The Celtic Ray Public House

The Celtic Ray Public House

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 941-916-9115+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Mon
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Tue
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Wed
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Thu
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Fri
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Sat
11:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$2.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Can a gluten free person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
FAILTE! [WELCOME!] The Celtic Ray Public House in downtown Punta Gorda opened in 1997 by Proprietor Kevin Doyle. At the time there wasn’t a single establishment in the area that offered a variety of quality imported beers and the atmosphere of a traditional Irish Pub. We serve only high-quality imported draught beers, bottled beers, ciders, fine wines, as well as, a selection of “soft” beverages. We also have expanded with the ‘other side’ and now have a full liquor bar! Our menu features traditional Irish Pub favorites made from fresh ingredients and family recipes. The Celtic Ray’s Fish & Chips are famous worldwide! See you at the Ray, Slainte!
PRICE RANGE
$2.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Live Music
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,132 reviews
Excellent
654
Very good
314
Average
82
Poor
40
Terrible
42
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

SusanK815
Livingston176 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 friends
This pub was recommended to us by a friend. We came to Punta Gorda to see the Fisherman’s Village, but knew we were having lunch here. They had a very authentic Irish Pub menu. You go up to the bar to place your order, tell the bartender what table number you’re sitting at, and they bring you the food. The fish and chips were the best I ever had. It was fried perfectly and you could taste the beer in the batter. They had a bottle of chippy vinegar on the table which I put on the fish and fries. It was similar to, but not malt vinegar. My friend had a beef pastie that had ground beef, cheddar cheese , bacon and onions simmered in Guiness in a puffed pastry. It came with coleslaw and fries. They both had a buttered slice of soda bread. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back there.
Written March 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic rating and review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear how much you loved your first experience here, and we are so happy to hear that you'll be back. Have a wonderful weekend! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written March 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas K
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This place is a gem... First I am very picky about my Guinness and the bartenders here definitely know how to pour a good Guinness. There are no servers, the menu is written on boards posted all around this very large establishment and you go to the bar to order and a runner brings out your food. This is a scratch kitchen so all the food is made fresh so depending how busy they are it may take a while after you order, the place was about half full on the day we were there and our food took only 15 minutes. My wife and sister had the fish and chips and both said their meal was outstanding, my wife said best she has ever had. I had the Guinness stew and it was as good as I have ever had including in Ireland.There is no wait staff, so when I asked for a menu, I was told it was above my head. This is a truly authentic Irish Pub with delicious high quality menu.
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Thomas, Thank you for leaving us such an outstanding rating and review. We enjoyed reading about the experience you and your family had, and we hope to have you all back in here soon. Just as a heads up, if you are ever with a guest whom doesn't know our menu well- we do have togo menus that have the description of all our meals, and also the entertainment schedule on them. We hope to have you all back in here soon. Have a lovely Thursday! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written February 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lou2215
Sister Bay143 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
Authentic Irish Pub atmosphere. You have to be searching for a table which we found in the front row. We started with a couple pints of Guinness. We ordered the Fried Fish which was a generous portion either 4 or 8 oz piece. I ordered the GuinnessStew which was ok but in Ireland it is served in a large bowl not topped over mashed potatoes. I was a little disappointed. You order your food and drink at the bar and the food is delivered to your table. The Celtic Clan Irish Band was excellent and made for a fun atmosphere. There is a band that started at 9:00 pm. Definitely recommended for good food and drink and excellent music. Fun!
Written February 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Afternoon Lou, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We enjoyed reading about your experience here, and are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourself. We hope to have you back in here again soon. Have a wonderful Monday! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written February 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wackedout
Kenosha118 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
I feel for what the two o us had, was over rated and over priced. One order of a Banger (two small Irish sausage with mashed potatoes. dash of gravy, slaw and soda bread. The sausage was good. The mashed potatoes could have used more gravy and the soda bread was the best part. The other person had the kids chicken strips, fries and a slice of soda bread. One Stella Artois and plain ice tea. My bill was $30.00 and I was still hungry when I left. I am a 63 yr. old female at 135 lbs. I do not think I will be going back anytime soon.
Written March 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here. As far as our prices go, they are comparable to the prices of other surrounding restaurants. However, all our meals and drinks have their taxes already included in the price; $30 for two meals, a pint and a glass of tea is quite reasonable, and of average pricing we believe. Have a wonderful week! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written March 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

seafoodlover69
45 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We had a group of six for lunch. Three of us had fish and chips. They were possibly the worst fish and chips I’ve ever eaten. The fish was totally tasteless and the chips on everyone’s plates were way overdone and again tasteless. Maybe I’m used to England’s fish and chips and these were authentic Irish ones. We ordered all three desserts and they were excellent. Highly recommend the bread pudding.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are sorry to hear that you didn't fancy our fish & chips. Like you stated, they are authentic Irish fish & chips, and we understand that not everyones tastebuds will love them. We are so happy to hear you all enjoyed our desserts, and we do hope to have you back in here to try out some of our other menu items. Have a wonderful week! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Events Coordinator celticray.net
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pat I
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
The world famous fish and chips were greasy and tasteless. The slaw was blah. The Shepherds pie meat was too spicy and mostly mashed potatoes. The potato and leek soup was very tasty. Maybe we just picked the worse things on the menu.
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Pat, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are sorry to hear your tastebuds didn't agree with some of the items on our menu; we understand that Irish fare isn't for everyone. Have a wonderful week! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Events Coordinator celticray.net
Written March 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

531fish
Punta Gorda74 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 none
Stopped in to pick up some take-out, fairly busy. I was the only person wearing a mask! People at the outside bar, no social distancing being oberved. None of the bartenders wearing a mask either. As a senior and having a wife with "underlying conditions," I may come back for take-out but will not stay and eat. The wrong message is being sent about how serious the Virus is being taken. Very disappointed!
Written May 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are sorry to hear you found that the coronavirus and the guidelines aren't being taken serious here. However, we would have to disagree with you. We have taken every precaution when it comes to sticking to the guidelines that have been given to us by the governor; all tables are 6ft apart, there are signs and tape of where to stand to order, there is no seating at the bar, we are constantly sanitizing tables/chairs and we also have staff going around reminding people of the social distancing guidelines if we feel they are not cooperating. As far as masks are concerned, they are not a part of the CDC requirements; therefore we have given our staff the choice if they would like to wear them or not. We respect your opinion and your decision to only order takeout during this time, and we thank you for your support of our pub during these tough times. Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written May 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debbie H
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 couples
Outdoor deck is not accessible. Salad has no romaine cabbage only. Took 40 minutes to get food. We had to change from chicken to salmon because the cook never got the chicken out. Only 1 server working very hard. We will not be returning Atmosphere nice.
Written May 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CaptTrouble
Hudson7904 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2021 none
We stopped here on a Friday night with our friends. We grabbed a table outside (first come, first serve according to them) and the guys went and ordered at the outdoor bar. For drinks, my husband and I got a Guinness each, our friends Stella Artois each. Those were in our husbands' hands when they returned form the bar. For food, we ordered 3 of the 8 oz Fish & Chips, one friend got the Chicken Curry. It took awhile for our food to be delivered but we realized that it was busy and there were A LOT of people ahead of us. When our food did get to us, it was very hot. The Fish & Chip orders were HUGE and delicious; I couldn't finish my food even though we had been fishing out on the harbor all day and had had only snacks. As I recall, these were grouper Fish & Chips listed on the board. Absolutely outstanding! Our friend really liked the Chicken Curry; she wanted Fish & Chips but has to watch her cholesterol...for now. They are Punta Gorda residents and go here frequently. The tables were 6' or more apart and when the servers or customers were walking through the crowd, they wore masks. Noticeable were the young families waiting at the gate of which no one had a mask. They were the exception. Also, get there a little bit early. It's a popular place and FULL even though they have greatly expanded the outdoors and added a small stage.
Written March 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning, We wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely rating and review on our pub. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed yourselves while you were here. We hope to have you all back in here again soon. Have a wonderful day! Slainte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager celticray.net
Written March 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

francis b
Sarasota13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
Great food and drink. Didn't send me to the poorhouse. Excellent ambiance. Had a great time. This pub was walking distance from our Hotel. The salmon appetizer plate was a great choice. I had the fish and chips for dinner, my wife a chicken pastie. We had a little built in pass through bar table. Great for eating and listening to some Irish tunes being played on the sound system. After running your credit card you were able to order all your drinks and food from the bar by just telling the bartender the table number in addition to your order. Cash out was totally painless as well. The complete staff wore face masks and the sign outside the bar encouraged you to wear a mask before entering.
Written April 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Francis, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our salmon appetizer, and your dinners. We hope that if you're ever back in the area, that you stop back in to see us. Have a wonderful week! Slainte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager celticray.net
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

icemodeled
Florida495 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
First visit. Stopped in right at lunch time. Inside is quite small, we picked a seat and ordered at the bar. The menu is somewhat limited, would love to see more options available. Ordered their fish and chips. They were very nice and accommodating of our 10 month old also(do not believe there is a designated kids menu). Meal came out reasonably quick and hot. Fish breading was good, light and crispy but would liked more flavor to it. Fish was done well. Chips(fries) were delicious, cooked right. The prices are decent. Service was fine entire time. It was overall a good meal and we would return again but hope for more menu options in the future.
Written August 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Afternoon, We wanted to thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here, and that you're likely to return. Just so you know for future visits, the inside of our pub has three sections of seating; two on the lower level, and one upstairs. Our menu is on the smaller side because we are a traditional Irish Pub, and serve only traditional Irish meals; everything is made daily from fresh ingredients. We do have a children's menu; next time you are in, ask for a paper menu & it is located on there {and on boards throughout the pub}. We hope to have you all back in here soon. Have a wonderful week! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager celticray.net
Written August 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

navigator153
Fort Myers156 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 couples
Stopped by when passing through town craving fish and chips . This checked all the right boxes - very tasty fish and chips , came promptly and was washed down with a good beer recommended by the friendly bartender “ Login C” . Only critique: Needed a better Tatar sauce ( no capers ? Come on!!) and a lemon wedge . And a freshly wiped table .
Written April 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fish & chips, and beer selection. We hope to have you back in here again soon. Have a wonderful week! Slainte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager celticray.net
Written April 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BobandSue_12
Appleton32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
One of the best restaurant experiences we have ever had. Food was authentic and delicious. It was served promptly and we enjoyed the pasty, fish and chips and shepherd pie. Beer was great. Sat outside on a lovely evening and stayed to enjoy the live Celtic band. Prices were reasonable. 5 stars from us!
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Bob & Sue, We wanted to thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience here at the Ray, and we hope to have you guys back in here soon. Have a lovely Thursday! Sláinte, Carrie W. Public Relations Manager & Event Coordinator celticray.net
Written February 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kristine B
Orlando271 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
I visited the Celtic Ray because I wanted to see the Young Dubliners when they were performing. I ordered food at the inside bar because I was there solo and you have to find a table, order food at the bar, and then they bring it to your table. Since I couldn't hold a table for myself I sat inside at the bar and was happy I did. The bartenders were super sweet and helpful with my gluten allergy. I ordered gluten free baked fish and chips and it was REALLY tasty. The fish was super flavorful and went really well with the two ciders I ordered. I took my last cider to the upstairs bar outside and enjoyed the live music. Overall it was a fantastic night and even better, the Ray was walking distance to my Airbnb. I hope to stop by again next time I'm in Punta Gorda.
Written June 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning Kristine, We wanted to thank you for taking the time to rate and review our pub. We are absolutely thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our pubs menu, entertainment & your overall experience. We hope to have you back in here again soon. Have a wonderful weekend! Slainte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager celticray.net
Written June 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Avocados12
Fort Lauderdale5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 family
Here’s my two cents!! We have lived all over the US. We have lived in New York City, Philadelphia, Chicago and Maine. Some people consider these the real foodie states in US. We have also traveled extensively through Europe, Caribbean, Aruba, Barbados, Canada. The highlight of our year is when we get to visit my sister in Punta Gorda, Florida. I love the Celtic Ray! The Celtic Ray Icelandic cod fish is always fresh, the batter is light and crispy and fried to perfection! The Guiness stew is delicious also! The staff is really busy but always pleasant. It’s a comfortable pub where many of the bartenders speak with an Irish brogue! What really impressed us was their customer service. We had a concern about our bill one year and Kevin Doyle came out and sat with us and assured us that he would look into it and make it right on our credit card. ( the mistake was mine!) Keep up the good work Celtic Ray or I will have to give up visiting my sister! ☘️
Written March 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CRPub
Good Morning, We wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review and rating; it absolutely made our day. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy the service and atmosphere of our pub, and can't wait till the next time you come back to visit your sister. Have a lovely weekend! Slainte, Carrie W. Public Relations & Office Manager ceticray.net
Written March 20, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 1,131
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
TT's Tiki Bar
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar
River City Grill
$$ - $$$ · American
Italia at River City
$$ - $$$ · Italian
Ice House Pub
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, British, Pub
Peace River Seafood
$$ - $$$ · American, Seafood
Sandra's Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · European
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CELTIC RAY PUBLIC HOUSE, Punta Gorda - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Punta Gorda HotelsPunta Gorda Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Punta Gorda
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars