We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
...A Delaware beach picnic highlighting the best our region has to offer. Located in the heart of downtown Rehoboth Beach, Salt Air offers farm to table fresh cuisine, an upscale atmosphere, and great hospitality. Check out our locally inspired menu featuring fresh seasonal produce, sustainable seafood, and organic meats and poultry. Visit our fun, cozy bar and sample our creative libations, great wines, and micro brews on tap. At Salt Air, we are passionate about providing the best in food, hospitality, and atmosphere. Stop by today and taste the Salt Air difference.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Dinner
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Contemporary
FEATURES
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveler rating
656
234
63
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
656
234
63
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood stew crackers scallops crab cakes deviled eggs cheese board chocolate cake wings fries worth the wait wonderful meal dining experience great seafood entrees rehoboth parmesan summer
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

From the beginning it was obvious the wait staff didn't want to be there and they had just opened for the night. It wasn't as thought it was at the end of shift. Ordered the deviled eggs for a starter....we're still searching for any crab...meat...forget lump crab meat. The scallop entree consisted of 4 small scallops with a plate full of tasteless corn....very dissatisfying for $38 !More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful! We had tried and failed to get a reservation, but when we walked in, we were seated immediately at a bar table in an alcove at the front. It was Covid perfect, separate and private, with a view of everything. The food was phenomenal....I had the huge grilled peach and burrata salad, it was amazing! Perfect combination of flavors, not to miss if it's on the menu. My husband raved about the seafood corn chowder and the seafood stew. My halibut was good, but slightly overcooked/dry. Good service. We were really delighted with this restaurant, it's our new best place at the beach.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travelled to OC/Rehoboth with 2 gfs for a little getaway. Found your restaurant while looking for Rehoboth options since we were shopping up that way. Couldn't make a reservation, already booked but we took a chance and got there at 5ish and were seated...at the food bar (right outside the kitchen), which was fine. Two of us had scallops and one had fried shrimp. OMG. I wish there was one closer to the DMV, the food was EXCELLENT, biggest scallops I have ever seen, everything cooked to perfection, server was nice and we were served promptly. I have told many friends who frequent Rehoboth to run not walk.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have eaten here a number of times and the quality of the food is top notch. The fried shrimp and cornbread are superb. Beware, they will give you a lot of French Fries with that - - enough for 3 people. We substituted green...beans for the cole slaw due to an allergy, and the beans were fresh and delicious.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 5, 2021

During a June trip to Rehoboth, we were struggling to find a restaurant to accommodate our large party outside, even at the early hour of 5pm. (Note to travelers - the Delaware beach towns are packed these days.) After being (rudely) turned away at several...places, we were relieved to find the staff at Salt Air very welcome and accommodating. They moved some tables to help get us seated and were very attentive throughout our meal. Like many Rehoboth restaurants, they are both popular and short staffed at the moment, but the service and communication were the best we experienced during our stay. The food is excellent, and we would definitely return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Traveler16670904590, General Manager at Salt Air, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a great review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed May 25, 2021

The wine choices were better than most. I hadn't had Devil Eggs for a very long time and it more than welcomed. The tuna was not Sushi grade but it was done perfectly(almost raw). The taste was there so it was a good night.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Traveler16670904590, General Manager at Salt Air, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2021

Thank you for your feedback!

Reviewed May 16, 2021

This restaurant does NOT accept online reservations. When we called to make a reservation the phone rang busy all afternoon, although a previous message said that you could call "after 1:00pm" to make a reservation. We stopped by the restaurant to see if we could...get in. They had nothing available until late. When we told them about the phone problems.... They said.... "the phone has been ringing off the hook, so we just took it off so we wouldn't have to keep answering it. Is that any way to run a business. Better management and a better attitude are certainly needed.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Traveler16670904590, General Manager at Salt Air, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2021

We’re sorry to hear about your experience, edgar021, but the feedback is appreciated. Our team will look into this.

Reviewed May 4, 2021

This is the first time i tried this and now this is my favorite place. Amazing Food!!! Neat and clean place, will come here again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Traveler16670904590, General Manager at Salt Air, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2021

We love happy guests! Thanks for the shout out! Kudos

Reviewed May 2, 2021

Elegant, creative, healthy food made with love and care by an amazing chef! The drinks are exceptional. The staff is amazing. The portions are generous. The restaurant gorgeous. This restaurant is truly the best in DE and we are so lucky to have it!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 28, 2021

We forgot to call in a reservation on a worm midweek evening, but were seated at the bar within 19 minutes despite the original 30-40 minute estimate. We like Salt Air because it is quiet enough for conversation, because the food is unusually good and...attractively served and because the staff are knowegeable, thoughtful and friendly. The crab devilled eggs provided a novel light appetizer - nicely set off by the mild candied jalopeno on the top. DW enjoyed the delicate cream of crab soup. For entrees, DW had the Avocado toast with Dubliner cheese and salads. I had the seafood stew, which blends 5 types of seafood in an tomato-based broth without the excess salt that so often accompanies bouillibases. Portions were large and we brought plenty home for tomorrow. However, two concerns reduced my ranking from 5 stars to 4. The main courses took a long time to come out and the menu had not changed in a month and offered no specials. Despite these minor problems, the professionalism of the Salt Air operation and the pleasant atmosphere will likely bring me back.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Traveler16670904590, General Manager at Salt Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes, it was busy last night and we apologize for any delays. We print our menus daily and while some dishes do remain as a constant on our menu we change items on...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Atlantis Inn
496 reviews
.03 miles away
The Oceanus
843 reviews
.04 miles away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
2,661 reviews
.08 miles away
Brighton Suites Hotel
352 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Henlopen City Oyster House
1,310 reviews
.02 miles away
The Blue Hen
175 reviews
.11 miles away
Kilwin's
217 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
City of Rehoboth Beach Convention Center
19 reviews
.11 miles away
Gallery 50
7 reviews
.03 miles away
Bike To Go
17 reviews
.04 miles away
Browseabout Books
92 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ChachaXIV
June 15, 2018|
Answer
Response from jkliddle | Reviewed this property |
To my knowledge they have not closed.
0
Votes
ChachaXIV
June 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Phyllis A | Reviewed this property |
We were just there a couple days ago. They are very busy, keep trying
0
Votes
YorkTravelGirl
October 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from dnsprint | Reviewed this property |
casual. no need for a coat and tie. shorts and a collared golf shirt is normal.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Salt Air

Salt Air is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4