We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

mad beach fish house

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, American, Bar, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special occasions, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene

Location and contact

About
Overlooking the Madeira Bay Marina, just 2 blocks north of Johns Pass village, this newly remodeled waterfront restaurant has indoor/outdoor seating and the best view on the beach. The menu is "Old Florida meets tropical" with fresh flavors and locally sourced seafood. A selection of Chef inspired starters, handhelds and scratch prepared entrees are sure to please everyone at the table! Mad Beach Fish House also caters to those interested in Vegetarian, Gluten Free and Vegan options. Our specials change twice a week and feature freshly caught seafood as well as 100% Angus beef burgers. Our Tiki bar(with views of the beach as well as the Intercostal ), runs daily drink specials as well as signature
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveler rating
314
234
103
36
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
314
234
103
36
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shrimp seafood hogfish salad gator bites stuffed mushrooms fish spread sandwiches burger bloody mary bar third floor rum runner live music gulf blvd outside seating an appetizer john's pass
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I wasn’t impressed. Maybe I’ll go back, but not real soon. Service was good, server tried to get the kitchen to accommodate small requests, but no luck.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank funithesun
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had limited time and was hoping to get quick service. We mentioned this to the server, and we had our food in 15 minutes. Food was excellent and could not have been happier.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank GrandTour686277
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Happy to accommodate. Thanks for coming in. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They were not busy at all. Two other tables in the restaurant, an a few people at the bar. First, the positive. I loved my grilled shrimp and scallops. The wife ordered shrimp scampi, could not eat it. The lemon butter sauce tasted like a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Andri P
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate it as every bit helps us better train our staff. We hope you come back again soon as we’d love to attempt to make you happy.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Made reservations for 11. Great idea otherwise it might not have been possible to accommodate such a large group. Being a Friday night this place was busy. We were immediately seated upon our arrival. Our server was wonderful. Extremely friendly and very efficient. Our drink...More

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank 629randyr
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Today we had an amazing lunch at Mad Beach Fish House. Our server, Sherri (who rocks!) recommended the peel and eat shrimp as a starter. She promised they would taste like lobster, so we ordered a pound to share and, as she also suggested, ordered...More

Date of visit: January 2019
3  Thank Merle L
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you o much for the review! We’re so glad you enjoyed the food and spending time with Sherri. She’s an awesome lady. We will be sure to pass on this praise to her. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love the food here. Nice variety of many seafood items in a casual atmosphere. The fish spread is absolutely delicious! They have indoor and outdoor dining.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Beevpa
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We make our fish spread fresh in house and are very proud of it! Come back and see us soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Seafood and service done right! I’ve live on the beach all my life and have seen this place grow. It’s been a couple years since I’ve been back and this time it was amazing. The hog fish was done to perfection and the waitress was...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank EliteWatersports
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re so glad you came back to see us! Say hey next time you’re in!

Reviewed January 6, 2019

For me personally living in a vegan lifestyle , the Mad Beach Fish House was maybe not the best choice of restaurant but I did not go hungry! My real reason for writing this review was that the majority of the group I was sharing...More

Date of visit: January 2019
4  Thank PhilC01
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the nice review! Come back and see us soon!

Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Our last night and the best food we had all week. Our waitress, Sharon, was terrific!! Very friendly and personable. The dinner was delicious. The hostess was clueless and could really use a lesson in how to greet and deal with customers. Other than her,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank 46ElizabethS
josephsG9963HR, General Manager at mad beach fish house, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2019

Thank you so much for the visit and the feedback! It will help us further develop our staff. And we’re so glad you enjoyed the food! Please come see us again soon.

Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

Our food was delicious. The service was good. The atmosphere was great. They had live music on the deck. The only issue was the lack of parking.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank traveler4ever2015
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 nearby hotels
Madeira Bay Resort
360 reviews
.06 miles away
Changing Tides Cottages
130 reviews
.07 miles away
Barefoot Beach Club
898 reviews
.08 miles away
Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343
90 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 88 nearby restaurants
House of Sweets
199 reviews
.19 miles away
Mad Beach Craft Brewing Company
494 reviews
.19 miles away
Lisa's Cafe of Madeira
922 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 79 nearby attractions
John's Pass Village & Boardwalk
3,160 reviews
.23 miles away
Alligator Attraction
341 reviews
.25 miles away
The Florida Winery
82 reviews
.19 miles away
Tampa Bay Boat Rentals
8 reviews
.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mrs7242016
November 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tammy C | Reviewed this property |
We ate here in Sept 2016... The food was great & service was pretty good.. A young lady waited on us NO issues!!!! I hope you all will give this place a try!!! We will be back when in Madeira Beach again!!! Love the view to... More
0
Votes
mrs7242016
November 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from sueincolo | Reviewed this property |
We liked this place very much and went there twice during our week's stay and was treated very well. Sounds like it was the customers who were the problem, not the waitress or service.
2
Votes
CT_Traveler83
November 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from wdrabbit | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they have an elevator from the parking lot to the bar/restaurant.
2
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing