We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $31
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
173
90
46
39
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
173
90
46
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken club roast chicken burger pies the pub skittle alley sunday lunch car park varied menu booked a table long wait cricket skittles fullers pubs ales gravy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 18, 2020

Just returned from meeting friends for Sunday Lunch, a special thank you to Lauren for being so helpful and all the Waitresses that served us. Three of us had Roast Chicken, and one had beef. We all said that it was the best Sunday roast...that we had had for a very long time. Chicken and gravy were delicious, with an excellent selection of vegetables. Excellent social distancing measures in place, we will definitely return very soon. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Hi Nicky, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us! I am especially glad that you enjoyed our Sunday roasts ( we love the gravy as well- perfect for...More

Reviewed October 9, 2020 via mobile

On my first venture to eat out since March, on 19 September I went here with my husband and two friends. The food, service and Covid precautions were all first class. However as a Coeliac I explained to the very charming server that I needed...my meal to be free of gluten and careful attention to cross contamination. I was assured this was no problem. Within 30 minutes of leaving I realised I had been given something containing gluten. I had 24 hours of upset stomach followed by 24 hours of severe back and stomach pain followed by almost two weeks of extreme fatigue and brain fog. This will be familiar typical side effects to an attack on the auto immune system of a Coeliac. I private messaged the Frog and Wicket within a couple of hours to ask them to investigate. No response. I then messaged again when I began to feel better. Still no response. As of today, 9 October I have had no response. In my opinion it would not be wise to eat here if you have Coeliac disease.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2020

Dear Susan, Thank you for taking time to write a review for us. Please let me offer my sincere apologies for your experience and take this opportunity to assure you the issue will be investigated further. I am sorry you have not had a response...More

Reviewed September 1, 2020

I visited the Frog and Wicket for the first time in years, the service was friendly and warm. I ordered a chip butty which was delicious and due to COVID ate inside. A really enjoyable visit and I would recommend the pub and will eat...there again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Hi Graham, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! I am so glad you enjoyed your chip butty (a brilliant order, if I do say so myself!) Hopefully see you again soon, I know the cricket season has...More

Reviewed August 15, 2020 via mobile

Laura and Lilly were fantastic their customer was second to none - I had a flat tyre and they sorted us three Bristolians out! Thanks for great beer and fun

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Hi Stephen, Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully see you again soon! Kind regards, Laura

Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

What a wonderful afternoon! I came in for a spot of lunch and a few delightful pints of frontier, and to my surprise i was greeting with the most fantastic chicken burger I have ever laid eyes on! Everyone needs to try it.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Hi SirBenStokes, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the chicken burger (it has become my new favourite as well) Hope to see you again soon for another! Kind regards, Laura

Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

Great roast dinners and very friendly waiting staff. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice meal! They have lots of outdoor space too, so you can eat in a front or back garden.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Hi Olivia M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon to take advantage of the nice weather while it lasts! Kind...More

Reviewed August 9, 2020

Arrived at nine thirty. Expecting to be able to stay till eleven after seeing this fact advertised on the web site. Unfortunately they called last orders just after ten. Very disappointing management from a prestigious company like Fullers

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Dear Andrew H, I apologise for the inconvenience caused by our early closing and I am sorry that is has had a negative affect on your experience of our pub. Regards, Laura Asher-Jones General Manager

Reviewed August 9, 2020

I have been trying to use this place for the last few weeks now but it’s not going to work. This is a shame because it’s a decent place, good setting and staff are polite it is just not run correctly. I don’t know if...it’s a temporary stand in manager or not but by the way it’s run it would appear so. There have been a number of times I have turned up on week nights at 9.30 and the doors are locked. The website states that the pub shuts at 11pm. Saturday which is yesterday I was there and we were told it was last orders at 10.20pm. This was a shock as it was a warm evening and there was still plenty of people drinking. There were 3 full tables of people all trying to enjoy a Saturday evening. I’m pretty sure that any other pub in the country would see that amount of customers worth staying open for. This is what makes me assume this is a temporary manager. They obviously close at the 1st chance possible which says to me the don’t take much pride in their job. I would happily return if the place were to be run properly but until then I won’t. You can’t make your way out somewhere in the hope it’s open or if it is when you get there it could shut anytime. If you advertise hours stick to them. Terrible management a disgrace to the fullers name!!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Dear Gorgejimmy, I am very sorry for the experience you had with us last Saturday and our teams choice to close early has caused you an inconvenience. I can guarantee that we do not make a habit of closing early and have never closed at...More

Reviewed July 24, 2020

Had a very enjoyable lunch in their courtyard here with my daughter today. Great service, great food and very efficient and well managed Covid social distancing in place that does not involve paying with a pub chain app as you can pay normally. My family...and I have come here on many occasions for both drinks after a dog walk, Sunday lunch or special occasion dinner and have never been disappointed so don't judge based on the particularly bad reviews I have just read on 1st March; they must have been a one off and unavoidable catering issues maybe. Would always recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Hi Gwendoline C, Thank you so much for your lovely review- it means so much to me and the team here. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon! Many thanks, Laura

Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

After contemplating earlier in the week where to book, was extremely disappointed to get to the pub to find out there was nothing on the menu. The kids menu was only two options and the pub had run out of pies. The pubs fryers are...not working, so in an English pub that reduces the menu overnight. Although I have sympathy about this, what was disappointing is that the pub didnt think to ring its customers that had booked to tell them. We phoned the chequers next door and had a lovely meal.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
kimb349, General Manager at The Frog & Wicket, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear PCLNadventures, I am very sorry for the poor experience you had last week. I can only apologise and assure you that if a similar situation was to arise in the future we would handle things differently so as not to disappoint our customers. My...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Kingsley at Eversley
199 reviews
.63 miles away
Warbrook House Hotel & Grange
531 reviews
1.41 miles away
The Casa Hotel
757 reviews
1.80 miles away
Dial House Hotel
238 reviews
2.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Chequers
897 reviews
.10 miles away
Golden Pot
441 reviews
.51 miles away
The Kingsley Business and Fine Dining Club
12 reviews
.64 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Jets Travel
5 reviews
.80 miles away
Leisure Matters
80 reviews
1.21 miles away
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
197 reviews
1.84 miles away
California Country Park
223 reviews
2.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
gabrielled436
March 30, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from girlfromsurrey2018 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, not sure sorry. The staff are very friendly and approachable so I’m sure they will be able to help
0
Votes
Nicholadorset
January 29, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from meljbunce | Reviewed this property |
The car park is long and thin with no turning space at the end. It really depends on how other people have parked. There is a separate dietary menu, I suggest to give Laura call, I found her extremely helpful.
0
Votes
Jo R
September 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Jaxyjax | Reviewed this property |
Hi From what I can remember they can advise on which dishes can be served for certain conditions..I remember there being an allergens list available. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing