We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews



Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noodles build your own create your own food was great love this place bowl dish vegetarian server
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed December 12, 2019 via mobile

Love this place. Build your own bowl. Very friendly for vegetarians and vegans (me). Very good service.

Date of visit: December 2019
Reviewed October 8, 2019

I like the whole concept of pick-what-you-want. They have a lot of options to make your bowl from. All allergens are well separated and handled well while grilling.

Date of visit: September 2019
Reviewed June 12, 2019

We had received an e-mail from the Flat Top Grill eClub for a BOGO for National Best Friends' Week. We had some errands in the area, so we decided on Flat Top Grill for lunch. It is located in the Yorktown Shopping Center, so there...is plenty of available parking. When we were greeted by the hostess, we were told that there was about a 15 minute wait, though there really were more than a few tables open. We were seated in the back - like next to the kitchen, way in the back, which, I must admit was a bit of a pain as I had injured my leg and I was using a cane. Each of the two of us went up separately, so that we wouldn't have to carry any of our stuff with us. The buffet or ingredient line was not being kept up with, as there were more than half of the containers, near empty, including sauces. One of the reviews is correct about the smaller bowls, so don't be afraid to pile ingredients on, but put rice or noodles on the top. There were a lot of bowls waiting to be cooked, so it was a couple of minutes for our food. Everything was hot and tasty, though. The total price was reasonable. Our server, Miguel, was pretty efficient and attentive. My only other issue was the men's restroom, it needed to be policed a little better, it should not be that messy.More

Date of visit: June 2019
FlatTopGrill, Manager at Flat Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2019

Hello Allen21096, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us at info@gomongo.com if there is anything we can do for you. Thank you and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Arrived with our group of 8 work colleagues. Perfect choice for the various food preferences. Service was ok. Not overly helpful but food was great! I had scallops and there were plenty in my entree!

Date of visit: May 2019
FlatTopGrill, Manager at Flat Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

lindakmom, thank you for the high star rating! We look forward to your next visit with us, take care!

Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Disappointed and terrible first time experience. I went with 12 friends and relatives to celebrate my birthday, for years they all raved about this place and I was excited to go. I was overwhelmingly disappointed. The menu says unlimited and/or double meat + $4.00, in...the English language that means (unlimited or double meat is $4.00) and (unlimited and double meat is $4.00), so if you get both it should only be $4.00 "and." The false advertising ruined my mood from the get go. You get an unsanitary wooden stick to put in with your raw food, your raw food is cooked and the unsanitary wooden stick is now inserted in your cooked food, which means if any of those raw vegetables, fruit, fungi or sauces were contaminated, your cooked food has now been contaminated by the wooden stick. The food came out blackened and the roti bread was blackened and greasy which means the grill was dirty, which affected the taste. The dining room got so hot that most of us were sweating and some of us had to fan ourselves. To top it off we had 13 people total, my wife paid the bill and I asked did you check to make sure the bill was right, sure enough, we were charged for 14 people and had to wait to get that corrected. I don't see what everyone has been raving about for years.More

Date of visit: May 2019
FlatTopGrill, Manager at Flat Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

David_N_NY, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We'd like the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please reach out to us at info@gomongo.com at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn this experience into a positive one. Thank...More

Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Came with my daughter! Food was so good! Very cool way to create your own dish and not spend too much money

Date of visit: March 2019
FlatTopGrill, Manager at Flat Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

rosieslater64, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Flat Top Grill! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed March 27, 2019

I ate at the Flat Top Grill. I went online and read the menu and it intrigued me. It was place where you went and picked your food and they cooked it for you. While I went there with high hopes, it didn’t totally meet...my expectations. The table was not clean and had to be wiped. My server was quick and attentive however. While the menu advertises at $13.99 price however it ended up at $40. It is easy to add on without realizing it as your choices are limited. They also give you a small bowl for your vegetables and the final product just simply was not all that much food. I liked my dish however I couldn’t help walking out of there feeling like I did not get a good value. I had to eat in the night before at a higher end restaurant for pretty much the same exact price. I was a little disappointed.More

Date of visit: March 2019
FlatTopGrill, Manager at Flat Top Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hi 599jimg thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us at info@gomongo.com at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into a positive...More

Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Tried this place on a suggestion. I was challenged to load my bowl with the ingredients that I wanted, covered it in sauce and gave it to be cooked. The last choice was lettuce, bread etc upon handing my bowl over. The food came well...cooked and I believe I did a great job. Very enjoyable meal..More

Date of visit: December 2018
Reviewed November 23, 2018

Great selections of fresh food and fun atmosphere. Get the all you can eat so you can take a whole meal home. You have to be very exact with the bar for mixed drinks because they are a tad on the lighter side. Had to...send a few back on a couple of visits there. They have an eclectic mix of sauces so try them all! Overall great place.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

This is a great place where you pile up fresh vegetables and noodles or rice and then you choose your protein and hand everything to the grill cooks to prepare everything right there in front of you. Great for lunch and dinner. You can't beat...the value. Food is fresh, restaurant is clean and staff is very good.More

Date of visit: June 2018
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Naperville
238 reviews
6.64 miles away
Motel 6 Naperville
242 reviews
6.46 miles away
Best Western Naperville Inn
647 reviews
6.38 miles away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
511 reviews
6.35 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Capital Grille
277 reviews
.07 miles away
The Patio
175 reviews
.19 miles away
Miller's Ale House - Chicago Lombard
169 reviews
.20 miles away
Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brewery
185 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Yorktown Center
89 reviews
.23 miles away
Gullivers Pizza and Pub
14 reviews
2.46 miles away
Noon Whistle Brewing Company
45 reviews
1.66 miles away
Bar Louie
31 reviews
2.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Flat Top Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing