disappointed by your review, it seems that you were not made aware that the dining room was being refurbished and due to the plaster taking 4 days to dry we could not afford to close. So apologies for the ceiling condition. You will be pleased to know that the whole room is fresh and painted now... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Asked a friend to recommend a good, local pub/restaurant to treat the family and he suggested the White Horse in Whepstead. I can't really fault the place other than the table next to us was a bit noisy and we found it hard to talk amongst ourselves. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food very reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2016 via mobile

Four of us have just visited the White Horse for the first time since the new landlord took over earlier this year. The menu was simple, with lots of specials, and very sensibly priced. We all opted for fish and chips - the cod was fresh and white, skinned, and cooked in a light batter with a little basket of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LynneHC
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2016

Have eaten here a few times in the past under the previous owner/Landlords and just once in the evening since. Was invited here for lunch to help celebrate a friends birthday on a Sunday . The Pub was quite busy (as it always was on Sundays) with a mixture of Families and adults. Service as always was with a friendly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M

Travelers who viewed White Horse Pub also viewed

 
Hartest, Suffolk
 

Been to White Horse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rede Road | Bury St Edmunds, Whepstead IP29 4SS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Whepstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1284 735760

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?