We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hare and Hounds Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bowland Bridge, Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
+44 15395 68333
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 246: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited due to fabulous recommendations and were not disappointed. We have now visited twice on this holiday, even staying after one meal to do the quiz! This is an exceptional restaurant, with well thought out, beautifully cooked dishes, which are not only stylish and could be suited to a fine dining experience, but also excellent versions of pub classics.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This pub is a little off the beaten track but is well worth a visit. It was recommended to us by locals who go there regularly. We first had a beer on a Saturday lunchtime. It was clean and tidy with the feel of a quintessential country pub. The staff were welcoming and helpful to everyone, especially a small family... More 

Helpful?
Thank BEKAKK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As the road was closed from newby bridge-bowness we decided to take the "scenic" route. That's when we stumbled across the hare and hounds. What a lovely cosy pub it is too. There is a homely atmosphere as soon as you walk in. We arrived on a Sunday early afternoon and luckily managed to get a table. We decided upon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abi L
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile

Called in with friends for soup and a sandwich. Soup was very nice (leek & potato) but minute amount of bread. Friends had a sandwich and a portion of chips. The chips arrived in a container and there were 7 chips costing £3.50!!!! What a rip-off! Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey J
kerry p, Owner at The Hare and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review we always welcome customer comments, it is such a shame that you didn't ask for more bread and chips while you visited as we would of been more than happy to bring some more out for you without charge. Please next time feel free to ask. Kind regards, the hare and hounds. More 

Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2017

Excellent old English style Bar Restaurant with open fires/flagstone floors/beamed ceilings. All this plus excellent food at very reasonable prices. A must visit.

Helpful?
Thank johnb50
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017

We arrived late for lunch on a Bank holiday, and received the warmest of welcomes (when the staff might reasonably have been somewhat tired and harrassed and waiting for a break). The only unoccupied table needed an extra chair and place setting - no trouble - and we were given menus and had drinks ordered straight away. It was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnhamwee
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2016

Exceptional food and plenty of choice. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

Helpful?
Thank DJEJF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Not been for a few years as moved out of area but so glad I brought a party of 15 for Sunday Lunch. We had a amazing meal and the service was outstanding. Best Sunday Roast in years shame 1hr 30 mins away from home beacause otherwise would be here every Sunday. Thankyou

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
Ibstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

What a great place - we only stayed overnight but it was still one of the best stays we had. Great room, great shower and bath, great staff who were friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and were already planning s return visit! Highly recommended - thanks everyone for making this trip so memorable.

Helpful?
1 Thank mazbob100
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2016

Salt Marsh lamb was delicious as was the Wild Boar burger. Asked for extra biscuits with the cheeseboard which were provided at no extra charge even though we had offered to pay.

Helpful?
Thank L L

Travelers who viewed The Hare and Hounds Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Levens, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bowland Bridge, Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowland Bridge
  • Phone Number: +44 15395 68333

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hare and Hounds Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?