We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 10/24
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Mexican, Southwestern
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Clearwater Beach
0.2 miles from Clearwater Beach
Improve this listing
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
249
80
36
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
249
80
36
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fajitas guacamole rice and beans chicken taco salad steak seafood mexican food clearwater beach sour cream spring break great server fantastic food great dinner our waiter outdoor seating
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Tex Mex in Clearwater was a surprise. Located street side under a Hilton Hotel. Seated on an outside patio afforded a chance to people watch. Margaritas were good ( I ordered a second ). Chips were not fresh and hot and I was not a...fan of the salsa which needed more heat and less of a pizza sauce taste. The shrimp fajitas were tasty but lacked an adequate amount of shrimp. It was interesting that cilantro seemed absent in both dishes we ordered. Overall, I would give this place another try.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
PinkAMktg, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We will be sure to pass along to our team for review. We apologize for anything that fell short and look forward to improving your experience on your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Coming from California, we are accustomed to authentic Mexican food. That being said, we did not have high expectations but we were disappointed in the food. The guacamole resembled nothing close to an avacado, beans were bland, salsa was ok once we added a ton...of salt. Drinks were underwhelming. Service was good and location is fun because you can eat outside and watch the people. If you are used to Mexican food that Mexicans eat, skip this place.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
PinkAMktg, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal. We will certainly forward your input to our team for review. Thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful service from the bartender Sam! She is so sweet and knows what she’s doing! Definitely will be coming back!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
PinkAMktg, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We can't thank you enough for your 5 star review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food and great service We had chicken fajitas, steak carne Asada and Mahi tacos and all were amazing!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
PinkAMktg, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Great to hear! Thank you for the feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Amazing tacos and the homemade salsa is so good. Also the outside seating right on the main strip was nice for people watching. Ordered a beer and was surprised that it was actually a 22oz vs a pint, which is a great deal. The only...down side was the kids Mac and cheese was kraft.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2020

Wonderful to hear Tiffany! Thank you so much for the generous rating and excellent review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed July 31, 2020

We live on Clearwater Beach and have been eating at the Spotted Donkey for the last 4 years on the average of once or twice a month, Today we went and were so disappointed, our server was very good but the quality/portions of the food...and the pre sensation was below standard. Also, the fact that you were served on paper plates and cheap plastic utensils and napkins well below fast food grade, I understand the Covid 19 think but this was beyond. Needless to say we will not be back and will not recommend to friends or clientsMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2020

Our sincere apologies Trudy. We appreciate your past loyalty and can only hope you might give us the opportunity, at another time, and we are able to earn your additional two stars. It is certainly a trying time for all of us. We will be...More

Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

Exceeded our expectations, it really did. Shocked to find great Mexican food in Clearwater. Wife had Fajitas which were very tasty and I had Burito with French Fries (potatoes) which was tasty. Good service, nice front patio and decent drinks. Two thumbs up.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2020

Thank you for your very kind review! A pleasure having you and your wife dine with us. Thrilled you both had a 5 star experience and appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed July 3, 2020

First off our beautiful waitress Dawne was super sweet, very accommodating and attentive. So thank you Dawne! moving on to things she has no control of LOL..... prices were too high for type of food IMO. Tacos and enchiladas should not cost $15 a plate....In fairness, the portions were enormous so I guess that is where the $15 a plate comes from. However remember we are staying in resorts and these hotels have no microwaves for reheating. There were 4 of us and we could have all shared 2 dinners instead of 4 dinners. i think what you are getting is quantity and location here -- its literally on the same block as the beachfront hilton. we had so much leftovers, we took it back to our rooms. by midnight it was all gone! Let me just say that the red enchildada was pretty tasty at 12am with a beer!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2020

Lol... We've heard those midnight leftovers are pretty amazing. Kim thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your detailed review. A pleasure having you and your friends with us to dine. We will be sure to...More

Reviewed June 25, 2020

We visited with friends which included several kids. We agreed on the place based on the reviews. The chips and salsa were average. The pitchers of Margaritas were good, but weak, and expensive considering their size. We had a variety of entrees including carnitas, fajitas...and enchiladas. The fajitas were the only thing not buried in cheese and sour cream. The carnitas were no more than roasted pork. Service was slow, and not particularly friendly. Overall, we did not feel it was a good value. We lived in Texas for more than 5 years and have spent a lot of time in the southwest. This is just another restaurant trying to serve Tex-Mex food with an average, inauthentic, result.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visit. Our sincere apologies for your disappointment. We will be sure to forward your input to our team for review. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Reviewed June 11, 2020

We really enjoyed the food. The tables were out on the sidewalk and was really enjoyable to people watch. I had the chimichanga and highly recommend the food

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
annf903, Marketing at Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2020

Thank you Cathie!! Wonderful to hear. Hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Seaside Artisan Motel
22 reviews
3.51 miles away
Chart House Suites On Clearwater Bay
416 reviews
.91 miles away
Amberlee Motel
37 reviews
3.50 miles away
Coconut Cove All-Suite Hotel
559 reviews
.85 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Salty Crab Bar & Grill North Beach
380 reviews
.12 miles away
Crabby's Dockside
1,475 reviews
.15 miles away
Pearly's Beach Eats
714 reviews
.08 miles away
Beach Shanty Cafe
1,016 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Beach Walk
1,320 reviews
.15 miles away
Pier 60
4,630 reviews
.11 miles away
Clearwater Beach Visitor Information Center
166 reviews
.15 miles away
Dolphin Encounter
40 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leisa H
August 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Julia33617 | Reviewed this property |
11am to 10pm Sunday through Thursday and 11am to 11pm on Fridays & Saturday
0
Votes
MackenzieT_12
March 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from CoronaOldTown | Reviewed this property |
The Spotted Donkey is owned by the hotel, which is owned by Columbia Sussex corporation. They are very chef driven and the food is fantastic !
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing