We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 6/25
8:00 PM
PRICE RANGE
$30 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
112
108
39
10
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
112
108
39
10
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummus baklava lamb horiatiki salad lemon potatoes grilled octopus harvest salad sardines kabobs warm pita rice pilaf kebab fresh seafood branzino cakes belly dancer greek restaurant
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 12, 2021

We went the week after Orthodox Easter. We had the lamb, so tender. Great portions.Very good service , and the Greek wine was wonderful. Enjoyed the atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2021

Perfect! We're so glad you enjoyed. Please come back and be our guest again soon!

Reviewed May 3, 2021

Had a terrible experience on Greek Easter. We made plans one month in advance. reserved with Mike to be outs ide with the music. No room, got put in a corner, food was horrible, the joke of the night was one potato. Total chaos, had...to ask for pita 3 times. waitress was Russian or Polish didnt understand or care. Not enough staff and no one in charge to make things right. Last time for us.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2021

We're so sorry to see this. We work very hard to ensure our very busy Greek Easter is a hit for our guests. We aren't sure what the nationality of the server has to do with any of the problems you felt you had, but...More

Reviewed April 24, 2021 via mobile

It is painful for me to write this because I think their food is excellent, but their attention to Covid concerns is zero. I had to episodes where this happened with minimal attention, and a friend told me the same thing. They just don’t care....Ignorant. No distance. No masks. Forget gloves. A packed dining room. I can’t eat there again until pandemic is truly gone.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2021

We're so sorry to see this. We abide by every Florida regulation and have since the beginning of the pandemic. We're sorry you don't feel comfortable dining here and hope you'll give us another chance as things get better with Covid.

Reviewed April 7, 2021

Upon our arrival, we were escorted to our table for outdoor dining. Shortly after Athina introduced herself and we were handed a beautifully printed Welcome Notice to the 1st Concierge Dinner At Taverna Kyma. We enjoyed hummus with warm pita while sipping a glass of...wine (not a fan of hummus, however I decided to give it a try and was very pleasantly surprised as it was delicious). All of our dining selections were exceptional and perfectly prepared and consisted of Sauteed Calamari, Harvest Salad, Kefalotiri Saganaki, Lavraki (Bronzino) presentation was amazing, Beef Tenderloin Kebobs, followed by the most amazing delectable desserts-Rice Pudding and Baklava. Our dining experience ended with Greek Coffee, which I was told was very strong-I enjoyed every drop and it was delicious. Will I return-absolutely. Delicious Greek Food and outstanding service.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2021

Wonderful! Thank you so much for the kind words and the 5-stars. Please come back and be our guest again soon!

Reviewed March 20, 2021 via mobile

So we have been here numerous times before and service and food was always excellent,until tonight.So we had reservations for 10 at 7pm outside.We got seated at 7:20.The waiter when we got had including us was waiting on 30 people which was too much and...the issues that happened,I want to stress were not his fault because he couldn’t wait on tables properly with those numbers .They had one bartender and the place was packed solid.Our drinks took 20 minutes which included 2 bottles of wine and 5 mixed drinks and was dirty martini which came wrong and we sent back.Appetizers came out before our drinks.Never sent Hummus out which comes with your meal,and because we mentioned it came out then at 8:30. Our meals started coming out at 9:00 and one came at 9:25 and everybody else had already eaten.There were 4 different things that didn’t come that were supposed to and told waiter and one thing still didn’t come out.Two tables around us came in 40 minutes after us and were served before us.Once we got our food it was all delicious but there was also 4 main dishes that they were out of.We complained to the waiter about the issues so he talked to Manager and said Manager would give us 3 free desserts.We left there at 10 and were the last ones to leave because of all the issues.So all of our complaints are to Management,there were issues in every aspects of our meal and as I said in the beginning of my words that it wasn’t the waiters fault he was on overload! The bill came to 600 which we are not complaining about the amount ,but you just lost 10 people that won’t be back because of this cluster!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2021

We're so sorry to see this. While we don't recall any major issues with large tables that night, we admittedly were very busy. Navigating the new protocols due to the pandemic (an unprecedented time) while maintaining the same great service has been challenging, and we...More

Reviewed February 27, 2021

Taverna Kyma gets better all the time. Their large outdoor covered patio is ideal for cautious dining during the pandemic. But it is so popular that to is important to reserve ahead for parties of four or more. No reservations are permitted for two. But...we have found that arriving early for an early dinner/late lunch when Kyma opens at 4 PM is the ideal time for superb service and socially distanced outdoor dining. The Greek food at Taverna Kyma is as good as you can get this side of Greece. We have traveled extensively in Greece, and love Greek cuisine and culture. Taverna Kyma offers the absolutely best, most authentic Greek food in South Florida, with Greek music always in the background. Opa! The complementary hummus and pita are excellent. We have tried many of their specialties, and love them all. Recently, we enjoyed the grilled octopus, the spanakopita, and the stuffed vegetables, after our horiatiki salad. Horiatiki is authentic Greek salad, which means no lettuce, but cucumbers, onions, tomatoes, olives, and a stuffed vine leaf thrown in for good measure. One salad is enough for two to share as a side salad. On a recent visit, Denis was our server. But service is shared by Kyma staff, so lots of people pitch in. The prices are reasonable and moderate. One can have an exceptionally fine and authentically Greek meal for relatively little, but one can also have a big meal with all of the trimmings for a reasonable check. Really good!More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2021

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful feedback. Please come back and be our guest again soon!

Reviewed February 15, 2021 via mobile

Amazing food, terrible service. We’re regulars at Kyma, food is always very good and fresh. Last two times we’ve been there service has been particularly poor and when we’ve approached management, they’ve seemed more worried about making excuses than listening and evaluating to make changes....I hope they pay attention to the comments which most recently seemed to be pointing out service deficiencies.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2021

We're sorry to see this and appreciate the feedback. We will address this with management.

Reviewed February 12, 2021

I've been to Kyma dozens of times. This meal was terrible from the start. Ordered 3 appetizers, one hot one came in 20 minutes the 2 salads never came till we asked again 10 minutes later. Had a red snapper as they were out of...most fish. When waiter was bringing out he stopped at managers table for him to "inspect" the fish I guess. During covid I don't need anyone looking, breathing over my fish. When I asked the waiter why he stopped there he shrugged his shoulders. Fish was overcooked by a good 5-1o on grill, and salted past an inch of it's life. Horrible. When they asked after the meal was over we told them and they said sorry can we buy you desert. If I am spending $35.00 on a snapper that costs maybe $8.00 wholesale offering me desert instead is insulting. We were so salted out that we didn't even want desert.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?3  
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2021

Hi Scott, we're so sorry to see this. First, we prepare 100% authentic, made-to-order Greek cuisine, and some of it simply takes time, especially when properly timing with appetizers, etc. Our snapper is a fan favorite here - as is all of our authentic Greek...More

Reviewed February 10, 2021 via mobile

We went with friends here for an evening meal. We sat outside but this was under a roof. The restaurant was very busy but kept everyone reasonably socially distanced. I had the kebab and my wife the lamb chops. I thought my kebab was one...of the best ones I have had in some time. Rice was nicely cooked. Mid price restaurant and worth a visit. If you are concerned about COVID it was busy when we went.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?2  
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2021

Thanks so much! Come back and be our guest again soon!

Reviewed February 8, 2021 via mobile

Went today for my father’s birthday and had a negative experience that could have been handled much better than what it was by the management. We opted for the family stable dining paying $35 per person. The appetizers started coming out consistently, every 10 minutes...or so we had a new plate on the table. After about the first 3 appetizers, there was a long pause while we anxiously awaited the main course. I asked the waiter after waiting maybe 20-25 mins since the last plate had been brought out and was told that it would only be a few more minutes... next thing I know, I see my waiter arguing with the cook about our food (I knew it was our food because he kept pointing to our table). I get up and approach the employee I assumed was the manager based on what I had observed. I ask him if he is the manager and he says yes. I tell him it’s been over 30 mins, we have small kids, my wife is pregnant, etc and he pretty much disregards my concerns and says the food will only be a minute. All in all, something went wrong and nobody wanted to take ownership. It took maybe 40-45 mins to get our main course and by this time, everybody was cranky about it. The waiter finally comes and apologized for the delay and blames it on the cook. The manager never came to apologize nor check on how we were doing. The manager’s name was Dimitri. The waiter said he would comp some desserts in order to make things better. I mentioned it to my wife and she pointed out that dessert was included in our family style meal but at this point I was too upset to keep arguing. May be a great place for a small group, I don’t know. But we were 16 celebrating my dad’s birthday and it was definitely not the best experience. I will not return. Please improve your customer service! It mattersMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Sophia T, Owner at Taverna Kyma, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2021

We're so sorry to see this. We were very happy to have your group celebrate with us and can only say that we offer authentic, made to order Greek cuisine and many of the dishes you ordered simply take time. A dinner that large with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Extended Stay America - Boca Raton - Commerce
118 reviews
1.33 miles away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boca Raton
1,751 reviews
1.37 miles away
SpringHill Suites Boca Raton
473 reviews
1.46 miles away
Residence Inn Boca Raton
401 reviews
1.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Melting Pot
238 reviews
.62 miles away
Novello Restaurant & Bar
139 reviews
.21 miles away
Le Sorelle Restaurant
99 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sports Immortals Museum
31 reviews
.33 miles away
Foot Relaxing
13 reviews
.04 miles away
Easy Livin' Sailing Adventures
8 reviews
.23 miles away
Rockn Angels
12 reviews
.59 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cudjoeconch
March 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from smr5512 | Reviewed this property |
No restaurant should allow animals . It’s for people . Leave your pets at home. ( Service dogs for sight impaired only)
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Taverna Kyma

Yes, Taverna Kyma offers takeout services.

Yes, Taverna Kyma offers delivery services.

Taverna Kyma is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5