We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

White Horse Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rede Road | Bury St Edmunds, Whepstead IP29 4SS, England
+44 1284 735760
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 202: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a really lovely lunch on Sunday as a four and returned today for lunch as a two. Lovely welcome and lovely food with lovely staff. The fire was lit in the bar and the entire pub was very busy giving a really friendly feel. There is a very good choice of dishes across a selection of menus catering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robertlintott
Whepstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have lived in Whepstead for nearly 4 years and before April this year we had only visited the Whitehorse 4 times. Under the previous owners drinking was not welcomed, only dining, so we are thrilled that the new owners, who are working so hard, have welcomed the villagers back. We are regulars now and the pub has a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank DKWills
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK everyone out there, if you are thinking of going to The White Horse please think again, we went today and found poorly cooked food a terrible wine list and a very poor dining room which could do with some paint on the walls and ceiling and also with such a miserable day outside if would have been nice to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank giles c
Lee S, Owner at White Horse Pub, responded to this review

Hello Giles I am disappointed by your review, it seems that you were not made aware that the dining room was being refurbished and due to the plaster taking 4 days to dry we could not afford to close. So apologies for the ceiling condition. You will be pleased to know that the whole room is fresh and painted now... More 

Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Asked a friend to recommend a good, local pub/restaurant to treat the family and he suggested the White Horse in Whepstead. I can't really fault the place other than the table next to us was a bit noisy and we found it hard to talk amongst ourselves. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food very reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us have just visited the White Horse for the first time since the new landlord took over earlier this year. The menu was simple, with lots of specials, and very sensibly priced. We all opted for fish and chips - the cod was fresh and white, skinned, and cooked in a light batter with a little basket of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LynneHC
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2016

Have eaten here a few times in the past under the previous owner/Landlords and just once in the evening since. Was invited here for lunch to help celebrate a friends birthday on a Sunday . The Pub was quite busy (as it always was on Sundays) with a mixture of Families and adults. Service as always was with a friendly... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2016

My friend and I have frequently visited The White Horse, whilst Gary and Di were owners and since the change of ownership. We have had good service and good food except for last Sunday when we were kept waiting for an hour and a quarter, eventually the food arrived my friends food was very good my pork meal was mediocre.... More 

Helpful?
Thank meadams9
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

Six of us booked for lunch on Saturday to celebrate my wife's birthday. They gave us their Garden room which offered private dining and lots of space. It was great for us as we had a three month old baby in our party. Really great service and good food. Good value at £120 for the six of us including drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank dirvine1201
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Our visit was perfect,lovely atmosphere and busy. Our starter of whitebait was hot and beautifully presented. Our main of roast pork was beautifully tender and tasty, Lovely fresh veg and tasty gravy. Puddings were delicious. Will look for an excuse to return.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2016

We have just tried to book for 3 people for lunch for Sunday week (10 days time) as we specifically wanted to reserve a particular table. We were told that we could not be guaranteed this as it was really a table for 4. We are familiar with the White Horse having frequented it when Gary and Di were patrons... More 

Helpful?
Thank BSESusanne
Lee S, Owner at White Horse Pub, responded to this review

Hello Susanne I would like to apologise as it seems we have had a bit of a misunderstanding. The reason for not being able to give you the table you requested was due to it being booked by someone else. It was not due to numbers on this occasion as the alternative table offered was also a table of four... More 

Travelers who viewed White Horse Pub also viewed

 

Been to White Horse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rede Road | Bury St Edmunds, Whepstead IP29 4SS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Whepstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1284 735760

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?