We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodman

) #21 of 23 Restaurants in Ashtead $$ - $$$ , British,
238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
+44 1372 274524
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good15%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible36%
Travelers talk about
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“gammon” (4 reviews)
“lovely lunch” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was meeting old friends for lunch. I decided to go for the lunch menu thinking just the same but maybe smaller portions. Ok had fish. I was struggling to find the fish in the batter. So crispy ,over cooked. Called the manager over to mention...More

1  Thank moreviz
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I am really sorry that you weren't happy with how the duty manager dealt with your complaint on Friday -we checked back your food and you didn't complain until you had finished so we didn't offer you a replacement but would happily have done...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been going here for a few years, and you almost always get a good meal, and very good for the budget.More

Thank Mary G
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mary G, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Woodman! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have...More

Reviewed June 18, 2017

We arrived at 9.45 to be told by the Manager(?) that the kitchen would be closed (even though they supposedly serve food till 10.00). The barmaid took the trouble to actually check and said they could still serve us. We had a somewhat forceful and...More

1  Thank Cleopatra80
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Cleopatra, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We were happy to take your order that evening and we are sorry we weren't serving the menu that you wanted I've spoken to the team leader who spoke...More

Reviewed May 23, 2017

Good food and good atmosphere. really reasonable prices. Great for a casual dinner, lunch or even just a few drinks.

Thank Bousie1992
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Hi Bousie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Woodman. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed May 21, 2017

Hi Three of us went only 2 of us ate and guess which two had to stay at home all day beside the toilet, the plates were chipped which is a health and safety issue

1  Thank Tom Q
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Tom Q, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly at 01372274524 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed May 15, 2017

Going on an early weekday night, the pub was quiet so we were hopeful the food would be ok. We sticked to 'basic' pub food as thought it would be safer. Despite a quiet night, the food took a while to arrive. Chips served in...More

1  Thank HelenandTony24
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We...More

Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

Nice pub with great seating However not the best service even when quiet :( Didn't try the food as wasn't impressed with the service at bar so didn't want to risk it

Thank Bill S
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Bill S, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Woodman, 01372274524

Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

The quality of the roast dinners here are appalling. I would genuinely say this was the worst Sunday lunch I have ever had. The meat was meagre and had the texture of jerky it was so over cooked. The vegetables were also overdone and the...More

2  Thank EmmaHicks29
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you are willing, please call us for further assistance with moving forward. Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we hope to hear from you...More

Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the worst Sunday roast I have ever had! The roast beef was over cooked and the vegetables are clearly microwaved from frozen. The pub is in a great location, the bar staff are friendly but the food just terrible. Definitely would not recommend and...More

3  Thank Zein A
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Zein, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Woodman, 01372274524

Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Went here for a business lunch yesterday, we spoke to the Thai Chef as we was ordering , (he was grabbing a coffee for himself) he recommended the teriyaki noodles which I got & it was very tasty for the price ! The others had...More

1  Thank KC240811
General Manager A, Manager at The Woodman, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2017

Hi - thanks so much for your review - I will pass your feedback on to my team and we hope to see you soon. Many Thanks, Kim.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mogul Dynasty
144 reviews
.22 miles away
Bike Beans Cycle Cafe
55 reviews
.52 miles away
Ashtead Charcoal Grill
57 reviews
.50 miles away
Zia Vitalia
93 reviews
.52 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Giles Church
8 reviews
.78 miles away
Chessington World of Adventures Resort
6,054 reviews
2.32 miles away
Hobbledown
643 reviews
2.38 miles away
Leatherhead Museum
16 reviews
1.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Woodman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 238 Barnett Wood Lane, Ashtead KT21 2DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Ashtead
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 274524
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing