We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 12/4
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Updated 10/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Raining? Free covered valet parking. Parking and walking should never be a challenge. We'll pick you up and drop you off… call for our free local shuttle. A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, American, Seafood, Contemporary
FEATURES
Delivery, Free Wifi, Gift Cards Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveler rating
1,428
343
119
56
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,428
343
119
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops rockefeller seafood shrimp po boy bread pudding scampi eggplant rollatini gazpacho wedge salad poboy fresh catch crab cakes lobster tail spring rolls potatoes fresh fish filet fries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was our first visit to Duval's and it will definitely not be the last. Our server, Anthony, was stellar, He was very efficient, very kind and very welcoming. We were so pleased to have plexiglass dividers between each table and they were distanced as...well. The servers and greeters were all masked and moved at light speed. One distressing event was a family of 5, 3 teenagers, entered without masks. They waited indoors in a front corner. We were seated near the front and I became very uncomfortable because of their lack of respect for others and for the staff who were working so hard to maintain safe standards. I mentioned this to Anthony and within 3 minutes the family was donning masks given to them by management. Now that is what I call concern and caring.. Delicious meal! Kudos to staff and servers!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed May 24, 2020 via mobile

Oh my goodness what an amazing meal we had last night! This was our first time at Duval’s though I had heard many good things about the restaurant. It was listed as one of the best restaurants in Sarasota Magazine and was top on my...list to try when we came into town for a trip to our condo. First, the decor felt fresh and updated with a modern coastal feel. We were seated promptly (we had a reservation) and our waiter Jason was very friendly, efficient and professional. We ordered drinks, my husband had a refreshing blueberry mojito and I decided to get iced tea. We started with salads- I had the caesar which was wonderful and my husband had a salad with pecans in it, which he really liked. We had the fish specials, I had the grouper sautéed with beurre blanc and my husband had the swordfish blackened with pico de Gallo. Both entrees came with rice and asparagus, also very good. Let me tell you they were both some of the freshest and best fish I have ever tasted! Every bite was like heaven and I ate everything on my plate which is a rarity. I loved my husband’s fish dish too! You know how you go out with your mate and you both get different entrees and then when you taste them you think, “oh his was better than mine”, or vice versa?!! Well in this case BOTH entrees were equally delicious which almost never happens to us. Jason asked first and then brought us hot bread which was also very delicious. He refreshed my tea and offered us some amazing sounding desserts which we passed on because we were stuffed, but we will be back to try the bread pudding and key lime pie. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Duval’s, from beginning to end a memorable meal!More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?1  
laurendit, Marketing at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2020

Thank you so much for coming out and dining with us! We are glad that you could enjoy our fresh, local seafood, great drinks and light salads! And thank you for writing such a wonderful review, we really appreciate it. Come out and see us...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Adam the general manager was extremely helpful in getting us seated on Thanksgiving day for dinner. He took great care of us and ensured that we had the next available table. Lily our server was excellent and gave us a great service. The lobster mac...and cheese was delicious. We will be back again for sure for so,e great seafood.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Now I do like Duvals on a regular day ....but not on Thankgiving. We were there today and the service was terrible! We waited for literally everything..she brought bread to the table, no butter she brought our food and didn't see the server for 20mins,...we needed pepper basics like that. Twice I tried to order wine with my main course but she was gone so quick I didn't have the chance. Finally on the third try I ordered it but she did stick around to hear the entire sentence "with my meal". I do get it it's hard to fix a turkey (dry turkey & processed, gravy was a gelatinous blob) but my friend called a head of time and they informed her that they would have items from the menu availabe ...they had 4 items + $38 "Turkey Feast". Really? Talk about not revealing the truth! And the $38 "Feast" was stuffing nondescript stuffing right out of the bag to the plate, a cranberry "sauce" so bitter we could not eat it and then we took our dessert to go she brought it out in a bag, then she served the coffee (another20 mins) and she came back (another 20 mins) & droped a second bag on our table, 20 mins later she came back said "I already gave you yours" & took the bag out to another customer!!! Now thats tacky enough but what about the contamination issue with doing that? (we are in Health Care). We had a reservation for 2pm & it was after 5pm when we left.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Jonathan1413, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Madonna, I would like to personally apologize we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations. We take great pride in pairing exceptional service with delicious food, but obviously fell short on your visit Thanksgiving day. I would love the opportunity to speak with you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

By far the best local restaurant, We had delicious seafood dinners with drinks. The outdoor seating gave a wonderful atmosphere to dinner and people watch as the downtown nightlife began. It was a wonderful experience.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best food ever and the service was outstanding too. Beautiful presentation of red snapper. Definitely will go again.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hubby and I had a wonderful dinner here, from start to finish. We were greeted warmly, seated at a nice table, where fresh flowers were delivered in a vase, and the waitesess immediately offered us a complimentary flute of champagne. We felt very special, as...we celebrated our Anniversary. Cocktails here are superb, and my Boulibasse was exceptional. Hubby's Ocean Scampi was also fabulous. Duval's definitely lives up to their reputation as the Number 1 Seafood restaurant in Sarasota!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Jonathan1413, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Gwen, Thank you for the kind words! It was our pleasure hosting you for your anniversary. We can't wait to have you in again for another amazing night! -Jonathan Van Dyke General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What an amazing night for a special occasion. We were seated right away, but some confusion existed among the staff as we waited a while for a server to come by. Once we spoke with the host/hostess stand, our server was over immediately and super...apologetic. From that point on the experience was awesome. Great service and food! Manager came by later to apologize for the opening confusion and offered us a champagne toast. Superb services and made the evening perfect.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Jonathan1413, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind words! I would like to personally apologize for the miscommunication, but I'm glad we were able to take such great care of you. We look forward to seeing you again for more delicious food paired with exceptional service. Jonathan Van...More

Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I had the perfect lunch. We split a Shrimp Poboy and the eggplant rollini. We finished it off with a cappuccino and one of the best, if not the best, key lime pie either of us have ever had.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Jonathan1413, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Arthur, It was our pleasure having you in. We can't wait to see you again soon! Jonathan Van Dyke General Manager

Reviewed October 26, 2020

Made reservation through Open Table. Outdoor seating was well spaced. Noted plastic barriers between indoor tables. Food was excellent as always at Duval's. Our server, Diego, was exceptional. Service was prompt, polite, attentive without being overbearing or hovering. He fully followed all COVID precautions at...all times. He made appropriate suggestions for some substitutions we needed. Wish all servers were this on top of things.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Jonathan1413, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ron, It was our pleasure having you join us on our extended patio. The health and safety of our guests and staff is our number one priority, and we've found creative ways to pair it with delicious food and exceptional service. We can't wait to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection
289 reviews
.18 miles away
Aloft Sarasota
436 reviews
.19 miles away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sarasota
284 reviews
.30 miles away
The Westin Sarasota
818 reviews
.32 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Element: Steak. Seafood. Pasta.
419 reviews
.02 miles away
First Watch
397 reviews
.06 miles away
Selva Grill
977 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sarasota Opera
243 reviews
.12 miles away
Florida Studio Theatre
361 reviews
.20 miles away
Sarasota Farmers Market
222 reviews
.13 miles away
Selby Public Library
76 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lynette L
January 28, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jonathan1413 | Property representative |
Our patio has space for 26 total guests, but they are split between 7 tables. Outdoor lunches are normally quite popular, so it may be busy on the patio during lunch.
1
Vote
Cornelius H
March 22, 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from sar06371 | Reviewed this property |
No, other than shirts and shoes.
0
Votes
historylover84
March 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from martini001 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but I don't think the children would be very happy but if their well behaved we wouldn't mind either. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing