We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Plough Hill, Cuffley EN6 4DW, England
+44 1707 872193
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Never written a review before but they truly deserve it. Lovely meal last week visited twice in 1week. Dinner with hubby tues night very busy just 2 staff on rushing around but so friendly and smiley the entire time fabulous meal the brisket was very yummy. Friday 1oclock lunch even busier same manager on duty as Tuesday still very smiley... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Driving through and looks nice from the outside Staff was nice, food was nice apart from the chargrill chicken wings and drumsticks. Quite grilled and dry is a good description. Steak was nice. Quite average and average prices.

Helpful?
Thank Jason s
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food reasonably priced really enjoyed the relaxed Sunday afternoon atmosphere We had dogs and children with us and they catered for all with minimum fuss Nice afternoon out

Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you very much for your 5* review of The Plough Cuffley, we greatly appreciate positive feedback and reviews and very glad you enjoyed your Sunday afternoon with us, and of course we hope the children and dogs enjoyed themselves too. Thank you very much Kind regards Claire Lynch (Supervisor) More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately visited when the restaurant had been extremely busy and had run out of many things off the menu so decided not to eat here after all. Male bar staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and can't fault him at all. Very presentable establishment, clean and tidy. Will come again to try the food.

Helpful?
Thank jever-01
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Jever-01 Thank you very much for your review of us at The Plough Cuffley. I am very sorry that you didn't get to enjoy our menu, we can only apologise. We have had a very busy couple of weeks, but please don't let that put you off, hopefully we will see you in again soon and we have a... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for Sunday lunch last week food and service was excellent.We were served by James who was very attentive.going back this week 😀😀

Helpful?
Thank 220ronaldr
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear 220ronaldr Thank you very much for our 5* review of The Plough Cuffley. We are so glad you had a fantastic visit with us and that James gave brilliant service. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him and look forward to seeing you again soon. We are launching our new menu on the 1st March... More 

Newhall, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2017

The food was good. Our waiter was James and I have to say he was absolutely wonderful. He couldn't have been more helpful and it was refreshing to meet someone who clearly enjoys his job and interacting with the customers

Helpful?
Thank PAP141059
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear PAP141059 Thank you for giving us a 5* review of The Plough Cuffley. We hope you thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding our waiter James, he will be delighted to hear this and I am so glad he made your visit to us worth while. We hope to see you... More 

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

Just got back from another gorgeous meal at the Plough. It is a regular haunt of ours because the food is always great. Today the star of the show was our waiter James. Despite it being packed to the rafters, the service was faultless. Never hesitate going there and it's always first choice for family get togethers! James is an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reb26
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Reb26, Thank you so much for our 5* review of The Plough Cuffley, we hope you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to us. James is becoming one of our much loved front of house team members and he is always grateful to hear feedback on how he is doing. I hope we continue to move forward and keep going in... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2017

Having just moved to the area,(formerley lived in Goffs Oak(.It's nice to find a Pub that is friendly,and that serves good Sunday Lunches.I have eaten here now three times,and all were above standard.The food is served hot,which is a big plus,many pubs serve up luke warm food,that is cold by the time you finish.There is normally a choice of three... More 

Helpful?
Thank charles b
Plough_Cuffley, supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Thank you so much for your review of The Plough Cuffley, I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us. Our Sunday lunches are becoming very popular indeed and every week we are getting a full restaurant which is delightful for us. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff... More 

Southeast Romania, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017

Really pleasant staff,nice atmosphere ,drinks arrived promptly waited a while for meals,not a problem if food is hot and tasty which this was,the only problem was it was not roast pork I had two pieces of cracking with burnt offerings stuck to the cracklings,it was such a shame as the roast potatoes cauliflower cheese and vegetables and stuffing were hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandranicholls0612
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you very much for your review of The Plough Cuffley. We are glad you had enjoyable time on Sunday and hope your mum and a lovely birthday. We are sorry to hear about your main meal, we take feedback in every form seriously and will pass this information on to our kitchen manager and let him know... More 

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Visited the Plough in Cuffley with friends. Had a lovely time, the waiter serving us called James Brimmicome Wood was fantastic. He was so friendly and very welcoming on our arrival. Very attentive and constantly checked on us during the whole of our stay to see if we needed anything. Was lovely to have suggestions of what food, such as... More 

Helpful?
Thank LisaTim07
Plough_Cuffley, Supervisor at The Plough, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you very much for our 5* review of The Plough Cuffley. We are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us on Saturday, and I am pleased to hear, James our waiter was a pleasure to you all. I have past on this review to James and he said Thank you very much. We... More 

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Waltham Abbey, Essex
Bourne End, Hertfordshire
 
Cuffley, Hertfordshire
Waltham Abbey, Essex
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Plough Hill, Cuffley EN6 4DW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Cuffley
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 872193

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?