We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hammerhead Fred's

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8752 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4000
+1 850-233-3907
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Fri 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 11:00 am - 8:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

The food was awesome. Some of the best fried gator I have ever had. Good atmosphere for any group of people. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Charrier11
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear you loved our Gator tail and that the atmosphere was great too! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Best, Brian Hammerle Assistant General Manager More 

Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

Been eating here 2010, but now I don't care to go back. The food just isn't the same anymore. Highly disappointed that there wasn't any live music playing when we went, even though the website said every night. Also disappointed with my food. The menu has shrunk, along with the portion. The same thing I ordered 2 years ago was... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanderlust821
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with our new menu. We have a new Chef and decided to try new things this year. I will definitely talk with our chef about your feedback. We had live entertainment seven days a week up until August 2nd.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

This place was extremely high priced for the small amount of food given. I was charged $2 extra for cheese on my backed potato

Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Hammerhead Fred's. We do charge an additional $2 for loaded baby bakers. You should have received Cheese, Bacon, Sour cream & butter. Our prices are competitive with all other restaurants on the beach. Best,... More 

Riceville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

My family and I are huge seafood fanatics and this is some of the best seafood we have had!! The price was not bad for the amount of food you get and the staff was super nice!

Helpful?
Thank cleamon24
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you loved your experience with us, and that our seafood was one of the best you ever had. I look forward to you dinning with us again on your next vacation to PCB, Best, Brian Hammerle Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

We had a great dinner here! There was a band for outdoor dining. We ate inside with the cool atmosphere and decor! The shrimp were delicious! The kids had gator and crab legs, which they loved! The service was great and the manager stopped by to check on us too! Loved the craft beer selection! A must-go if in PCB!

Helpful?
Thank Tami W
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear your family enjoyed the band and that your dinner was great too. We have over 50 craft beers and have a lot of seasonal craft beers from all over the country. I look forward to seeing you on your... More 

Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

We are traveling with our grandchildren, 2 & 7 and after spending all afternoon and evening at the pool and beach, they were hungry and tired. We asked our waitress to get their order in ASAP before we even ordered our own food. Not only did they accommodate us, they went out of their way. The food was mediocre, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LadyB319
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the feedback on our food and will pass it on the our Chef. I am glad to hear our server went above and beyond to accommodate your children. We look forward to your next visit to PCB and hope you stop by. Best,... More 

Level Contributor
187 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

We specifically came for the baked or sisters. They were delicious. Others in our group got the red snapper which was fantastic. I would ask to hold the sauce on the side next time though. The shrimp was excellent. The little potatoes that they serve with their entrées are the best I've ever had! We look forward to going there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Davijuls
Brian H, Manager at Hammerhead Fred's, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor. Glad that the oysters and Red Snapper were excellent. It sounds like everyone in your party enjoyed their dinner. Thanks again for the feedback. I look forward to the next time you come in for oysters. Best, Brian Hammerle Assistant General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2015

The food was good, not the best I have had in PC but not the worst. The atmosphere was great. I would for sure visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

It's a bit pricey and touristy but we had great service and we all loved our food. My 5 year old enjoyed writing on the walls and table.

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey J
Benbrook
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2015

We had 8 in the party ranging from age 7 to seniors with a variety of tastes. Some burgers some steak some fish or chicken. Perhaps because of the size of our party it took a while to get seated even though the outside seating requested did not look that crowded. The band was outside and was about to start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis B

Travelers who viewed Hammerhead Fred's also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hammerhead Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8752 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4000
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Panhandle  >  Panama City Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 850-233-3907

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hammerhead Fred's and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hammerhead Fred's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?