We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Charm Kitchen

1714 SE Hawthorne Rd, Gainesville, FL 32641-7203
+1 352-505-5553
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“okra” (15 reviews)
“fried chicken” (32 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 am - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1714 SE Hawthorne Rd, Gainesville, FL 32641-7203
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reading the reviews after visiting the restaurant doesn't make me very special! The place was empty and cold when we went on a Saturday night. The server was nice and friendly. Ordered the chicken and waffle as the menu described it so well. Waited for...More

Thank PopetteMidi
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Several friends rave about this place. So, maybe I was there on an off night. I ordered three or four items, and even through the sugary drink was outstanding, the rest of the food was incredibly salty and greasy. Can't say I've gone back, but...More

Thank H3487AQmarya
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback, I am sorry your experience was less than excellent, we are conscious of the recent and current issues and is working hard to fix them. I hope you give us a second chance to make a first impression. sincerely Omar...More

Reviewed June 19, 2017 via mobile

I got the chicken and waffles which the chicken was burnt, and there was oil all on my plate and made half of my waffle soggy. My husband got a burger which was burnt and clearly a frozen patty. My friend got lemon pepper tofu...More

Thank Michele H
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Michele for the feedback, I am sorry your experience was less than excellent, we are conscious of the recent and current issues and is working hard to fix them. I hope you give us a second chance to make a first impression. sincerely...More

Reviewed May 24, 2017

I arrived around 5PM and there was one couple leaving. Otherwise I was the only one there during my whole menu. I ordered fried chicken with sides of cheese macaroni and black eye peas. The chicken was served with a white sauce that was very...More

Thank j b
Reviewed April 22, 2017

There was a time when I brought all of my visiting friends from out of town to this restaurant. We all enjoyed the marvelous food. But after tonight's truly awful meal I can say that this will be my last visit. The tables were dirty...More

Thank Gatormusician
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback Gatormusician, I am sorry your experience was less than excellent, we have dropped the ball, i could give you a list of excuese but, I take full responsibility, I am conscious of the recent and current issues and is working...More

Reviewed April 17, 2017

Worms in catfish. Floor makes you slip. 2 hour wait. Unreasonably high prices. They can't stay in business under these conditions.

Thank Jarrett B
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

works in cat fish, I think you have the wrong restaurant! although I am familiar with that situation, I will not put another business owner on blast, please make sure you investigate before you make such damaging allegations.

Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Good but not great food and long wait for seating and food. Not bad but not impressed. Probably won't be back.More

Thank Chad2014
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback Chad, I am sorry your experience was less than excellent, we are conscious of the recent and current issues and is working hard to fix them. I hope you give us a second chance to make a first impression. (...More

Reviewed January 20, 2017

I was here a couple of years ago and though there were copious amounts of food, it was a little disappointing. The second visit was much the same. We ordered shrimp and grits which were seasoned well and very tasty but the grits were lumpy...More

1  Thank FNIGUY
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback fniguy, I am sorry your experience was less than excellent, we are conscious of the recent and current issues and is working hard to fix them. I hope you give us a second chance to make a first impression. sincerely...More

Reviewed January 8, 2017

After being seated in the restaurant for an hour and a half we still had not received our entrees. We did receive our beverages (with no ice because the ice machine was broken) and a so-so appetizer. We asked 4 times for lemon to go...More

Thank Luv2go_Lynne
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback,I am disappointed that you were disappointed, we are conscious of the recent and current issues and is working hard to fix them. I hope you give us a second chance to make a first impression. sincerely Omar Oselimo

Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

Wow! This place superseded my expectations for contemporary southern cooking. I had the meatloaf, corn bread and cheese grits. One would think that it would be difficult to improve upon cornbread, but it was deliciously covered with a sweet sauce, providing a perfect complement to...More

Thank Jenn A
arpita o, Owner at Southern Charm Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am glad you enjoyed your experience, we are working on adding a lot more amazing items to the menu, look out for some great changes late 2017 - early 2018

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dragonfly Sushi & Sake Co Incorporated
429 reviews
1.28 miles away
The Hyppo Gourmet Ice Pops
57 reviews
1.26 miles away
Mark's Prime Steakhouse
184 reviews
1.25 miles away
East End Eatery
53 reviews
.80 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Thomas Center
51 reviews
1.26 miles away
Depot Park
22 reviews
1.26 miles away
Visit Gainesville
13 reviews
1.30 miles away
Living History Farm at Morningside Nature Center
15 reviews
1.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
corky1948
November 25, 2016|
Answer
Response from Dan H | Reviewed this property |
I received your question by accident. I'm a patron, not sure about holiday hours.
0
Votes
Anon8815
June 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lottie S | Reviewed this property |
Haha, portions are big enough you could eat in and take half to go...
0
Votes
Beth C
October 4, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lamar L | Reviewed this property |
Yes and it is very good!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1714 SE Hawthorne Rd, Gainesville, FL 32641-7203
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Gainesville
  • Phone Number: +1 352-505-5553
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing