We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
One of Surrey's best country pubs, the unique converted mill at Elstead is steeped in history and surrounded with beauty. The pub, on the river Wey, invites you to relax with great food and drink while the swans, ducks and water wheel outside play their part in the magic.
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
253
207
139
120
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
253
207
139
120
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches old mill feed the ducks water mill the pub sit outside saturday lunch family lunch lovely lunch car park wey waterwheel pubs pint ales
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a difference a week makes! The guys at The Mill have done such a sterling job since reopening, ensuring a safe, friendly environment. I'm surprised by the negative reviews, I've found the staff have been superb coping with the constantly changing rules! The menu...was less ambitious than before lockdown, but today we had a wonderful surprise as it was the first day of a completely new menu, and boy does it read well! Some great seasonal tasty Autumnal dishes: game faggots, scallops and chorizo (yum) some interesting vegan dishes and as for the puddings....they looked and tasted divine! Well done, we shall be back soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Surrycats Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you approve of the new menu options and hope you'll return soon to sample it further! Our kitchen team are very proud of what they have created so i'll be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the warm welcome to the delicious food I have never once been let down by The Mill. Polite and professional staff, good Covid awareness and precautions, great new menu that Im excited to try more of. And to top it off the location is...unquestionably one of the most beautifull for miles around. A beautiful place to pass away the time with a drink or share with friends.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Tipsie Thank you very much for the glowing review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we lived up to past experiences. We hope you'll return again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Mill

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location, friendly staff and tasty food! Visited many times as it’s only a short trip from Farnham. Especially lovely to sit outside by the river to enjoy a pint and burger in the summer. Also lots of room for events!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Georgia Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent visit. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Mill

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with a friend recently, felt very covid safe and the staff were very friendly and rightly cautious, food was sublime for the price. Will definitely return and reccomend to friends and family!!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ipswitch Thank you very much for your five star review. We're delighted to hear that you felt both welcome and safe with us. We hope you'll return again in the near future! Kind Regards, The Mill At Elstead

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drastically overcharged with slow service. London prices for not an overly impressive place. Lovely setting and free parking, but slow service and staff lacking knowledge. £35 for two drinks.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Hannah, Please could you pop us an email at themill.elstead@fullers.co.uk with as much detail as possible so we can resolve this issue. Kind regards The Mill at Elstead Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting here for lunch has really made me not want to bother going out to eat at all until covid is no longer around ! There really is no point spending the money if all places are as unfriendly and rude as the staff are...here ! I have been abiding by all the government rules and have been nervous about visiting places myself but always act sensibly. However - coming here - the staff treat you like a criminal ! On arrival they were rude to my mother for being on the phone near the entrance - even though outside ! They then placed us on a very dark and dingey table and when we moved they told us off for that too and said it now meant they had to sanitise another table- as if spraying one extra table is exactly difficult!! And then they didnt bother to ask us if we wanted water or came over to ask if we needed more drinks so mid way through a very salty lunch I got up to ask for some water (standing no where near anyone at all!) And was shouted at - 'MASK' a staff member shouted at me - no politeness or would you mind putting on your mask !? I think these staff members have completely forgotten they are supposed to be in hospitality ! So rude the entire time ! The food was mediocre - very expensive for what it was. We will not return here. Very unpleasant.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Pennyh Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent experience with us. Each and every comment we receive is truly valued as it helps us improve for your next visit. In regards to your comments on...More

Reviewed September 15, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, polite staff and very well COVID managed. However the food was poor. Three of us ordered different things and everything was disappointing. I will say though the staff were also hosting a wedding so maybe the kitchen standards dropped due to the demands...of the day. I feel this might have been a one off bad day so I do recommend visiting.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kmacc Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Any and all comments are truly valued as they help us improve for your next visit. In addition, thank you for your kind words regarding our location, staff, and COVID...More

Reviewed August 28, 2020

Very welcoming team aware of social distancing. Limited menu and you had to scan a QR code to read it which the waiting staff didn’t tell us! Wine really expensive and no wine menu offered. Dog was made most welcome and given her own biscuits!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2020

Hi Chrissie C, I am really pleased that you felt our team are aware of social distancing. The menu's are governed by our Head office at the moment, and due to Covid our menu is a lot less than what everyone would remember before. I...More

Reviewed August 26, 2020 via mobile

Once again the Mill lived up to its reputation in the family for comfortable safe surroundings and good food. And they didn't mind us playing a couple of quiet board games.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

Hi Heather, thank you very much for the kind words and lovely feedback. We're delighted to hear that one again you had an great time at The Mill and hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Mill At Elstead

Reviewed August 26, 2020 via mobile

We have had a couple of meals and drinks here since lockdown eased. The food has been great, good sized portions at a reasonable price. Track and trace details taken. Plenty of hand sanitizer available and directed to use prior to entering the restaurant. One...way system in place, charming and helpful waiting staff. Ben our waiter was very efficient explained all the Covid measures and checked back on our table to see if we needed anything. Overall a pleasant dining experience. Lots of outside tables with shade in a beautiful setting. Really surprised by some of the reviews on here as we could not have had better service or food when we visited.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
millelstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

Hi Louella, thank you very much taking the time to provide your feedback and thank you for your lovely comments. We're delight to hear that your most recent experience with us lived up to your past visits and we hope to see you again soon!...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Woking Central
597 reviews
11.20 miles away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre hotel
660 reviews
11.08 miles away
The Red Lion
36 reviews
11.06 miles away
Premier Inn Woking West (A324) hotel
762 reviews
10.72 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Woolpack Elstead
467 reviews
.30 miles away
The Donkey
683 reviews
.75 miles away
The Little Barn Cafe
131 reviews
.21 miles away
Golden Fleece
190 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rural Life Centre
192 reviews
2.83 miles away
Secretts Farm Shop and Pick Your Own
105 reviews
2.95 miles away
Frensham Little Pond
144 reviews
2.99 miles away
St Peter's Church
6 reviews
3.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fionaloveshols2016
October 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from floydk509 | Reviewed this property |
No they don't do B&B.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing