We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 9/30
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$20 - $80
CUISINES
Seafood, Fusion, American, International, Dining bars
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Downtown Fort Lauderdale
1.7 miles from Fort Lauderdale Beach
Improve this listing
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 09/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Sponsored by: Rivertail

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Trendy Upscale Atmosphere
1. Trendy Upscale Atmosphere
"modern upscale decor"
387indy
See reviews that mention Trendy Upscale Atmosphere
2. Grilled Octopus
2. Grilled Octopus
"octopus was tender inside yet perfectly crispy on the inside. "
JackieRichie
See reviews that mention Grilled Octopus
3. Bay Scallops Escargot
3. Bay Scallops Escargot
"the bay scallops escargot (AMAZING)"
rickydelgadojunior
See reviews that mention Bay Scallops Escargot
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
39
9
10
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
39
9
10
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cornbread octopus cobia seafood chowder fries crab donuts james beard chef jose crusted trout puff pastry on top happy hour amazing lunch amazing food and service taste buds great ambience
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ray was the best waiter in the las olas area!! And the cornbread and chicken sandwich was out of this world, definitely will be coming back again!

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed May 12, 2021 via mobile

We went here for Mother’s Day and had a good experience overall. It took the waiter a while to appear and then we asked who our waiter was and they got him for us. After that every thing was great. We stuck to appetizers and...enjoyed everything. The conch fritters were amazing! Definitely our favorite appetizer of all. The corn bread wasn’t a traditional one but very good seeing as how I don’t usually even eat corn bread. Also, the accompanying butter was very good. We also ordered the chowder which had a huge puff pastry on top. The restaurant has a super cute and chill vibe and atmosphere. Good for birthday dinners or just a night out dinner. I definitely want to return for the dinner menu!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review, Briana! We loved reading about your experience with us along with which dishes you enjoyed the most. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're in Ft Lauderdale this spot is a must try! Went to Rivertail with friends, it was a GREAT time! Food, music, and service were top! Ray was amazing super nice and attentive, always giving us great recommendations. Tried the corn bread, crab doughnuts...(THESE ARE A MUST), mahi mahi, and shrimp and grits. Simply AMAZING! Drinks were great, as well my fav was pineapple martini!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2022

The servers are wonderful, but the food is terrible. We stopped here for a quick bite to eat. It felt like an upscale fast food joint. The mashed potatoes were awful. The smoked tuna dip was horrific- soooooo salty! I do not recommend this place!...They better call upon Chef Ramsay to help or it will not make it!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 24, 2022 via mobile

Food was not great. Specialty cocktails even worse and it's expensive. Think chain restaurant quality with fine dining pricesMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2022

Thank you for your honest feedback. We take great pride in the quality and flavor of all our dishes and drinks and are sorry to hear that we fell short during your recent dine. Please feel free to reach out to us at rivertail@rockawaymore.com to...More

Reviewed April 14, 2022 via mobile

well where do we start. ordered octopus aopetizer. really small for $22. almost overdone. ordered mahi. was like what you get from Costco. underwhelming at best. no veggies or potatoes or bread. everything is a la carte. baked potato only gets drawn butter period no...options. service was great. location was great. James Beard chef wow. expected a lot more than we got for the cost.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We apologize we were unable to create a five-star experience. We have shared your feedback with the management team and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Reviewed April 10, 2022 via mobile

We had a great dinner at Rivertail. We both had the snapper and shared asparagus and mashed potatoes. The fish and sides were very tasty. We shared the key lime pie for dessert and it was excellent. The service was excellent.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2022

Wow, thank you for the kind words about our dishes, Jane. We're so happy you enjoyed dining with us :). We really hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed April 2, 2022

To begin with almost impossible to contact them as they don't open until 4 pm and then good luck trying to get someone on the phone. Upon arrival they have no idea how to great a guest. The tables and chairs are ridiculous, and the...chairs are very uncomfortable. appetizers are too expensive for what little you get. Peel and eat shrimp, $18.00 for 5 miserable shrimp. $15.00 for smoked fish dip which was very bland and had zero fish taste. The garlic Parmesan crusted Trout was so over done with cheese and broiled to death you couldn't enjoy the tout. Clams carbonara with hardly any claims and over cooked pasta. A Branzino Grenobloise that was so small you would have thought it was a filet instead of a whole fish. Manhattan cocktails that were terrible and instead of getting Band B for an after-dinner drink we got some concoction made from Guniess.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

We are very sorry to read we did not meet your expectations during your recent dine. We take reviews very seriously, and we would like to ensure that your experience is better next time. Feel free to email us at rivertail@rockawaymore.com so we can continue...More

Reviewed March 28, 2022

💵📈Price point rip-off💵📈 Help me understand $42.00 for twelve of the smallest oysters ever..."MP"? 💵📈No way...not for those oysters🦪And no attempt by the server to make any sort of adjustment because of the this POOR value💵📉The ambience doesn't justify the price point...a VERY disappointing first...visit...🤦🏻‍♂️More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your honest feedback. We are proud to say we use high quality ingredients in all of our dishes. We offer an amazing selection of items on our happy hour menu, including 99 cent oysters. Our...More

Reviewed March 17, 2022

We stumbled upon this restaurant on our river walk stroll. We sat at the bar to avoid any wait. The bartenders Doug and Jay were so welcoming and provided excellent service, cocktails and friendly conversation. They made great food recommendations - the fish chowder was...to die for, the new york strip was mouthwatering, and the fish sandwich was the best I have had. The cocktails were all delicious including the Espresso Martini shots. We would go back to eat there any time for the food, but the service by Doug and Jay made our night memorable!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2022

Wow, thank you so much for your kind words, Melanie!. We love reading about what dishes our guests enjoy the most! We'll make sure to share your sentiments with Doug and Jay :). We can't wait to host you again soon!

Reviewed March 1, 2022 via mobile

Ray was an excellent waiter. He was very knowledgeable and gave us each individual recommendations. We tried many of the appetizers and highly recommend the dates. We had all of the deserts and would come back for the chocolate cake. There isn’t a bad table...in the restaurant for environment- inside or out!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2022

Wow, thank you so much for your kind words! We love reading about what dishes our guests enjoy the most :). We can't wait to host you again soon!

Reviewed February 16, 2022

OK, let me start by saying that I have been here once before. My husband and I came with our youngest for brunch and it was absolutely amazing!!! We enjoyed it so much that two weeks before my husbands birthday I called to make a...reservation for a Tuesday night dinner. I would have used open table but for whatever reason it was not working. I spoke to a women who took my reservation over the phone. I had requested a table outside for 6 and stated we would have a large stroller with us as we had an infant coming. (hence wanting to sit outside) As this was two weeks away I was told no problem and we were all set. The day of dinner, 15 minutes before our reservation I received a text that our table was ready and waiting for us. I thought great! wow they on top of things. Once there, the hostess informed me that we were sitting inside and not outside. I stated I made this reservation 2 weeks ago specifically to sit outside, she flipped her tablet to me with attitude and stated you didn't request to sit outside. I looked at her and said I most certainly did request it and I didn't book online I spoke to an individual on the phone. She proceeded to tell me well we only have tables inside. Fine.... we get to the booth and to not block the way for the wait staff we had to wedge the baby carrier awkwardly in the booth, it barely fit and made the sitting and family dinner uncomfortable. Fine, we are here for the food so whatever. We ordered our food. My youngest had fried chicken and was decent. The fries and mac and cheese were good. However, everything else was quite awful. The hot lobster roll sauce was s gross. I took one bite and send it back. My other daughter had trout which had so much garlic you couldn't even taste the fish just garlic. She literally took one bite that's it. My husband had the whole snapper and again the fish was ok but the sauce was awful. So basically we spent over $200 on this fabulously horrible Birthday dinner. Margaritas were very sweet even though we asked for the drinks to be made not as sweet. The waitress saw we didn't eat most of our food and did ask me if I wanted to kitchen to make me a different dish which I did saw no at that point after tasting everyone's dishes. No one took left overs home and I was surprised the wait staff didn't try to make the experience better. I wasn't expecting free meals but I would have thought they would have comped an appetizer or a drink or at least one meal as they could see we were not happy. It was such a disappointment. We had such a great breakfast but dinner was just a disaster.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2022

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback, we really appreciate it. We are truly saddened that your experience was not as great as it was the last time you visited us. We would like to speak to...More

Reviewed December 14, 2021 via mobile

Great location on the river. The food was fantastic. Drinks are small. But good. Service is fast and efficient . I had the shrimp and grits, very yummy. My better half had the N 6. A cod fish sandwich very large wonderful shoe string fries...great meal. Young vibe, good musicMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2021

Hi Toby! Thank you for taking the time to share this review! Our shrimp and grits is definitely a crowd pleaser, we're so happy you enjoyed them :). I will share your sentiments with the rest of the team!

Reviewed November 7, 2021 via mobile

This week we went to Fort Lauderdale at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts to see the Broadway Musical COME FROM AWAY which was really great, before the show we were looking for a bite to eat, something quick and close by so we...opted for RIVERTAIL restaurant, the menu is curated by chef Jose Mendin, we have been to a few of the restaurants where he curates the menu and it has always been great, therefore we decide to try it. The restaurant is very close to the Theatre, it is 5 minutes’ walk on the Riverwalk, it is a beautiful stroll and location, because of the time we got there we decided to try Happy Hour. When we look for Happy Hour we don’t just want drinks, we really care about the food too so when we looked at the menu it only had oysters (GREAT) and 4 things on it, we were a bit disappointed but, we were totally wrong, we had the SEAFOOD CHEVICHE and the BROILED OYSTER CONCHA and these were soooooooooooo good ! We also had a dozen Oysters, $ 0.99 each, these were also great and we also ordered a couple of other things from the regular menu, the CORNBREAD (cotija cheese, sesame and honey butter) this was so delicious that we ordered it twice ;-) and then the CRAB DONUTS also very good, all with the wine from the HH which was $ 5 a glass. This was absolutely great and I think I would love to go back for lunch or dinner and try some of the other dishes they have on the regular menu, if what we had is a small taste of what these are like, I am sure it will be great ! Definitely a place to keep on the list of favorites and to go back again @rivertailftl @chefmendin For more of my favorite restaurants, places and more, like my Facebook page Naddia’s Favorites or follow me on Instagram @naddias_favoritesMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2021

Hi Nadia! Thank you for taking the time to share this amazing review! We're so happy you got to try so many of our Happy Hour dishes :). We can't wait for you to join us for lunch and/or for dinner. See you soon!

Reviewed November 3, 2021

Doug was absolutely amazing, so so sweet. The food and drinks are amazing will definitely be coming back !

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alexis K, Agency / Consultant at Rivertail, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2021

Thank you Chris! You made our day :). Thanks for the shout out to Doug, we couldn't agree more, he is amazing ;).

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hyatt Centric Las Olas Fort Lauderdale
500 reviews
.12 miles away
Royal Beach Palace
1,444 reviews
.28 miles away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale/Downtown Las Olas Area
1,935 reviews
.45 miles away
Riverside Hotel
2,324 reviews
.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pirate Republic Seafood Restaurant
537 reviews
.14 miles away
The Historic Downtowner
274 reviews
.08 miles away
Taco Craft Taqueria
191 reviews
.19 miles away
Eddie V's Prime Seafood
31 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
History Fort Lauderdale
255 reviews
.14 miles away
Boatsetter
75 reviews
.12 miles away
New River
317 reviews
.06 miles away
NSU Art Museum Fort Lauderdale
386 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rivertail staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RIVERTAIL, Fort Lauderdale - Downtown Fort Lauderdale - Menu, Prices, Restaurant Reviews & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rivertail

Yes, Rivertail is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Rivertail is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5