We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
31 N 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4101
+1 904-261-4749
Website
Today
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 780: English reviews
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The food and staff is great. There is a homemade appetizer they bring out - AWESOME is all I can say. Will eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank jewels229
Fort McCoy, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Fresh caught seafood! I always get the crab trio. One cluster each of snow, king and dungeness crab. Simply amazing. Wonderful staff and vast menu. Located in a historical two story building with a rich history. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
Thank Baron2772
Haverhill, Ma.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stopped here on our first night on the island. IT was fantastic. My husband had the crab legs and I had the Coconut Shrimp. We both loved our meals. The crab and shrimp are so fresh and delicious. A must to visit.

Helpful?
Thank LindaRoc
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you guy's so much for sharing your review. More 

Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Fun place. We had really good seafood there. Very popular. But the wait was not bad. Go early and you won't have a problem.

Helpful?
Thank Babs_Bon
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you Babs_Bon for sharing your dinning experience . More 

Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the only restaurant we ate at that had a wait. It was for less than 30 minutes, so we did not mind at all. (We are quite used to waiting to eat while on vacation.) The atmosphere was kind of like that of most restaurants in New Orleans...very open and informal. It was very busy, but the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClaireMc99
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Vacation wouldn't be a vacation without crab legs. Glad you came to the crab trap for them and making us apart of your trip. More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff is always friendly and attentive, food is always delicious. You can't beat their fried shrimp! Whenever we are in Fernandina, this is where we eat.

Helpful?
Thank Lori D
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for being such a loyal and wonderful customer to the crab trap family. Best fried Shrimp around and is are Saturday special for $10.00 until 6pm. More 

Mableton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best fish dip ever! Great food too! Wait staff is good. You can't go wrong ordering anything on the menu! We always go here when we come down!

Helpful?
Thank 518ATLCouple
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for being loyal customer's to the us and for the review. The smoked fish dip is a great appetizer. More 

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had their seafood combination platter and it was well worth the search to find this place. The food was cooked well, seasoned correctly, and more than enough to satisfy. There maybe better but I would not hesitate to eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip541
Crab T, General Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Where glad you found us. Thank you for feedback. More 

Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As the title suggests it is expensive but good food. I didn't find it had the WOW factor but worth your time if you like fresh seafood. The staff was very Friendly and quick with drinks and orders. I don't personally like crab legs but they do offer shrimp or a "catch of the day" fish.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
Crab T, General Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback as you know seafood can be some what expensive do to market prices. We try to keep them average with market. Thank you for your review. More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I were craving seafood so we opted for an early dinner here. Service was good, the crab legs were good, BUT the crab soup was HORRIBLE. Don't waste your money, it was oily and hardly any crab in it for it to called crab soup. The stuff flounder was high recommended but it was just okay. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eat_laugh
Crab T, Manager at The Crab Trap, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I will talk with the chef about your soup for improvement. More 

Travelers who viewed The Crab Trap also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to The Crab Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $45
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 N 2nd St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4101
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Amelia Island  >  Fernandina Beach
  • Phone Number: +1 904-261-4749
Description
Family-owned and operated since 1979! Please visit our website to see our full menu and more information!Casual dining in an eclectic, nautical atmosphere with friendly staff and a variety of tasty choices.Lunch AND Dinner served 7 days a week starting at 11:00am and 5:00pm. Serving fresh local seafood: blackened, broiled, grilled or fried; also chicken, steaks, and raw oysters year-round. A Kid's Menu with plenty of choices. And NOW featuring a "Smaller Catch" Menu for those looking for a lighter meal!Beer, wine, cocktails at TWO Full Bars...be sure to visit the upstairs Sunset Bar with views of the Fernandina Beach Marina while you're here!Reservations not required, but call-aheads for parties of 10 or more are greatly appreciated.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crab Trap and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Yulee, Florida
4 months ago
St. Marys, Georgia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Crab Trap staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?