We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 12/3
8:00 PM
PRICE RANGE
$30 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
116
114
41
12
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
116
114
41
12
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek salad hummus and pita saganaki lamb octopus sardines kabobs orzo rice belly dancer an appetizer saturday night happy hour outdoor seating appetizers boca platter
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 7, 2022

The food and the service were very good. I had the Gyro Wrap and it was one of the best I have ever eaten.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2022

We're so glad to see this! Best you've ever eaten?? That's amazing...please let us know what else we could've done to earn that final star!

Reviewed September 11, 2022 via mobile

We are regulars at Kyma and have loved both the food and service over the years. We sometimes go for happy hour, which we did again, on Friday evening. This time, things have changed substantially. First the food was very mediocre. Pita and hummus were...served, as usual, however the hummus was watery and not very good. We first ordered calamari. It was like eating rubber bands. Tough, chewy and just not good. The chicken skewer, although was supposed to be char broiled, almost tasted boiled. We had to ask for taziki sauce to add to the taste. When finished we received the check. They added 3 dollars for hummus and 1 dollar for pita which was never charged before and 3 dollars for the sauce. Poor food, extra new charges. They have to do better or we will not return.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2022

We're sorry to see this. Our cuisine hasn't changed at all since we opened - our authentic, family recipes are the same. We have adjusted pricing over the years to compensate for increased food cost, etc. We really, really hope you'll come back and give...More

Reviewed August 25, 2022

Let’s start by saying that we had authentic Greek food during our travels to Greece. We went to Kyma a couple of times in the past with our group of friends, the fist time it was good, the second time was disappointing for all of...us (6 people). So we stopped going there for a long time. Today, we went out and we decided to tried again, since we were closed by, we shouldn’t had. The service was slow , the moussaka was terrible and I couldn’t even eat half of it. The gyro platter was like an oven sandwich, a small serving of white lettuce same gyro meat and feta cheese over a pita bread. NOT a platter ALL I think Chris Tavern food is superior, their place is small and simple but their food is good. We won’t be returning to Tavern Kyma anymore,More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, General Manager at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2022

We're very sorry to see this. Our restaurant is owned and operated by first generation Greek-Americans - we serve 100% authentic Greek cuisine and our recipes haven't changed since opening. We really hope you'll give us another chance!

Reviewed August 1, 2022 via mobile

Was one of our favorite Greek Restaurants. Unfortunately, they just were cited for numerous health code violations.🤢! Galini for us!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2022

We're sorry to see this John. There were minor issues due to our outdoor dining that are par for the course for those of us that offer outdoor dining in the summer in South Florida. We were not shut down, we were given some support...More

Reviewed July 30, 2022 via mobile

We just got out of Kyma. It was so bad that it felt like we escaped. The first thing we noticed was how sticky and dirty the outdoor tables and floors were. Then, everything from the pita wedges to our mains were heavily over-salted. The...service was poor. For example, our 2 soups and one salad each arrived 5 minutes apart. The soups were luke warm. And the little dish of salad dressing arrived long after the salad. Dirty dishes were not cleared for the longest time. We realize that restaurants are short of employees during this period of COVID. But we have also noticed that some restaurants are dealing with this much better than others. Kyma is the worst we’ve seen. Bad service, bad food and dirty tables- a trifecta of reasons for never returning. I’d hate to see what the bathrooms look like!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2022

We're very sorry to see this and can't imagine what went wrong....this is NOT our usual feedback and we work so hard to ensure everything from our sanitation protocols to our guest service to our cuisine is top notch. We hope you'll reach out directly...More

Reviewed July 17, 2022

The portions were tremendous, the food was delicious and the service was attentive and fantastic. We went on a Saturday night in the middle of the summer around 6:30 PM. The place was about half full but I could tell it is very popular. I...could picture how busy this place must get in season on a Saturday night and understand why some reviewers have said it took a while for their food. Being off season though, our food came out very promptly and we were very happy with our first time visit. Complementary fresh made hummus and pita squares were brought out right after we sat down. We shared the grilled octopus as an appetizer. Huge chunks of octopus grilled to perfection in a delicious vinaigrette with chopped onions and tons of capers. We could barely finish it. Our entrees were the lamb shank and gyros platter. Both delicious and very generous portions. We took half of each dish home. They have numerous Greek wines on the menu and a Greek beer which was fun to try. We will definitely be back. We have found a new favorite spot.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2022

Thank you SO much!! We're so thrilled you enjoyed and can't wait to have you back as our guest again soon!

Reviewed April 19, 2022 via mobile

Our 10th time here since we temporarily moved to Boca. Our trip to Greece last year spoiled us…the food & wine! Eating at Kyma is as close to being transported back to Santorini. Free hummus & hot grilled bread!! We love their Tzatsiki & Saganaki...(flaming cheese) and our favorite Greek wine from Santorini is sold by-the-glass too. Fantastic service every time too. A treat coming here. Excellent outdoor seating too.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2022

Wonderful! Thank you for being our guest and please come back and see us again soon!

Reviewed March 28, 2022

As noted in other reviews, even if you make a reservation, make sure to arrive a little bit before. That being said, we had no issues getting our four-person table in the location we wanted (we wanted the third patio). The appetizer of hummus and...pita was great and we all loved our meals. Our server was lovely and our overall experience was very positive. We will be coming back!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2022

We're so thrilled you enjoyed. Please come back soon and let us know how we can earn that final star!

Reviewed March 23, 2022

Horrible from the get go. Call for reservations, was told not to be bothered and just to come over. Came in. Was told to sit down by a water at the parking lot entrance. Hostess kicked us out and stated that we did all wrong..., that we needed reservations and shouldn’t have taken the table as we were actually told. She had an attitude and didn’t even apologize for their unprofessional behavior. We never made it to the dinner as we were showed a lousy table outside. So we left extremely upset.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2022

We're very sorry to see this and don't know what could've happened, but we assure you we will address it internally. We really hope you'll give us another chance.

Reviewed February 21, 2022

I come here occasionally for lunch, early enough to beat the crowd. Sometimes I sit inside and enjoy the attractive interior. Other times I sit outside if the weather is pleasant. I generally get the mousaka,, which is so good.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2022

We're so glad to see this and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed February 19, 2022

The food was amazing, we had enough room for the stroller and a baby, the waiter Chris was perfect. He had a good attitude, funny, professional, gave us good wine and food tips, we had a great experience. We waited a bif for the main...courses but its a saturday, the place was busy, kitchen was busy, it's understandable. We will be back! Thanks ChrisMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2022

Wow, this is awesome! Thanks for the kind words and come back soon!

Reviewed February 19, 2022

Attended the restaurant with large family group for 7:15 reservation. Took 15-20 minutes to have any person even come over and even serve water. Restaurant was very busy so we made sure to put our order in ASAP. Didn’t get our main courses until at...least 2 hours later! Waiter never came by to inform us of delays, told us food was up and ready to be served when it wasn’t. When sardines which were ordered as one person’s main course never arrived, at 9:45 pm we inquired of whereabouts and waiter said, “oh, we are out of sardines.” After we had received bill, waiter brings out chicken that was ordered more than 2 hours earlier with take out container! We ordered some meat selection and specifically said no pork. We were served a pork chop as part of the meat. No apologies, no offer to not charge for chicken or provide any other accommodation. Literally, one of the worst dining experiences I have ever experienced.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

We're very sorry to see this. We have never taken two hours to get food to a table. We do get VERY busy on the weekends, and all of our Greek dishes are 100% authentic cooked to order, but that amount of time is egregious...More

Reviewed February 8, 2022 via mobile

Very disappointed. We went for dinner on recommendation of a friend. Previous take out was oK so we decided to give it a second try. Total waste of time and money! Host was rude, overwhelmed. Food was awful. Greek salad was soggy. Grilled octopus came...in a bowel of vinegar and was tasteless. My partner had the grilled fish - no sauce. Rice tasted off and greens were overdone. My chicken brochette was overcooked. Rice inedible. No bread /hummus provided. Beer was warm. Looking elsewhere for a good Greek restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2022

We're very sorry to see this. This is NOT the kind of feedback we general get. Our cuisine is 100% authentic Greek. Our restaurant does get very busy, but the quality of our cuisine hasn't changed since opening. We really hope you'll give us another...More

Reviewed January 23, 2022

If you are looking for an authentic Greek fining experience look no further then Taverna Kyma on Federal Hwy in East Boca. With both indoor and plentiful outdoor seating from start to finish the food is terrific. Over the past 2 weeks we have eaten...here twice once at the restaurant and once we picked up. During our first visit to the restaurant we started with two glasses of white wine from Santorini. We enjoyed Spanakopita, tzatziki, and Saganaki. We followed this up by sharing the grilled calamari and grilled Bronzino. When we picked up we continued with the tzatziki, added in some hummus and pita (plentiful), added in the shrimp Saganaki and shared the Mediterranean Chicken. perfection. Headed back this week with visiting friends !!! A cant miss meal outMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2022

This is fantastic! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such great feedback and for being our guest. Can't wait to see you again!

Reviewed January 9, 2022 via mobile

We enjoy dining at Taverna Kyma. The meal begins with complimentary Pita and Hummus (rather than rolls and butter) and it is a great way to start! Over two recent visits, I have had snapper twice and my wife had lamb chops and roasted lamb....All were excellent, although the first time the server did a great job removing the head/tail and deboning my fish but most recently the server was in a tremendous hurry and did not do a very good job. (I guess I should grow up and learn to do it myself!). The sides were very good. Last time we had a Greek Salad to share and this time we opted for grilled eggplant. Both were excellent. The evening ended with a very animated belly dancer. What a bonus! Outside tables were nice but the inside atmosphere is very old school. It was quite busy when we were there and there were a few minor mis-steps on the order. (The server brought the wrong glass of wine to my wife. He replaced it correctly but we still got charged for the more expensive first glass.). Lots of families were obviously enjoying themselves. You won’t leave hungry!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2022

Thank you for all the honest feedback! We hope you come back soon and give us the chance to earn that final star!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Extended Stay America - Boca Raton - Commerce
128 reviews
1.33 miles away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boca Raton
1,859 reviews
1.37 miles away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Boca Raton
492 reviews
1.46 miles away
Residence Inn Boca Raton
418 reviews
1.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Melting Pot
247 reviews
.61 miles away
Novello Restaurant & Bar
162 reviews
.21 miles away
Le Sorelle Restaurant
106 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sports Immortals Museum
31 reviews
.33 miles away
Foot Relaxing
14 reviews
.04 miles away
Rockn Angels
12 reviews
.59 miles away
Qroomescape
22 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cudjoeconch
March 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from smr5512 | Reviewed this property |
No restaurant should allow animals . It’s for people . Leave your pets at home. ( Service dogs for sight impaired only)
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TAVERNA KYMA, Boca Raton - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taverna Kyma

Yes, Taverna Kyma offers takeout services.

Taverna Kyma is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5