We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
24
28
10
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
24
28
10
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 17, 2021

The last two times I have been here for dinner, they were severely understaffed. There was a long wait to be seated and to get your food. After a couple of miscommunications, the young man brought my order. The bowl of soup was cold and...was a bowl full of mushy noodles at best. My Server forgot my coffee, and after a reminder, brought me a room temperature cup of coffee. The Crispy Chicken Sandwich I ordered was, for the most part, tasteless. The ratio of chicken to breading was 1:1, and there was no lettuce or tomato on the sandwich. Everything about this meal was cold. Two weeks ago, I ordered the Pot Roast dinner. There was one small piece of pot roast about the size of a medium meatball, and the rest were chunks of fat, cleverly disguised by gravy as meat. This meal had no flavor either. and was void of any seasoning. Their breakfasts are very good. I have had them many times.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 2, 2019

We've been going to Colonial for years now, but the food seems to be getting worse every time we go. We took the kids for breakfast, and it was just awful- the eggs were inedible and the French toast so dry. There are so many...good breakfast options in the area- we won't be back.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry that you received a less than 5 star experience. We would love to gather more details from your visit. Can you send us an email to admin@colonialcafe.com

Reviewed August 4, 2019

We are thankful to colonial cafe for their support in BREATHE RIGHT DUPAGE LUNGevity.org. A fund raiser for lung cancer research, early detection and state of the art treatments! And you can't go wrong with the Avacado toast and a kitchen sink!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. We enjoy giving back to the community and look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed July 23, 2019

Don't know if they were understaffed or what tonight. Came in this evening with 6 adults and 2 toddlers and waited 15 minutes with no host coming forth to seat us. The restaurant was not full and there appeared to be enough staff waiting on...customers. Another family came in, waited a while, saw the situation, and asked that someone seat people waiting for a table. We were finally seated and waited another 15 minutes for someone to come to our table to greet us and take our orders. No one came. We left. Restaurant is very poorly managed.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your visit. We apologize for the less than 5 star visit you had. We will share your comments with our team so we can address the issue you experienced. We hope that you will...More

Reviewed April 25, 2019

Colonial did an excellent job getting our food quickly and it was tasty! There was also a vendor providing balloon animals which were a huge hit for the kids.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. Very glad that you enjoyed the ballon twister we have on Monday nights for the kids. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed April 25, 2019

Our nonprofit organization meets here frequently and the staff and food are outstanding. Everyone is always very friendly and willing to accommodate our needs. Thank you, Colonial Cafe for supporting our organization and community! ~ Youth Outlook

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. We enjoy giving back to the community. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed April 15, 2019

This place is great to work with and they have great food. We recently asked for help with a fundraiser event and they were willing to help us out and give back to the community. We truly appreciate them and are thankful for their kindness....Did I mention the food is great too? I enjoy eating there as their food is delicious!!!! Thank you Colonial Cafe!!!More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. We really enjoy giving back to the community. Next time you are in try one of the Chef Specials, it's always something new and tasty. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed April 10, 2019

On behalf of Alex's Lemonade Stand it has been a pleasure working with Colonial Cafe. They are so dedicated and willing to help give back to the community. Not only do they have great food and great service in their restaurants, they go that extra...mile. Colonial has been very responsive in answering all of our questions and we are happy to partner with them for our upcoming fundraising event.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. We enjoy giving back to the community whenever we can. Looking forward to another successful event with you.

Reviewed April 10, 2019

Service is great and food is delicious. For special occasions, this is our go to place for a Kitchen Sink. It is a great shared dessert and always a conversion piece. Love the bumper sicker.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Sandra, thank you for the 5 bubble review. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed April 10, 2019

I love Colonial Cafe! It's always a treat to dine in. The atmosphere is great and the food and service is top notch! We love taking the kiddos for ice cream! You can't beat it! Won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Thank you for the 5 bubble review. We look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed March 6, 2019

Our family visited the Colonial Cafe for the first time, yesterday,Tuesday. We have been driving by since we moved to the Naperville area last year. We were out doing errands and thought we stop by. The luncheon menu offered a lot. We ordered different plates...for each of us. The food was very good, I mean really very good. The helpings were generous. The story on how the Colonial Cafe started was interesting and found on the menu. Our server was Matthew. What a gentleman. We NEVER had to repeat anything twice like we are sort of use too when we go out to eat. He got it right the first time. Prompt, delightful to speak too, and asked us once if we needed anything, though we didn't; however, he assured us he would be close by if we needed anything. We like this because it is nice when servers ask if we need anything, but to be constantly asked is distracting. Matthew did it the right way. If you should go here, and we highly recommend that you do, ask for Matthew. He puts the icing on the cake, so to speak, in service and food. Will be back to try their delicious ice cream.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Owner at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Laatz Family - Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. Matthew is a great server and thank you for letting everyone know. Our St. Patrick's Day specials start today. Hope to see you soon to try something from our limited time menu.

Reviewed January 15, 2019

First, it's super kid friendly. If you have kids in your group, the servers bring their food out first - it's a small thing, but it gives adults time to cut up the kids' food before theirs is brought out so everyone gets a hot...meal. The servers are very attentive - water and refills are plentiful. Great selection of food and desserts and everything is reasonably priced.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 27, 2018

This is a very good restaurant that offers a wide variety of American style foods, at moderate prices. The quality/taste is good, but not anything that jumps at you - that is except for the ice cream. I did not dare try their "Kitchen Sink",...but kids usually love to share it. I love their delicious chocolate ice cream. I enjoyed also having the Reuben Sandwich and the Tuna Melt Sandwich.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

We have been going to the Colonial Cafe on Sundays after church for many years. We always ask to be seated in the section served by Louis. He never disappoints and is attentive to our request. He takes time to ask questions and to see...what is new in our life.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clinton A, Manager at Colonial Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thank you for being returning guests and for leaving a 5 bubble review. Glad to hear that Louis takes good care of you. See you Sunday!

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We had a 2pm reservation on a Saturday for a birthday party with 10 people. When we got there there were only a few tables occupied in the entire restaurant, yet our table was not ready. We were seated after about 10 minutes and offered...drinks which came in about another 10 min delivered by a different server. After what seemed like an eternity, the second server, who turned out to be our only server, took our order. She was either new or having a very bad day because she just couldn’t seem to get anything right - she made no suggestions and never asked for clarification if she didn’t understand the order. After 30 min (way too long for a restaurant like this and a party with 3 children) the food started coming out - slowly!! The server apparently had no help and couldn’t load the tray and deliver the food in an expedient manner. It was served in 4 distinct “stages” over a period of 10 min with the Birthday girl being served last. By the time everyone had their food, the first food to be served was cold. Some of the orders were wrong and had to be sent back. The sandwiches were skimpy and the French onion soup was a thick blob of cold goo. The mac and cheese was particularly good. I was disappointed that they did not offer a broth based soup other than the onion. We, if course, ordered ice cream for desert (restaurant is known for it’s ice cream creations). The ice cream was melted by the time it was delivered to our table. Two orders were completely wrong. My sundae had only 2 strawberries and the turtle sundae my husband ordered had no nuts or caramel. Over all, the toppings were skimpy. I have been coming to this restaurant for probably 30 years. We’ve seen it go through some significant changes but the food and service have always been consistent until now. I will return to see if they were able to “get their act together,” but it might be the last time if they don’t. Servers should not be assigned large groups until they have been properly trained.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Indigo Naperville Riverwalk
269 reviews
1.17 miles away
Stardust Motel
14 reviews
2.28 miles away
Motel 6 Naperville
246 reviews
3.18 miles away
Best Western Naperville Inn
704 reviews
3.24 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Walker's Char House
104 reviews
.04 miles away
Deccan Spice
20 reviews
.07 miles away
Succulent Seafood
16 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Riverwalk
800 reviews
1.23 miles away
Naper Settlement
222 reviews
1.10 miles away
Millennium Carillon
79 reviews
1.18 miles away
North Central College Fine & Performing Arts
22 reviews
1.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Colonial Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

COLONIAL CAFE, Naperville - 1101 S. Washington St - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Colonial Cafe

Yes, Colonial Cafe offers takeout services.

Colonial Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3