We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill at Elstead

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
One of Surrey's best country pubs, the unique converted mill at Elstead is steeped in history and surrounded with beauty. The pub, on the river Wey, invites you to relax with great food and drink while the swans, ducks and water wheel outside play their part in the magic.
PRICE RANGE
$8 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
295
222
149
138
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
295
222
149
138
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches feed the ducks the pub great setting lovely lunch car park waterwheel pubs pint lunchtime
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lunch at the Mill, midweek. Have been several times before but on this occasion the service was very poor and the waiter seemed apathetic when we mentioned that the rocket on the smoked salmon starter was wilted due to being put on piping hot plates....We asked for feedback to be given to the chef and there was no apology about the starter or any interest in transmitting the message to the chef. I don't think 1 3/4 hours is acceptable for one course. We didn't even bother with coffee as thought the wait would be too painful. On a positive, note my plant burger was very good, with crisp tasty chips and tasty vegan cheese and relishes, but i think because of the slow service it will be a while before we return!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Mill as a family for Sunday lunch was very disappointed had to wait an hour for food when it came it was under cooked and Luke warm the roast potatoes were hard also the parsnips, they didn't offer mustard or horseradish...sauce it was the worst roast dinner I have ever had , the service was the slowest I have ever experienced.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2022 via mobile

We had booked a table for 6 to celebrate my grandson’s birthday. We particularly wanted a “Sunday Roast” and they advertised an attractive Sunday menu. Unfortunately by the time they came to serve us we had first been told they had run out of beef...and chicken, then that they had no Yorkshire Puddings (advertised with all dishes) and then that all they had left was 2 portions of pork and some nut roast! They could not even offer anything from their main menu “because it was Sunday” We had to leave without eating and try and find an alternative venue which is not easy on a Sunday evening in a rural area.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 1, 2022

After a stop in the nearby village of Elstead with friends we called in here for a drink on our travels. This place is just stunning and in a brilliant location. We only had drinks and sat outside next to the river and just enjoyed...the atmosphere and views. There was a wedding reception going on while we were there and like others, we kept out of the way on the far side of the river area. The facilities for functions here are just amazing with a great hall eating area upstairs which is set aside for private functions. The car park is very large but as there was a big function going on when we arrived, we did have issues locating a free space. Overall, we all loved our visit and would highly recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for this, we really love reading such amazing reviews! Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed September 4, 2022 via mobile

Fabulous location (pretty surrounds and of course the waterwheel), good service and great food. Had the Sunday roast and it was great.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for this fab feedback, we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 30, 2022 via mobile

Food oh so disappointing. Dry, tasteless beef burger with minimal trimmings; crab burger even worse - small amount of crab meat burried in deep fry batter. Vastly overpriced for what it was. Much better food in other eateries in village and nearby, so don't be...seduced by what is unarguably a lovely setting if the food elements of your experience are important.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 27, 2022

I was somewhat uncertain of taking up my lunch reservation (Friday, 27th) given the recent spate of negative reviews. These I am pleased to say were all unfounded and the four of us had three different meals without any problems whatsoever. The menu is short...but nothing wrong with that if they can deliver what they offer - which they did. The various staff - wait, bar ... etc - were all nice helpful people who knew their roles. And of course the wonderful setting. Also, umbrellas large enough to provide shade for all of us. Enough near parking for all.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback, we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 17, 2022

Didn't plan to visit the Mill, but when let down by another local establishment, we thought we would give it a try. 1 x Fish and Chips, 1 x Steak and Chips and 1 x Pate starter later and 3 very satisfied diners. Pleasant, efficient...staff and not a bad pint to boot. We often pop in for a pint, but this is the first time we have eaten here. Pleasantly surprised....More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this glowing review, we are so pleased you had a fab time with us. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 15, 2022

It is such an interesting building in such a lovely setting that we usually take friends here. And are usually disappointed. It's never bad enough to keep away but never good enough to be really satisfied with our visit. Sometimes it is sloppy service, sometimes...things like hot plates for salad, sometimes ingredients that are listed but not included in the item, sometimes a table different from the one booked but nearly always something to take the edge off our pleasure. We'd love to see the place well managed and living up to the high standards it deserves and charges for.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 15, 2022

we met friends here on Friday night when we arrived there was a wedding reception in full swing, we had a fantastic evening the food was great service was also very good the only thing were the mosquitos but that is just a fact of...life, great place great atmosphere and great food will defiantly be going back :):)More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sladey3144, Thank you for this glowing review, we hope to see you soon. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 15, 2022

We had Sunday lunch there as a family and the whole event had a sense of disorganisation. Although the staff were lovely the service was slow. The food was poor; there was chilli in a starter and this was not indicated in the menu; we...were assured the chicken was off the bone and it arrived with bone; the Yorkshire pudding and stuffing were not sent out with the roast. The best part of the meal was the deserts - lovely!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 14, 2022 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful place that served a lovely cold drink on an extremely hot day. Unfortunately the food was poor the Chicken Caesar was dry and overcooked. The burger again dry and flavour less. This was a disappointment. Improve the food and it's a place you...could spend many hours relaxing in.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed August 8, 2022 via mobile

Lovely setting, but service was slow. Ordered sandwiches, filling was good, but bread a bit dry, and did not seem fresh!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Seaside51054439022, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed July 24, 2022 via mobile

Very disappointing. We ordered some olives and focaccia as starters, and main courses. After 45 minutes, we asked where the starters were. They turned up 10 minutes later - bread tasted stale to me. Main courses took even longer. Waiter told us 'we had not...been forgotten, but they were busier than usual', even though most tables outside were empty. 10 minutes later, he told another table the same thing. When the main courses did turn up, they were barely tepid. If we hadn't waited so long to get them, they would have gone straight back. Despite the long wait, nobody asked if we wanted more drinks - we had to ask when we finally got some food. Very disappointing experience - and not even value for money. Food would have been average even if it was hot - the fact that it was practically cold and took forever to arrive means it was really very poor, and felt overpriced to me. I will not be going back.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dave964, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

Reviewed July 20, 2022

I have visited the Mill many times , but was disappointed with my visit on 20/7/22. We were a party of four ,and we must have been wearing cloaks of invisibility, as it was 40mins before we were even given menus , and I had...to leave my seat and ask for them .another 30mins before the order was taken when food eventually arrived it was sloppily put on the plate . To many mistakes to mention , they were even having to prompted to take our money. Also , two large smashes of glasses dropped just behind me. no apologies, glass all over floor ,inches from us avoid this place,its a dangerMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mill Elstead, General Manager at The Mill at Elstead, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi ElizabethbT7947VX, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, please contact us directly if you would like to discuss further. Kind regards The Mill Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Charlton Boutique Hotel
2 reviews
2.52 miles away
The Stag on the River
377 reviews
2.65 miles away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1,352 reviews
2.82 miles away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
53 reviews
4.23 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Woolpack Elstead
515 reviews
.30 miles away
The Donkey
725 reviews
.75 miles away
The Little Barn Cafe
151 reviews
.21 miles away
Golden Fleece
202 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rural Life Centre
213 reviews
2.83 miles away
Secretts Farm Shop and Pick Your Own
110 reviews
2.95 miles away
Frensham Little Pond
158 reviews
2.99 miles away
St Peter's Church
6 reviews
3.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
andyfG2852HD
June 28, 2020|
Answer
Response from patrickandpaddy | Reviewed this property |
👍
0
Votes
fionaloveshols2016
October 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from floydk509 | Reviewed this property |
No they don't do B&B.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE MILL AT ELSTEAD - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Mill at Elstead

Yes, The Mill at Elstead is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Mill at Elstead is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4