We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $35
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
149
89
41
18
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
149
89
41
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib crab legs turkey salad noodles thanksgiving dinner all you can eat antiques buffet meats friday miles
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

VERY disappointed! The food was dry and looked like it had been there all day. Haven’t been here for several years and will NEVER go back!

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Marketing at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very sorry that we missed the mark on your expectations. Hopefully, you told us when your server asked you if everything was fine and we fixed whatever was wrong!

Reviewed July 30, 2022

Stopped by on our way home from Shipshewanna on a Friday after seeing the sign for all you can eat Crab Legs. They were great! Along with the Crab Legs multiple meat selections, vegetables, salads and deserts. We will definitely make the 1 1/2 -2...hour drive on a Friday to stop back once again!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 11, 2022 via mobile

Went out of the way to visit here. Came as a child and this was a very special place. The overall decor still has antiques but you now have vinyl tablecloth’s and paper towels for napkins. It’s your basic buffet with nothing to boast about....Salad Bat was fresh but the usual fare. Meat was dry - tried the prime rib which was all well done, the turkey crumbled, and the fried fish definitely needed tartar sauce. Desserts were good but no one ever showed to serve ice cream even after ringing the bell. Staff was friendly but they too are short handed and it shows. Probably wouldn’t bother unless future reviews boast great improvement.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 14, 2022

Driving through Decatur we stopped here for dinner. This place was recommended to us so we thought we’d give it a try. We were told at one time they offered all you can eat prime rib and crab legs. Crab legs are now ordered per...pound for roughly $20. Our server was great and we loved the look of the interior. It kind of reminded me of a nostalgic, country style design. The food quality was alright.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 29, 2022

We went here literally hundreds of times when it was the real thing. Took the family today and no fresh sliced beef or pork only watered down pulled pork with no flavor at all and what appeared to be shredded beef with flavor but not...a good one. The shrimp and fish had been cooked in really old oil with a slightly rancid taste and the noodles were ice cold as was the macaroni. This place has the tools for a great thing but cafeteria quality food doesn't make it. My last review was glowing a couple years ago but this review will have to be the last as we're all having stomach issues and will avoid. Really sad. Excellent waitress thoughMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 27, 2021

Delicious! Meats and all the trimmings prepared just right. Variety of foods offered. Fresh and hot. Desserts were just as good. Friendly staff. It was very busy and the staff kept order and the food was always available on the Buffet. No empty pans as...you often see at Buffets. Fun whimsical atmosphere.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 1, 2021

We drove about 130 miles one way to experience this Gem per the information presented in their website. It must have been, pre-COVID, a fantastic place to eat. But, alas, no more. The food was either overcooked, over-spiced and the portions were pitiful to say...the least. At least in our area, Golden Corral had the good sense to shut down. This place probably should do the same while the storm rages. You will ruin what was once a superior dining experience by lowering it to just another bad-food junction. Good luck!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GRLMGR, General Manager at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

How disappointing that you would post such an insensative, sarcastic review. I bought the place after it had closed for 9 months. Trying to bring it back to life, give people jobs and get through this tough time. I was the district manager for the...More

Reviewed August 29, 2021 via mobile

We just happened to be driving through the area on our way home from camping, and saw this place and decided to stop, and we were so glad we did! The food was excellent, the portions are huge and the staff was soo very friendly....Very highly recommend to anyone wanting some excellent American comfort food.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GRLMGR, General Manager at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2021

Thank you so much for stopping in!!

Reviewed May 1, 2021

Extremely disappointed that the dining room staff were not wearing masks. After all we have been through the past year and considering how long it has taken to get to a semi normal state the staff has no consideration for public safety. Not surprised the...dining room was pretty empty. The food is good and portion size was ok Service was great. Will never eat here again.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Owner at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

We are sorry you won't be back. We take many precautions to try to keep everyone safe. Temperatures are taken every day. Eccessive hand washing is required. Gloves are used to handle ready to eat food. Our tables are covered with a white butcher paper...More

Reviewed March 20, 2021 via mobile

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and the food was great. Huge portions and I loved the mugs and tshirt choices.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Owner at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Thank you!!

Reviewed March 17, 2021

A very nice lunch reasonably price. Two main choices, a salad, and side dish along with desert. Very nice waitress. In the time of Covid they were clean and well prepared for food serving. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Owner at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

We appreciate you!

Reviewed December 27, 2020

Liked the selection of food, but much of the food was not prepared well. Service was slow but they were short staffed so server was doing her best

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Owner at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Please try us again. We have staffed and trained our xrew. Have learned a lot. Look at the reviews. People are liking our food.!!

Reviewed November 26, 2020

As I stood in line for my carry out, I heard customers complaining about the length of time it was taking to recieve their food. I paid for my Thanksgiving Dinner. I purchased two. One for myself and one for my boyfriend. I has asked...for pulled pork with the BBQ sauce on the side. The pulled pork was dry and they forgot to give me the sauce. I was supposed to get four sides and they forgot one of them in my box. My boyfriend got all his. My square cube that they call "bread pudding" was dry. I called to talk to him about my dissatisfaction with the dinner and missing items and found out they ALSO forgot to give me the sauce that MAY have made my poor burnt looking bread pudding somewhat pleasant. The ham was good, the turkey was moist. His was supposed to be smoked dark meat but was given white meat. Mine was as ordered. The other sides were normal school type cafeteria food. Nothing especially great or popped for the Holiday dinner that would make me want to return. I tried calling Back 40 up and was finally able to get through AFTER the restaurant closed. By this time, I already consumed the the less than average fare food whilst listening to my boyfriend in shock at the amount I paid. Too bad I didn't go to Bob Evans. Food and service would have been better with better value.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 28, 2020

It's not all you can eat anymore prices are the same but you get less food! The quality of the food is terrible!It's not worth my time and money to go to back 40 junction anymore.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestrelations, Owner at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Back 40 wasn't open in October 2020!!!

Reviewed January 19, 2020

This place is a MUST on your list to come dine in! It is a buffet style restaurant with a fully appointed salad bar, different bread area, the meat area is chicken, prime rib meat, ham, and a desert bar that you must save room...for. The environment is amazing with things like the old "Burma Shave" slogans all over, and railroad nostalgia, all in a vintage looking interior. You won't regret coming here to eat! There is no pressure to eat fast either. Home type cooking.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
worldfamousback40, Marketing at Back 40 Junction Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Bill, thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review! We truly appreciate customers like you and hope that you will join us again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Americas Best Value Inn Decatur, IN
25 reviews
.08 miles away
Quality Inn Decatur Near US-224
150 reviews
1.68 miles away
Comfort Inn Near Ouabache State Park
49 reviews
12.93 miles away
Budget Inn
4 reviews
13.21 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Galley Restaurant
76 reviews
.37 miles away
Indiana Pancake House
37 reviews
.19 miles away
West End Restaurant
47 reviews
.78 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Yvonne Marie's Antique Mall
8 reviews
1.06 miles away
Ouabache State Park
73 reviews
12.57 miles away
Muensterberg Plaza and Clock Tower
43 reviews
12.64 miles away
Swiss Heritage Village and Museum
25 reviews
11.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
antiff99
July 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mike M | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Please call the restaurant for correct answer. Mike M.
0
Votes
bprobb
February 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from dennispY3162XW | Reviewed this property |
No just show up
0
Votes
slwelles
October 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Harry P | Reviewed this property |
3:30
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BACK 40 JUNCTION RESTAURANT, Decatur - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Back 40 Junction Restaurant

Back 40 Junction Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4