We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hook Line & Schooner

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $40
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 09/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hook Line & Schooner
Updated 09/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
55
44
19
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
55
44
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood brussels sprouts fries salad cakes cocktail sauce the bread pudding casual atmosphere outdoor seating above average specials sides ga
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 22, 2022

We had many challenges with the food. The service was decent but when the food is tasteless the date is done. The lobster roll had no flavor. The steak was tender but it lacked flavor. The fries were over done and the mashed potatoes and...broccoli lacked flavor. The only thing we enjoyed was the service, and the drinks. We were disappointed to say the least.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 26, 2022 via mobile

Good friendly service - you should like seafood or you will be unenamored of the menu try the Brussels sprouts - would recommend the Bloody Mary too

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 1, 2021 via mobile

Sides were bland. Oysters were very pricey- ordered chargrilled - they were baked. Waitress was ok- she seemed new. Asked for cocktail sauce for oysters- she never brought it After bringing salads she did not come back to the table for some time. Needed more...dressing and waterMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 8, 2021 via mobile

Honky tonk kind of p0lace, great atmosphere great food ample drinks and fast and friendly service. What else could you ask for? My friend an I ordered roff the regular menu although the the specials looked great. great. I had the shrimp and grits some...thing I always order at least once whenI am in GA. Excellent and I could not finish it all. My friend had the fish and chips and raved about them. If you like a wide variety of sea food coupled with casual dinning this the place to go. Oh also indoor out door seating. When we come again we are definitely going to stop hear.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 6, 2021

If your looking for a nice chill place to have a good drink and seafood this would be the place. The oysters here are amazing. I plan to return again today. Very convenient right off the exit .

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 29, 2021 via mobile

Disclaimer: I only went to this place because they had bread pudding, but I found I enjoyed the food as well. I went at lunch time on a Thursday and it was pretty dead; had me rethinking my decision at first, but I’m glad I...stayed. My waitress, Tia, was nice and the food was good. The bread pudding was great, but they do have lots of cake options if that’s not your style. I would recommend it!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 20, 2021

Tried this place based on Tripadvisor rating and was not disappointed. Folks are nice. Food was above average and great value for cost. Highlights were the fries and coleslaw. Entrees were above average. Would definitely come back and try more dishes. Place is fairly small...and tavern style. Very nice bar. Manager checked in with all tables which was nice. Lots of free parking and right off 285. Worth checking out fer sure. Do make reservations as space is limited.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 3, 2021

Hook Line & Schooner is consistent, fresh seafood one of the more high quality take out meals you are going to get in the Smyrna/Vinings area. Don't be afraid to order seafood takeout. They do it right. Covid precautions are very well followed. We had...shrimp and grits and blackened grouper and they were wonderful. Sides are always great, highly recommend the brussel sprouts but smashed potatoes are good as well. They are also open for dining in. Just a great meal.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 10, 2020

Always one of my favorites in the Smyrna. We ordered takeout on Labor Day evening. Covid precautions were very well done. Pretty busy with take out, had patio seating and bar seating social distancing being followed. I did not notice anyone eating in the dining...room. Food was great, grilled fish tacos, and grilled shrimp tacos very fresh and tasty. Brussel Sprout side is a must. Appetizer of mussels was huge and very good. Did not receive my side of slaw. And the discount I applied on line did not come off. I even called to make sure it would come off but it didn't. Really need to nail order accuracy and proper billing.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HLS_owner, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant and the delicious foods we offer. I’m sorry to hear that your slaw wasn’t in the order. We try our best but sometimes these things happen. Especially since we’re still not back to normal staffing due...More

Reviewed March 22, 2020

So Coronavirus blocked us from dining in, so we did take-out. We both opted for the choose 3, catfish, scallops and shrimp. It comes with cloeslaw, fries and hushpuppies, but I got a loaded backed potato and grilled corn on the cob. All of the...seafood was lightly breaded and had a good season, not too overbearing or underdone. The catfish was filleted and a nice thick piece. The shrimp and scallops were all a good size. The fries were really good, didn't appear to have been the frozen variety. The hushpuppies were really good too. We still have a slice of Italian Rum cake, can't wait to get into that or to get back to Hook Line & Schooner when we can dine in.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HLS_owner, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2020

Thank you for choosing HLS. We appreciate your business and hope you’ll stop in when you can dine in the restaurant, safe travels!

Reviewed November 14, 2019

I've been to Hook Line & Schooner three times now, and each time was absolutely wonderful! The seafood is amazing, the service is great, and the cakes - yum! Will definitely make this my "regular" seafood spot in Smyrna.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HLS_owner, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2019

Thank you so much for your review and feedback. It means so much to all of us at HLS. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope to serve you again.

Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

I will never go back and what a shame...we are HUGE seafood eaters and really looked forward to this place coming here. The fish tasted old; neither my husband nor I could take more than a bite and we sent it back. We told the...server why, she didn’t offer a substitute and she left it on our bill. Unbelievably poor service. The chowder or stew or whatever it was tasted like flour soup and had obviously been reheated and someone had attempted at thickening it again. I’ve never had my expectations so destroyed at a new restaurant. I see they have commercials now on local TV and every time I say “Never Again”.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HLS_owner, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

So sorry you had a bad experience. What you just described is definitely not the norm at Hook Line & Schooner. We only serve fresh fish. Everything is cooked to order and nothing is ever frozen or reheated, including our soups. The server should have...More

Reviewed August 24, 2019

Two couples, 7:30 Thurs. evening. Located in shopping area for large Condo-Apts complex. Took a couple of drive a round's for a parking spot. Seated in booth immediately, very friendly staff and very attentive and efficient. Ordered dozen oysters on half shell, $1 bargain, just...as good as some $3-$6 ones I've had. Shared Calamari and hush puppies, Mahi Mahi Sandwich, Fried Oysters, and blackened snapper, came with 2 sides and salad. Great, as was everyone's dinner and drinks. Will visit again.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RoseyV9, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Thanks so much for your rating and review. It means so much to all of us at HLS. Happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you plan to return.we look forward to serving you again!

Reviewed August 20, 2019

Four family members went out to lunch the other day. Three of us had fish and chips and one of us had salmon and a salad. She definitely got the best deal. We were comparing notes afterwards and those of us who had fish and...chips realized that we all had the same complaint: although the chips, coleslaw, and hush puppies were totally acceptable, the fish was undercooked. Since my son and daughter-in-law live in the area, there is a possibility that I may return to this restaurant at some future date; however, I will make sure I have something rather than the fish and chips.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
RoseyV9, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

As mentioned in my response to your same review on Yelp, we are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your fish. Please don’t ever hesitate to tell your server or a manager if you’re ever unhappy with anything at HLS. If we...More

Reviewed July 20, 2019

Absolutely loved this place. Super service from Darrin and the food was excellent. Had the pan steamed mussels; delicious and plentiful and the lobster roll that had plenty of lobster and done right. Don’t pass this place up!

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HLS_owner, Owner at Hook Line & Schooner, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2020

Thank you for the wonderful rating and feedback. It means so much to all of us! Hope to serve you again!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rodeway Inn
5 reviews
.14 miles away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Smyrna, GA
484 reviews
.92 miles away
Comfort Inn & Suites
167 reviews
1.06 miles away
Baymont by Wyndham Smyrna
199 reviews
1.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
South City Kitchen Vinings
348 reviews
.42 miles away
Muss & Turner's
297 reviews
.39 miles away
Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
299 reviews
.61 miles away
Blue Moon Pizza
114 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Silver Comet Trail
339 reviews
3.08 miles away
Concord Covered Bridge
43 reviews
2.87 miles away
Cobb Galleria Centre
101 reviews
3.10 miles away
Cumberland Mall
62 reviews
2.80 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kcox46219
June 30, 2018|
Answer
Response from truffles444 | Reviewed this property |
i do not know. I have never looked at that since we do have children. sorry I could not hlep
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hook Line & Schooner

Yes, Hook Line & Schooner offers takeout services.

Yes, Hook Line & Schooner offers delivery services.

Yes, Hook Line & Schooner is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hook Line & Schooner is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4