We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
276 Commercial Blvd, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-4439 (Intracoastal Waterway)
+1 954-776-0111
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2016

I'm seeing reviews complaining about its authenticity and crowded tables, but why complain about such obvious and frankly unimportant things? You don't go to Benihana for a quiet or romantic meal of high quality Japanese food. Everyone knows you aren't going to get it. What you will get is perfectly adequate food, and lots of it, plus a venue tailor-made... More 

Helpful?
Thank WispyRobin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2016

When the chef finally arrived he constantly interrupted our conversation's with his opinions ( and some insults), got everyone's food wrong and even joked that he was cooking cat. Definitely will not be back

Helpful?
Thank Coral Springs G
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

We apologize for the poor experience. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2016

I am Not native to the area and hearing about how Benihana put Hibachi on the map, I was sure to try it out. I have been to plenty of Hibachi places and this one does not even cut it close to fantastic. First off, there really was not one Japanese person there! My waitress was Italian, My Chef was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travler7237
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience, and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
189 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

5/25/16 , Again BD dinner with my $30.00 coupon, from being on their friend thing. Well it's not what it use to be. They squeeze you in at table. If you have a drink Plus the person next to you have one there's not room. My sauces were stacked on top of each other , gross . They won't cook... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann H
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Had reservations for 8 pm was at the bar for 7.30 was seated a little after 8 pm at a crowded table for 8. Order our food and drinks at the same time. Our drinks came and then we were served our soup and that was the last anyone at the table saw a waiter. One hour later one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank William R
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience, and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. More 

Marco island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Waited at table 1 hour all we got was soup and a coke and still waiting will not come here again. That's ridiculous 6 of us sitting looking at each other

Helpful?
Thank Ovidstown
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

We apologize for the poor experience. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2016

I made a reservation for 6:00pm.We waited about 15 minutes and were seated.We went so our two year old grandaughter could watch the chef perform his magic.He finally came to the table at 7:00pm.The chef (Joel) was the most entertaining chef I have seen-and I have been to many many Benihanas many times.I would have given 5 stars if the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeyKennedy
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2016

for quite a while my wife has wanted to go back to Benihana's for dinner. As in the past, food was expertly prepared in front of you as you and 7 other people sat around a cook top interacting with your 'chef'. Spatula's flying, chop, chop...volcano's made out of onion rings...etc. all fun. The food was well prepared and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Visited with family yesterday. Unfortunately the menu was not clearly explained by the waitress leading to overcharging and the chef did not prepare the food ordered. The manager was brought over by the waitress when I explained the former. He was not interested in listening and shouted and lectured me. We left very upset. I shall contact the restaurant owners... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doctorsimon
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2016

We arrived for dinner at 7 pm with a reservation for 7 pm. We were finally seated at 7:35 after bugging the hostesses. Our drink order was taken along with our food order....but, it was after 8:40 when the chef appeared. Part of our order was two childrens dinners.......they were served without the vegetables that were part of the order.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dinahalot

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$30 - $30
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 276 Commercial Blvd, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-4439
    (Intracoastal Waterway)
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Broward County  >  Lauderdale by the Sea
  • Phone Number: +1 954-776-0111
Description
Prepare for a dining experience unlike any other. Watch as your personal chef performs the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Listen as razor-sharp blades slice through tender steak and juicy chicken. Take in the aroma of sizzling shrimp, lobster and savory vegetables. And don’t forget our delicious sushi appetizers, including fresh nigiri, sashimi and specialty rolls, all made with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Benihana and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?