We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Babalu

$$ - $$$
American, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
+1 727-576-7414
Website
Today
10:30 am - 10:00 am
10:30 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Wed 10:30 am - 9:30 am
10:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thu - Fri 10:30 am - 10:00 am
10:30 am - 10:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The menu advertises "Jumbo wings". The charge is 6.95 for six "wings". What you get is six PIECES of wings. This is false advertising and a fraud! The better business bureau is getting a copy of this review. I will NEVER do business with these con artists again. Also, when I called to complain to "Eddie-the manager" I was cut... More 

Helpful?
Thank sklinger20
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

It sounds like our jumbo wings weren't quite what you were expecting, and I'm sorry to hear that. It's never our intention to mislead our customers, and we're always happy to explain any of our dishes in more detail. We certainly want our customers to be satisfied with our service, and if that hasn't been the case, then you haven't... More 

Key West, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm going to preface my review by disclosing that I spent over 40 years in the restaurant/hospitality field. Made a trip from Tampa specifically because this place had been recommended, only to find out that they don't have a full menu available on Sunday until 1 PM! (It was 1230PM, btw) Not really happy and wasn't really happy with how... More 

Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I appreciate you making a trip to come see us, and I completely understand how this might've been frustrating. While our team is happy to accommodate our guests' requests whenever possible, we do have a small kitchen and have to stick to serving our breakfast menu until 1 PM on Sundays -- I apologize if that wasn't made clear before... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Bland food. Made us all sick later that night. Staff was not very engaging. This place is also over priced. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Corey K
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well, Corey. I know that can really put a damper on your night, and I certainly understand your frustration. However, we follow all health and safety codes, and we’re committed to making sure that all of our meals meet the high standards we aim for. Beyond that, our staff should always be friendly... More 

St Pete FL
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Burgers were not good, atmosphere not good, potato salad was warm and probably bad. Spent the night in the bathroom after this fiasco of a meal. I think the fries were ok and they had some interesting beers from local breweries. Will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank shanna364
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I know how frustrating that can be, so I'm sorry to hear that you were feeling under the weather. That being said, I can assure you that we follow all health and safety codes, and our team is committed to making sure all of our meals meet the high standards we aim for. Everything is cooked to order, and a... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016

Thought I would try out this dog friendly restaurant since it is close to my residence. I visited on a weekend afternoon. Not at all busy. Sat near the door outside (the dog area) and the waitress took my order. I had the fish at her recommendation...blackened. It was good...fresh. My dog had a plain burger. Overall good food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank rbrown9681
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I'm glad you and your pup were able to give us a try -- especially since we're in the neighborhood! It's great that you enjoyed the blackened fish and that your pup could grab a bite, too. I'm always happy to hear that our staff's recommendations were a hit, and it's even better knowing that you felt welcome here. Looking... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

I know what good food is ... But this was a shame! My friends and I expected something amazing and it was disgusting. Food came out cold and out of a can. Ordered ribs and they were cold with a fake bbq sauce. Place was not clean at all. Everyone ate because we were hungry. Even the look of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JennyMilicevic
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Jenny, I'm disappointed you and your friends didn't enjoy your meal with us. We use only the freshest ingredients and all of our dishes are cooked to order here, so I'm surprised that you thought our ribs fell short. Your food should always be piping hot here, and if that wasn't the case, then I apologize. That being said, we... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Went 4 lunch about a week ago.I had sloppy Joe sandwich with fries. Food was excellent. Love there steak fries. Everything came out nice and hot and fresh. Will definitely go back soon. Plz check it out u won't b. disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Susie Y
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I'm glad you could stop by and have lunch with us, Susie! It's great to hear that the Sloppy Joe and steak fries were a hit. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, Chip, Owner More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016

stopping at babalu's for lunch last week was excellent!! Krista working behind the bar was energenic motivated filled the order quick knew all about the meals. and the cooks fixed lunch as quick as possible to make sure your out in time to go back to work. the portions are great, large and filling the meals are very tasty ver... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeeDemers
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by for lunch! I'm glad that Krista was able to serve you so quickly and answer any questions you had. We know that your lunch hour can be tight, so we always do our best to get you in and out of here quickly. It sounds like you enjoyed your meal, and I hope you'll come back... More 

Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

My first time here and there service was amazing. The house wings were excellent. I loved the fact they added sauce and heat for me. Perfect amount of garlic and blue cheese.

Helpful?
Thank rich l
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Glad we could make our wings just the way you like them, Rich -- especially since it was your first time giving us a try! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your service, and I hope you'll come back for some more wings again soon. All the best, Chip, Owner More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Me and my wife are always looking for new places to eat. This place was a delightful find. Burgers are a must try; best patties I've had since I can remember. And the honey barbecue wings were DANK.

Helpful?
Thank Karolyn M
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

We're glad that your first impression of us was a delicious one, Karolyn! We always aim to serve up mouth-watering food and it sounds like your burger and wings were just that! Hope to see you in again soon! Warm regards, Chip, Owner More 

Travelers who viewed Babalu also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Babalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Delivery
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:30 am - 9:30 am
10:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 9:30 am
10:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 9:30 am
10:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 10:00 am
10:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 10:00 am
10:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  St. Petersburg
  • Phone Number: +1 727-576-7414
Description
Babalu is St. Petersburg's neighborhood tavern offering delicious homemade food and daily specials prepared freshly each day.

We offer an extensive menu of freshly made items. From our delicious burgers to jumbo wings, fresh grouper, hand-breaded shrimp, snow crab, hand cut steaks, homemade meatloaf and more, we've got something for everyone.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Babalu staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?