We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Seagrove Beach
Post
Inbox
Search

Surfing Deer

Claimed
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 12/15
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2018 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

Improve this listing
About
Surfing Deer is an exciting new concept/restaurant full of bold ingredients and flavors, domestic and international inspired specialty dishes, and a love to create delicious food. We specialize in comfort food from the sea and the farm, new american style cuisine, seafood, fusion, international, eclectic and locally sourced ingredients, produce and meats. Surfing Deer offers gluten-free, vegetarian and the occasional vegan option for appetizers, entrees, and desserts. Surfing Deer is a casual fine dining restaurant located in the heart of Seagrove Beach on Highway 30A just a short walk from the beautiful coastal beaches of South Walton.
PRICE RANGE
$12 - $40
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
American, Contemporary, Fusion, Seafood
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Valet Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Table Service, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Beach
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
76
21
14
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
76
21
14
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops bacon appetizer banana pudding charcuterie board tenderloin skillet cookie crab cakes bread pork seafood wedges rice our waiter fall break elegant restaurant attentive service thursday evening
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered vegan wings just deep fried batter. Rest of meal not much better for the cost. We were there last year vegan wings were awesome.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank lisametcalfe4
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a nice restaurant, .. elegant setting.. good food,Not 5 star but good and nice servers.. can be freezing but they have blankets and I am talking about inside the restaurant. Kept up beautifully

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank robertfaulknerg
Reviewed November 9, 2019

If only the front of the house could keep up with the back! Have been here a number of times, and unfortunately they are consistent..... the amazing efforts of the kitchen simply can not overcome the incredibly bad service. While the pecan crusted grouper and...More

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank rbt021
Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

I had dinner with friends here last week and split the grouper. It was delicious and the service was attentive. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Casey A
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

We contacted Surfing Deer to make reservations for a dinner which included family visiting from England. I asked for a larger table but a more quiet location. Surfing Deer could not have been more accommodating. We able to hear each other and visit over a...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Karen A
Reviewed October 26, 2019

Wonderful upscale restaurant. Nice ambience but popular so quite noisy. Would suggest making a reservation. Everything we ordered was so good and the service was friendly and efficient. Suggest trying their signature appetiser of clothesline bacon. So unique as well as delicious. One between two...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Jasmine38Chichester
Reviewed October 9, 2019

Welcoming staff and good service in this top notch restaurant. Our party of 4 enjoyed our dinner and bottle of Albariño in this stylish restaurant. Loved the mural on the dining room wall. Our food was delicious and loved our evening. It was a busy...More

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank danmullane3
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

The breaded olives are amazing and they make a mean dirty martini. Great place for happy hour! 10 out of 10

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 82christier
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Good dinner but the employees were too busy watching tv . We were the only ones left and asked them to change the Chanel and they said the manager was in the back and we had to wait . But they were so loud we...More

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Extraordinary385647
Nancy Somerset N, General Manager at Surfing Deer, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Sir, we apologize we offended you by our bar staff not changing the TV channel at our bar last night. Monday night football is big to most of our customers and last night's game was a big one. Although you were the only two at...More

Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

While I look forward to dining here every year, this year wasn’t as good. We were the only two at the bar eating with half an hour until closing...we weren’t a fan of the teams playing ball on the tv, and it’s not a sports...More

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Richard M
Nancy Somerset N, General Manager at Surfing Deer, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Richard, we apologize that you were put off by our bar staff not changing the TV channel at our bar last night. Our bar manager did actually go back to the office where the cable box is kept, but our Executive Chef often makes his...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Commodores Retreat
30 reviews
2.03 miles away
The Pearl Hotel
445 reviews
7.24 miles away
30A Suites
103 reviews
8.67 miles away
Beachside Resort Panama City Beach
738 reviews
11.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
Cowgirl Kitchen Market
233 reviews
.24 miles away
Amavida Coffee Roasters
134 reviews
.55 miles away
Seagrove Village MarketCafe'
497 reviews
.06 miles away
Barefoot BBQ
248 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Sundog Books
184 reviews
.49 miles away
Seaside Beach
385 reviews
.51 miles away
Fusion Art Glass Gallery
69 reviews
.54 miles away
Seaside Farmer's Market
21 reviews
.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
newfie208
May 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from georgehartley | Property representative |
Yes, we have a happy hour everyday from 5 to 6:30 pm in the bar only. There are both food and drink specials. Come see us!
1
Vote
Casey N
April 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Hall H | Property representative |
We have a $25 corkage fee per bottle of wine that patrons choose to bring in on their own.
0
Votes
lkdaigle
August 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nancy Somerset N | Property representative |
Oops! Just saw this, sorry! He has gone to work for a Food Distributor named Rinehold. I believe he is in charge of their Fine Meats.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing