We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chicago Chop House

60 W Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60654-3823
+1 312-787-7100
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good22%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (450 reviews)
“tomahawk ribeye” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
60 W Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60654-3823
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My boyfriend's birthday was the 21st and the reservation proces was easy. We went at 5:30 and it was not crowded and it was very romantic. The music playing was from the Ray Charles era and it was just perfect. Our server was Christina and...More

Thank Anita M
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Went with a friend I hadn’t seen in awhile and got a table right in the middle of the upstairs on a Friday night. Thinking it would be tough to hear or packed in...well it was just perfect. Our server was friendly, informative, and professional....More

Thank Mcbride W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is resting on its fame. Great service but average food ... our tomahawk was under seasoned and the quality not better than the one I buy at Sam’s. A big minus ... they don’t have fries.More

Thank cheflefranc
Mattty777, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Chef, I am sorry and sad to hear your steak was not to perfection. I can assure you we are not resting on our fame and are working hard every day to make things better than the day before. If you could call me...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Steak was a bit fatty - maybe I just got a so-so steak, it happens, but was dissapointed. Drinks were way overpriced and bartender didn’t want to hassle putting drinks while waiting on a dinner tab - those two things are whay keeps me from...More

Thank iloj
Mattty777, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Great points and we will work on each and every one of them! I read you sat at the bar so I will do some additional training for the staff as well. My apologies and I do hope we get you back Sincerely,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a long weekend in Chicago at the Grand Plaza, so we decided to try the Chicago Chop House for dinner one night, since it was only a few blocks walking distance from our VRBO. We arrived on time for our 7:30 reservation and...More

Thank RealHungryMann
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

An excellent review! Thank you for all the kind words and posting your experience. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit the second city

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here tonight for my friends birthday and it was unforgettable! Beautiful piano playing, dinner was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had out. Service was excellent. Absolutely awesome ambiance and the old school Chicago mob decor was great.

Thank rosiekeenan
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Rosie! Keeping it old school with some new school recipes

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I had visited the Chicago Chop House about 10 years ago and rated the food a 10. I came back this past weekend and was truly disappointed. We asked to dine on the 3rd floor and found the room to be very dark. The waiter...More

1  Thank Cadronai
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I will look into how and why we served cold food. My sincere apologies. We are not a Bain like palm, smith or Fleming’s so we may not be able to get the same pricing but we will definitely work on the temps of our...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

The service was excellent. The food was good. The truffle Mac and cheese and warm bread were my favorite.

Thank ldabell
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed. There is a smooth and rich Irish butter served with our bread. So yummy! See you again soon we hope

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent experience at the Chop House a couple of weeks ago when we were visiting CHI...we went in for happy hour martinis+snacks at the bar and stayed for dinner The food and service was great...we had the crab cake, oysters, sliced ahi...More

Thank tom t
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Thank you for this! We look forward to seeing you soon. Message me when you are coming so I can send you something not on the menu.

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

I am sorry to say that in a restaurant of this level , there's no way a table of 4 is going to be served separately . Food arrived for 3 of us , not for me. I had to wait until everyone else had...More

Thank Relax274735
Matthew M, Owner at Chicago Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Letizia, this is so terrible to hear. Would you mind letting me know when you dined so I can look into this and make sure the waiter is trained in all aspects of service? I will be sure to give a general training and discussion...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 199 hotels in Chicago
Best Western River North Hotel
2,579 reviews
.11 miles away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
2,667 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel Felix
1,735 reviews
.12 miles away
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
2,273 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Portillo's Hot Dogs
6,041 reviews
.05 miles away
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
1,335 reviews
.11 miles away
Eggsperience Pancakes
799 reviews
.05 miles away
The Kerryman
199 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Barrel Run
98 reviews
.05 miles away
Adagio Teas
194 reviews
.14 miles away
Blue Chicago
470 reviews
.08 miles away
Untouchable Tours
827 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chicago Chop House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$35 - $75
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 W Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60654-3823
  • Location: United States  >  Illinois (IL)  >  Chicago>  > Near North Side
  • Neighborhood: Near North Side
  • Phone Number: +1 312-787-7100
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing