We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose & Crown

Church Lane | Severn Stoke, Worcester, Severn Stoke WR8 9JQ, England
+44 1905 371249
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“casserole” (2 reviews)
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane | Severn Stoke, Worcester, Severn Stoke WR8 9JQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Taken to lunch here by a friend, who eats here fairly regularly. It is a lovely old 15th century pub, set back from the road. I had a cottage pie with veg, but the veg were almost raw. In truth, I feel my own home...More

Thank Lynn P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We go to this pub quite regular considering that we live in Staffordshire , Peter the landlord is fantastic , there is a great atmosphere and such fantastic local people Friendly and the food is brilliant as well , cannot say enough about this pub...More

Thank arlenechinn
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future, Peter Fryar.

Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

We often travel. between Worcester and Gloucester on the M5 this evening we travelled down the A38 and happened across this delightful pub. Great food friendly staff and locals. We will come back, keep up the good work. The pie of the day was excellent.

Thank John W
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

I am glad the A38 won you over, and that you enjoyed our humble emporium. Peter Fryar

Reviewed September 9, 2017

We called in on the off chance that this little pub would be able to accommodate two hungry people. We were not disappointed. There was a good selection on the menu and we enjoyed our meals and good service.

Thank Janet O
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thankyou for your kind words, and glad we were able to serve you. Peter Fryar.

Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Visited tonight for dinner. Typical old country pub, low beams and all. Service bright and engaged. Brakespear's Gold ale very quaffable. Good Menu of familiar favourites, plus a good number of specials. I had the Sausage and mash, with red wine gravy, yum! My wife's...More

Thank OutnAbout007
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Very atmospheric and stunning example of sympathetic restoration work. Stopped overnight in our motorhome via Britstops and couldn't have been more pleased. Easy to find, plenty of room. Had very nice dinner and then the pudding menu arrived.... wow! Spoilt for choice and was very...More

Thank TraWill
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

This dog friendly pub serves food all day which was great for walkers with or without 4 legged friends in tow. Having been on a walk with the dogs we ended up here early evening for our Sunday roast and we were not disappointed. Dogs...More

1  Thank DeejMonkseaton
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and only sorry that you were a little short of the magic elixir on your Sticky Toffee, which is one of the favourites on my Wifes ridiculously long Pudding Board. Hope you, and your Dogs, can visit us...More

Reviewed August 7, 2017

We were fortunate enough to have discovered this pub when we were in search of food due to another pub having a closed kitchen. By chance we also found this pub whilst the village fete was on, despite being busy we were served timely, no...More

1  Thank Thisisour0pinion
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thankyou for your review, and sorry about your colleagues head, albeit one of many (there is a price to pay for 'character'). We are pleased we could accommodate you all, on our Annual 'Village Fun Day', and hope you enjoyed the atmosphere. Would love to...More

Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

Driven past this pub many times but never called in. We decided we would today on our way back from Cheltenham. We were not disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly and the food and service was excellent. A nice village pub in a lovely location.

1  Thank Richard F
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thankyou for your kind comments. Hope to see you again. Peter Fryar.

Reviewed July 25, 2017

The very generous portion sizes of the meals defeated us completely! We were able to sit outside in the sunshine, and were served by delightful, helpful staff. If you are looking for a welcoming pub, serving a good choice menu, which does not have airs...More

Thank Megansmum12
Peter F, Owner at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017

Thankyou very much for taking the time to send in a review, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Peter Fryar

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak
81 reviews
.95 miles away
The Elgar Inn
224 reviews
1.27 miles away
Pundits Fusion
594 reviews
2.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Croome
1,211 reviews
2.02 miles away
The Walled Gardens at Croome Court
30 reviews
2.08 miles away
Clive's Fruit Farm
119 reviews
2.37 miles away
Lovells Vineyard
12 reviews
4.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rose & Crown staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $12
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane | Severn Stoke, Worcester, Severn Stoke WR8 9JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Severn Stoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1905 371249
  • E-mail
Description
We are a 500 year old Village Pub with a Dining Room, and very large Beer Garden. The Pub sits just off the A38, between Worcester, and Tewkesbury, and neatly either side of Junction 1, M50, and Junction 7, of the M5. Amid some lovely walking country being just half a mile from the River Severn, and close to the National Trust estate of Croome Court with it's Capabiliity Brown landscapes, and the secret wartime Radar research airfield of RAF Defford. We are open for Food from 12noon to 9.30Pm, seven days a week, and have a wide ranging main Menu, of items you would expect to find in a Pub, plus others that give a variety, and are more unusual. We also have a Lite Bite menu of smaller portions, starting at £5.80, And a Childrens Menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing