We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Gulf is a uniquely designed restaurant serving locally inspired food and beverages in a relaxing and beautiful waterfront setting. Enjoy a delicious fried grouper sandwich, a cocktail and a view of the Gulf of Mexico!
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Live Music
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
95
60
25
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
95
60
25
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grouper sandwich fries peel and eat shrimp sandwiches fresh seafood tacos crab ping pong shipping containers great atmosphere outdoor couches orange beach unique concept order food limited menu okaloosa island bite to eat
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 29, 2020

We went here and loved the atmosphere. The bar drinks were good. Disappointed that you had to buy bottle water and no tap water. We had to stand in a long line to get our food. The tuna dip was amazing. The boiled shrimp were...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the honest feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our atmosphere and drinks. The bartenders always do an amazing job! The tuna dip is a fantastic choice, and a local favorite!...More

Reviewed June 29, 2020 via mobile

We lucked into finding this place because we usually drive on into Destin for lunch. Not any more! This is our new place to start our vacation! The drinks are average, The food is awesome! And, The Atmosphere Perfect!!! I can promise you we will...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 stars! We are so glad you had an amazing time with us, enjoying our atmosphere and delicious food! It overjoys us to hear that you will begin all of your future vacations with us! Thank you again, and...More

Reviewed June 16, 2020

I'm a local, haven't been back in a long time. Just had enough of the less than mediocre service. I decided to come back today with family in town for lunch after a morning on the beach. My wife and niece ordered 2 grouper salads....More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Tom. We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory experience with us. This does not sound like a normal visit to our restaurant. We strive to serve nothing but the...More

Reviewed June 13, 2020 via mobile

The Gulf Okaloosa has a great atmosphere and fabulous food. The black and bleu burger is a must try!

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2020

Thank you so much for the 5 stars, Andrea! We have the best view on the island! The black and blue burger is an excellent choice and a crowd favorite! Please stop by again soon to try one of our new specials!

Reviewed June 2, 2020 via mobile

I really enjoy this restaurant. It is a unique concept that first opened in Orange Beach, Al & migrated to another location on Okaloosa Island. The restaurant, highly stylized & compromised of shipping containers, is situated on beautiful Choctahatchee Bay. It has a very relaxing,...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Kerry! We appreciate you taking the time to go into detail about your experience with us. We are so glad you loved our relaxing, hip vibe set up! It is important to us to offer such a...More

Reviewed May 7, 2020 via mobile

Lobster roll = mayo soup with lobster in it. The bun was good. Also the staff was nice and the views is always good. Nobody around here does lobster rolls so I was excited but I left feeling disappointed with my hopes and dreams of...More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Anna. We appreciate the honest feedback. We have the best staff and view on the island! We are so sorry that your expectations were not met with the lobster roll. Did you let a staff...More

Reviewed March 16, 2020

Seeing that the lobster and shrimp roll was $18 I was expecting it to come on a hoagie bun. To my surprise, it came on a piece of bread folded in half. Basically the size of a hotdog bun. Also, $4 up charge for fries...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2020

Hi Taylor, I thought our manager reached out and took care of you. If there is anything else we can do, please let us know; we would be more than happy to help. We strive to serve the best customer service, and we look forward...More

Reviewed February 23, 2020 via mobile

We grabbed a bite to eat here based off of other positive reviews. The menu is somewhat limited but the chicken and grouper sandwiches were both good. Unfortunately the inside seating was closed due to an event so we had to eat outside and it...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Thank you for the 4 stars! Our menu is limited because it changes monthly. We are pleased to hear that you liked your chicken and grouper sandwiches; they are a crowd favorite! We do offer a happy hour 7 days a week, from 3pm to...More

Reviewed February 4, 2020

We live here so this is one of our favorite hangouts. We can take our dogs and food is usually good. We have had a few poor experiences. Chicken tenders we so salty a 4 year old refused to eat. We tasted and sent back....More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Thank you for the 4 stars and for being one of our regulars! We love seeing familiar faces around here. We are so sorry that you had a few poor experiences; we strive to serve the best food with excellent service. We look forward to...More

Reviewed January 31, 2020

Tried this restaurant multiple times, always disappointed. The staff is wonderful, but the food is alacarte, very expensive, and a plastic cup of cheap wine was $9! The venue on the Sound is beautiful, just wish they would change the food, remove alacarte, and cut...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
HangoutHospitality, Owner at The Gulf Okaloosa Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2020

Buddy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our staff is amazing, and you can't beat the view! All of our food is locally sourced and fresh which is often reflected in our pricing. Our menu offers a happy hour 7 days...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
372 reviews
.23 miles away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
926 reviews
.37 miles away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
806 reviews
.40 miles away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
610 reviews
.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Burrito Del Sol
338 reviews
.52 miles away
Bay Cafe
354 reviews
.24 miles away
Stewby's Seafood Shanty
131 reviews
.42 miles away
Asiago's Skillet
553 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wild Willy's Adventure Zone
342 reviews
.39 miles away
Okaloosa Island Pier
878 reviews
.13 miles away
Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park
1,454 reviews
.46 miles away
Ross Marler Park
17 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
APRILH565
March 26, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Regina G | Reviewed this property |
There is indoor seating in the upstairs space. Sometimes it is rented out for events, but most days it is open.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing