We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $10
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
62
16
0
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
62
16
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chilli pulled pork soup popcorn cappuccino lotion jar
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Never Again!! Will always do the Christmas Walk and support every busi ess there except for this rip off.... didnt bother to post prices and now I know why...15 dollars for 2 small styrofoam cups of watered down luke warm chili...Im talking less than a...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
SmellyHimself, Owner at Smelly Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2019

Not sure what shop this reviewer had their bad experience at, but it was not us at the Smelly Gourmet. We did serve my award winning chili during Christmas Walk (50 or 60 gallons of it because of its popularity) but our prices were clearly...More

Reviewed September 28, 2019

Best cappuccino ever. WATCH OUT STARBUCKS. I love her lotions. The owner a blast. Fun loving character.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

Who could resist walking into a shop with the name smelly gourmet?. We were warmly met with a gentleman in a top hat and a big smile, oh yeah he was clothed as well. He is an incredible craftsman with many different Wooden craft items...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Great coffee, great food, great owners. The atmosphere is fabulous especially since the deck and outdoor seating added but I loved this place when it was in the tiny corner building across the street too many years ago. Sometimes smelly is even playing guitar on...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

From the minute we walked in to the warm greeting and complementary popcorn to the “thank you come again” when we finished this place was great! We each had our own panini, WOW! These were huge, very filling and superb flavor. Coupled with the paninis,...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We didn't stay long enough in Metamora to eat here. Smelly gives you a sample of their popcorn when you come in. He's a very friendly guy and will talk with you about anything. That is, if he's not making paninis. There's a gift shop...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
SmellyHimself, Owner at Smelly Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Thanks for review- hope you can stay longer next time!

Reviewed May 13, 2018

Enjoyed a great Panini and sides washed down with old fashioned pineapple soda Great ambiance with lots of interesting wall decorations

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Limited menu. When we were there the menu consisted of two sandwiches--pulled pork and chicken salad. Two soups--potato and chili. According to our group all were excellent. Smelly cooks it up and serves it. Soup and a sandwich was $10. A nice man with a...More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed December 2, 2017

I have been to Metamora 5 times and always visit the Smelly Gourmet. The food and coffee is very good and I always get some of Smelly's popcorn to take home. Always a good time at Smellys.

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Great coffee. Great popcorn. Great food. Great service. Great people. I will definitely make the drive back from Indianapolis soon!

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Quality Inn I-74 Batesville
65 reviews
10.58 miles away
The Sherman
53 reviews
11.27 miles away
Gray Haven Motel
1 review
13.41 miles away
Liberty Motel
10 reviews
17.22 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Grannie's Cookie Jars & Ice-Cream Parlor
28 reviews
.13 miles away
Have A Bite
9 reviews
.33 miles away
Gold Digger's Family Diner
9 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Metamora Grist Mill
64 reviews
.06 miles away
Ben Franklin III Canal Boat
23 reviews
.11 miles away
Whitewater Canal State Historic Site
29 reviews
.13 miles away
Metamora Gem Mine & Luna's Garden Gift Shop
14 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GoPlaces677519
December 12, 2019|
Answer
Response from Pegzzz | Reviewed this property |
He makes different soups. It depends on the day. Wonderful coffee.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing