We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Captiva House

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Sat, 2/16
8:00 PM
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Business meetings

Location and contact

Sponsored by: Old Captiva House

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Delicious Food
1. Delicious Food
"We ate dinner every night at Captiva House while staying at Tween"
r2j22
See reviews that mention Delicious Food
2. A Fantastic New Menu
2. A Fantastic New Menu
"This is without doubt, the best public restaurant on Captiva."
maximizinglife
See reviews that mention A Fantastic New Menu
3. The Only Sushi on the Islands
3. The Only Sushi on the Islands
"extremely happy to find a fantastic sushi chef in the dining room"
arlene1371
See reviews that mention The Only Sushi on the Islands
About
Welcome to the historic, award-winning Old Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
PRICE RANGE
$12 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Seafood, American, Contemporary
FEATURES
Takeout, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveler rating
526
203
87
25
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
526
203
87
25
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab bisque sushi lamb chops snapper filet salad sea bass carrot cake bread key lime pie tween waters piano music sunset room continental breakfast a fine dining experience our waiter romantic dinner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Old Captiva House is being renovated and during the renovation the Old Captiva House is presently in the Canoe and Kayak House but there's no sign telling you that so when you go to the OCH they send you to the CKH. Once there...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank thetravelinman1
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear the travelinman11, Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review....More

Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Quaint place with white tablecloths and gulf front dining. Food was absolutely delicious. I had seafood lasagna, and my husband had Chilean sea bass. Both were excellent! Kids had penne alfredo and chicken tenders. Big portions and very good. Nice wine list. We will definitely...More

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Sfarring
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Dear Sfarring, Thank you for your recent glowing review of your dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our made from scratch menu items, old Florida ambiance, and warm and friendly service. We appreciate you taking...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four friends chose this inviting space for a Saturday night dinner. The wait staff, Eric and Dana and chef did not disappoint! Looking for a lovely dining experience, this is your place. The atmosphere creates a pleasant tone, coupled with a professional and caring wait...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank campbb
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear campbb, Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location in the Canoe and Kayak Club. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our quaint atmosphere, Chef Greg's...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I celebrated her birthday. Started off rocky as we pulled up to crows nest and were told to walk to Oars house Huh ? We were advised it was right around the corner. After walking the back lot past laundry area, garbage...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 679gregl
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good evening, Thank you for the feedback from your recent dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. Sorry for the confusion finding us, there is a large map displayed on the doors of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We anticipated a great meal based on the reviews . We were not disappointed! Try to sit on the deck. It much more pleasant. They have heaters so don’t worry about cool evenings . Yes, we had the scallops with the crab and lobster topping...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank CBM57
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CBM57, Thank you for your recent glowing review of your dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We loved reading how much you enjoyed our made from scratch menu items and warm...More

Reviewed January 5, 2019

We've recently had three intimate fine dining experiences at the Old Captiva House, which is temporarily serving in the Tween Waters Canoe & Kayak Club. Outstanding in all respects. Intimate as it is small relative to the OCH. Fine dining at its best. Our favorites...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Cheryl L
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Cheryl L, Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House in our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We loved reading how much you enjoyed our intimate atmosphere, Chef Greg's home...More

Reviewed January 4, 2019

We enjoyed dinner outside overlooking the water. The seabass was some of the best I've ever had. I can't wait to go back to Tween Waters so I can go back to Old Captiva House!More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Amanda C
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear Amanda C, Thank you for your recent review of us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your dining experience. We loved reading how much you...More

Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

The food and service was amazing!! 😊 The views were great and we were definitely taken care of. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Amanda B
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Dear Amanda B, Thank you for your glowing review in regards to your recent visit with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our made from scratch...More

Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

It was our first night in Sanibel Island and we were looking for an intimate. waterfront, quiet place to eat. This was perfect. Maybe six table on the deck outshine and 8-10 tables inside. Candle and clothes on the tables. Great wait staff. Chef came...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LakeGenevaTraveller
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2018

Dear LakeGenevaTraveller, Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us at the Old Captiva House and our temporary location at the Canoe and Kayak Club. We were thrilled to read how much you enjoyed Chef Greg's made from scratch...More

Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Because many on Captiva/Sanibel were financially hurt by the red tide, we decided to eat every meal out this year in order to give back to the islands that have given us so many happy memories since 1983. We dined at all of our favorites,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank dimojam
LAURENTBO19, F&B Director at Old Captiva House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2018

Dear dimojam Thank you for the feedback in regards to your recent dining experience with us for the Thanksgiving Buffet. We take all of our reviews very seriously, especially the critiques. we were sorry to read you didn't appreciate the food and the ambiance. All...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
3,508 reviews
.04 miles away
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
192 reviews
.55 miles away
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
158 reviews
.74 miles away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
584 reviews
2.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 22 nearby restaurants
Sunshine Seafood Cafe and Wine Bar
658 reviews
.92 miles away
Keylime Bistro
1,794 reviews
.81 miles away
The Bubble Room Restaurant
4,353 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea
192 reviews
.69 miles away
NASCRAB
189 reviews
.01 miles away
Captiva Island Historical Society's History Gallery
19 reviews
.69 miles away
New Moon Sailing
46 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cjg52583
May 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from b2cool | Reviewed this property |
It seemed to us that the renovations are completed. Of course, they seated us in the front room (the best one, with the view of the Gulf), and I suppose that the back room may have had some "inconveniences," but we did not... More
0
Votes
Kathy K
February 24, 2018|
Answer
Response from LAURENTBO19 | Property representative |
you can book calling the restaurants, visit the website and book online or book on Open table
-1
Votes
Kathy K
February 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Melissa L | Reviewed this property |
Call I’m advance for sure , just to assure all will be accommodated
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing