We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

This property has identified as Veteran-owned and Women-owned.
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (4,433)
Filter reviews
4,143 results
Traveler rating
2,582
974
370
129
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
2,582
974
370
129
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish corn on the cob key lime pie yellow snapper shrimp and scallops cole slaw yellowtail meringue rice cakes salad stone crab matecumbe style great seafood seafood restaurant catch of the day fun atmosphere
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very busy spot and people queuing to get in. We were quite lucky as there were only two of us and managed to get a seat at the bar. Exactly the same menu as the restaurant but meant we didn't have to wait for our...name to be called. On the evening we were there people were waiting approximately 30 minutes for a table. Really delicious food and the barman was great company. Would definitely visit again.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We decided not to get a full meal as we ate a late lunch but this place was recommended to us. The lobster bisque was ok but not great. The coconut shrimp appetizer was over cooked, almost to the point of tasting burnt. The calamari...was bland and not crispy. Awful experience for paying $56! Would never go there again. To pricy for so so food.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A busy restaurant which is always a good sign and well worth the experience. It is casual as you might expect with fresh seafood the obvious menu features but add very friendly service and a terrific atmosphere and have a wonderful time. A small seafood...market is attached.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking for fish restaurants before and during my week in Key Largo and many signs pointed me here. I ended up going with the Matecumbe with Grouper as the fish, standard is Mahi Mahi. I was a bit disappointed when the bill came...as the Matecumbe went from $32 on the menu to $46. Believe me the Matecumbe is not a $50 dish, it isn't really a $32 dish. A heads up that its 50% more for Grouper would have been nice. Not sure if its a fish restaurant or a bait shop. Needless to say I didn't return during the week. I had the friend conch (not conch fritter) appetizer and it was very good. I'd recommend it. A bunch of other places make conch fritters that are basically hush puppies with a hint of conch. This is breaded and fried conch. Quite good. The black beans and rice were not bad, not great. Definitely no Feijoada.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The matacumbe style fish here is always great. It's not 5 star dining but the food is very good. The crab stuffed mushroom app was not so great though. With that one exception it was all good and we will go again.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My favorite restaurant from our week in the Keys. Small - tables are packed in and they were all full! Service was quick and friendly. I had the mahi mahi prepared Matecumbe style. SO GOOD!! My husband had the broiled snapper. He's hard to please...but he love it. Sister had the Black and Bleu snapper and also loved it. Dessert was the coconut key lime pie. OMG!!! THE BEST!!!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here on a whim after a snorkeling trip, really hungry. Its a quirky little place, seems to attract locals and tourists alike. Nothing fancy to look at but the food is outstanding - we had mahi mahi matecumbe style (pronounced mat-a-cum-bee) which is...a house speciality, and the lobster ruben sandwich - both right up there with the best food we ate on a two week trip. Try it - you won't be disappointed!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our way home from the Keys we decided to have one more lunch. This place is an institution and our waiter had been here for many years. The atmosphere is dark and tired, The menu expensive. We had conch and clam chowder. They were...both very good. The seafood platter was a mess. 3 scallops , small piece of Mahi , 2 fried oysters and tons of uneatable breaded clam strips . Plenty of parking available.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The retract is busy! We came a little early and still waited for 30 min. to be seated. The outside waiting is comfortable. Our waitress was Monica. She was extremely busy and she still delivered everything promptly and on time. We had the calamari for...our appetizer. I had the Drunk Shrimp plate, My husband had the lobster bisque soup then mahi and then we had the key lime pie. The place is BUSY and high energy. The food is good and is worth a stop.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Run, don’t walk to this wonderful restaurant. The best and freshest fish in town. Service is great, too. Everyone is so friendly. I had the Matecumbo, which is the house speciality. Mahi mahi was my choice. Seasoned and cooked to perfection. Don’t even get me...started on the key lime pie!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food. Had the black and blue Mahi. Superb. My wife had the chicken matecumbe which was also excellent. Very friendly and attentive staff. Food served quickly. Sometimes a wait to get in on weekends.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 9, 2024

My family and I are currently in Key Largo on vacation and just ate at Fish House. It was a VERY frustrating experience. To start, our waiter took a long time to even come to our table. We waited at least 20 minutes for him....Once he finally got to our table, a busboy spilled a tray of dirty ice water all over me, soaking my dress and purse. It got in my hair and on my shoes too. They offered to give me a free t-shirt, but as I was wearing a dress this was not helpful. (The water also got all over my mom’s legs and shoes but they did not acknowledge this.) After it happened, the staff was rude. They didn’t apologize. Our waiter laughed it off and made a remark when we switched tables to prevent it from happening again. The staff did not even tell our new waiter that it happened until right before we left. They gave us one free slice of key lime pie to make up for it. The food was good and we enjoyed our meals for the most part, with the exception of my mom’s broiled combo platter (it was overcooked and tasteless). I know accidents happen but it was totally unprofessional how the staff acted. Fish House is so busy that they don’t have time for customer service.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 2, 2024 via mobile

Every bite was amazing, the service was excellent, and we loved the eclectic decor. 100% awesome dining experience!!!

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 26, 2024 via mobile

I have been dining here since the place opened in the early 1980s. The Fish House is the best local seafood restaurant in the Keys. We enjoyed our usual classic meal- fresh stone crab claws, baked stuffed yellowtail, and key lime pie. The stone crabs...were sweet and firm and perfectly cracked. The baked stuffed yellowtail is filets of mild white reef fish stuffed with blue crab meat, soft breadcrumbs and celery. The key lime pie is perfectly piquant with a mile high topping. The servers are professional and helpful. The atmosphere is pure Keys pleasure- lots of great pictures, models of fish and a porthole that looks like you are out at sea. This was the best meal I have had in a long time. We will be back on our next visit to Key Largo.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 23, 2024

Food very good. Service generally fine but I endorse some of the negative ratings about rudeness of management. Menu said a gratuity MAY be added. No mention of amount or that this was a compulsory service charge. Bill came added 18% said was service charge....I pointed out what menu said, and said I prefer to add the tip / gratuity myself. I intended to leave a $15 tip being c 15% appropriate for the service. Waitress was going to remove it but a man (owner?) was then very unpleasant. While they did eventually remove the charge he did so with very bad grace - said I should not take up the servers' time !!! and not to come back if I wasnt prepared to pay a gratuity - which I had been he forefeited due to rudeness. AVOID if you dont want unpleasantness. I found plenty of other restaurants and other services in the area leave to customer discretion so earn and get a generous tip where warranted.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Big Fish, Owner at The Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2024

We are glad that you enjoyed the food. We offer a fun and energetic atmosphere which is widely enjoyed by our customers. While the tip was removed immediately, you said that it was your intention to leave nothing for the server. Clearly you were seeking...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton Inn Key Largo, FL
4,560 reviews
.31 miles away
Largo Resort
80 reviews
.63 miles away
Amoray Resort
1,753 reviews
1.96 miles away
Azul Del Mar
51 reviews
1.97 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hobo's Cafe
3,755 reviews
.68 miles away
Alfredo's Cookhouse
296 reviews
.12 miles away
Num Thai Restaurant and Sushi Bar
584 reviews
.79 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park
14,468 reviews
.33 miles away
Dolphins Plus Bayside
1,700 reviews
.52 miles away
Key Largo Undersea Park
51 reviews
.45 miles away
Sandal Factory Outlet
108 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dawayne S
November 15, 2021|
Answer
Response from georgehC6481UU | Reviewed this property |
No idea, but it was great!
0
Votes
FarAway02159389936
February 15, 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Grammy2014 | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is outdoor seating but as another person said, the seating is outside (street side) so could be a little noisy.
0
Votes
Frank B
October 22, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Big F | Property representative |
Hello. It's because we had 2 restaurants located next to each other and closed one after hurricane Irma. We have ran into difficulty getting the correct one deleted. If we had a good contact with TA, we'd have them take... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE FISH HOUSE, Key Largo - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Fish House

Yes, The Fish House offers takeout services.

Yes, The Fish House is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Fish House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4