We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare and Hounds Restaurant

Bowland Bridge, Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
+44 15395 68333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“lamb hotpot” (9 reviews)
“hot pot” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Bowland Bridge, Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

lovely ambience, flag floors and miss-matched furniture create a lovely country feel to the place. food is excellent - check out the pictures on their web site - the food lives up to the pictures - yummy

Thank HoneyBunch01
Reviewed 6 days ago

I know its not peak season in the Lake District but it was a sparse crowd at 1pm and remained so throughout our stay. The specials menu had pheasant on it which means my personal rule of have the game applied. My friends ordered pork...More

Thank Perry H
kerry G, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this review

thankyou so much for your lovely review, Saturday was a quiet lunch as there were a number of events on locally, a rare quiet lunch time for us! very please you enjoyed the food which you are quite right is cooked to order, and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there last night with our 5 year old granddaughter. We had an amazing meal which we all enjoyed. A small misunderstanding with the menu was handled with courtesy and did not detract from a lovely evening. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the...More

1  Thank Opposition
kerry G, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review! we are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mum and dad had been away for a few weeks so good to catch up We thought a good walk and something to eat We had a good walk up nearby Gummers How with great views over lake Windermere and then back to the Hare...More

Thank wilkie74
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten at the Hare & Hounds several times over the years. It's a lovely country pub providing good pub grub - nothing fancy but good reliable traditional country food. Stout portion sizes - you won't leave hungry! They always have some well kept...More

Thank ww1sam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful food, lovely area with stunning views! All 3 courses were cooked to perfection, the menu was lovely and can't wait to return!

Thank hotelreview103
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a very tasty meal here. Portions were generous and drinks include a good gin menu and some great beers. Steak & Ale pie was excellent. Disappointed that there were not more people there.

Thank Ajmorison
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An enjoyable meal perhaps a little spoilt by limitations on the menu which was reduced by the absence of Guinea fowl, pork, lamb and no specials for the evening. Having said that the fish and chips and steak pie were excellentMore

Thank inglisim
slinkymalinky, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, I am terribly sorry that you happened to visit on this particular day when we had to reduce the menu, we had car trouble! if you enjoyed the smaller choices then please come back to sample our full...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the past few years The Hare and Hounds has been one of our favourite places to eat in this area, We have recommended it to several people who have, once they have been there, shared our high opinion of the food and service. Unfortunately,...More

Thank Jayems
slinkymalinky, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this review

I am so sorry you feel the hare and Hounds wasn't up to its usual standards on your last visit, we have changed our menu and the way we present our food, much of that due to customer feed back , we have modernized our...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have been here many times and food us always of good quality. The staff, as always were very friendly and helpful. The food today was delicious but I have to say that the Chick Pea Dahl, although very nice, is massively over priced £13.50 taking...More

Thank 494gills
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant
430 reviews
2.00 miles away
The Brown Horse
222 reviews
2.45 miles away
The Derby Arms
175 reviews
2.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Fell Foot Park
270 reviews
2.80 miles away
Stott Park Bobbin Mill
213 reviews
2.96 miles away
Blackwell Arts and Crafts House
558 reviews
3.24 miles away
Yew Tree Barn
90 reviews
4.57 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
David H
I asked what the H & H policy was on children at evening dinner because I am sick of having evenings ruined by unruly children, or rather their parents who make no attempt to teach them the rudiments of civilised behaviour when out and about among adults. I have received one response from someone hiding behind the pseudonym of jonB50 who obviously fancies himself as a bit of a wag so his reponse was meaningless. Some helpful response would be appreciated because In light of "The Sunday Telegraph" and tripAdvisor reviews, I would like to spend a few days at the Hare ad Hounds. David Hollingdale Edinburgh
March 21, 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from kerry G | Property representative |
Hi David, Thanks for asking a question, we do allow children in our pub, we have never yet had unruly one though so I'm sure you would enjoy your stay and meal with us, In regards to the review in the telegraph I have to be... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bowland Bridge, Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowland Bridge
  • Phone Number: +44 15395 68333
  • E-mail