We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
57 Cole Green Lane | Welwyn, Cole Green AL8 7SU, England
+44 1707 299342
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 295: English reviews
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sad to see negative reviews as we had a delicious 2 course lunch and have never been disappointed. Mushroom starter cooked to perfection and the sticky chicken was yummy. Servive friendly, welcoming, efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Lis174
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a lovely meal with a large group of people a few years ago and have been recommending people go since then... until now - if you want to eat poorly prepared food in an unclean environment, and served by uncaring and unprofessional staff, you have hit the jackpot. But if you would prefer clean and welcoming surroundings and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Molly D
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Hi Molly D, I am sorry you have had an experience you didn't enjoy, could I ask that you contact me to discuss your concerns? The 'unclean environment' and that you may get the plague by dining with us? I await your speedy response enquiry@thecowperarmscolegreen.co.uk Many thanks More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived to find restaurant busy but offered the bar area for Sunday dinner. Drinks arrived first however one was in a dirty glass which was swapped. Meals arrived, one has cold fries which were swapped out. Veg on another was stone cold, knife was dirty and was rejected. Two desserts ordered. One was creme brulee with strawberry's which arrived without... More 

Helpful?
Thank brianjd2015
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Hi Brian. Thank you for the feedback. it has been passed on to our team of chefs and your comments will be used to improve upon our service. More 

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a Sunday as a large group of 12 people, pre booked the meals, but added a couple extra on the day, the staff were friendly and sorted this quickly. The drinks were slow to come out after ordering, and when ordered during the meal, the food was ok, beef a little on the tuff side, well done,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markt2575
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Hi Markt2575, I can only apologise for the lack of speed in getting your drinks to you and the quality of our beef, I shall pass this onto the chefs, also the trio of roasts should be more plentiful than our single roasts. Can I ask what you were drinking as I have checked and none of our draught beers... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend took me here for a birthday treat, both the service and food were exceptional and will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Kerry, glad you enjoyed our food and service and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered a home made burger , a wagyu burger and a children's burger. Home made was OK for £10 but the Wagyu burger for £15 was a disappointing, the burger itself was very tough and the added slices of chorizo was extremely bland. Now this is the first time I have tried wagyu and from what I have heard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mtom39
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Hi Mtom39, I'm sorry our burgers didn't quite meat your satisfaction, I have passed your comments onto the chefs so the disappointment doesn't occur to other guests, I do hope you will give us and our burgers another try More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having dined many times at the Cowper Arms for birthdays/mothers day etc. and thoroughly enjoyed it, it was our first point of call. However on this occasion, we had an awful experience. Main Meal – X2 (Pork Belly & King Prawn Linguine) Arrived instantly after our starters were cleared. The meals were cold which meant they had been prepared early... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarbzA92
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Hi BarbzA92, Thank you for your review, I am disappointed at the level of service you received throughout your recent visit, as you know this isn't the high standard we usually give our guests. I would like to look into these issues a bit further so could I ask that you email me at: enquiry@thecowperarmscolegreen.co.uk or call me on (01707)... More 

Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here as a family for a Sunday lunch. Some of us had roast dinners, some had burgers . The food was very nice ,although the vegetables were VERY hard, barely cooked. Desserts were nice and plenty of choice,. Price wise ,it was about average ,slightly pricier than other local pubs, but ok. We would probably return but prefer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you overall enjoyed your food. I will pass your comments regarding the vegetables with your Sunday roast back to the chef. More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Staff were welcoming, attentive and the menu was very good. Lots of different choices and very varied. Food was good and tasty. Certainly one to come back to

Helpful?
Thank Christine G
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Christine for your review. Our new Summer menu launches today. Come back and try some of our new dishes. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

Went for evening meal very friendly staff lovely atmosphere and good food. The pub is very comfortable and nicely decorated and has a lovely garden will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
General Manager A, Manager at The Cowper Arms, responded to this review

Thanks Lyn for your comments. It's good to here we are hitting the right notes. Please come and see us soon and try out our Summer menu. More 

Travelers who viewed The Cowper Arms also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Datchworth, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Cowper Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 Cole Green Lane | Welwyn, Cole Green AL8 7SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Cole Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 299342

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cowper Arms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Hertford, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Hertford, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Cowper Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?