We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Foley

$$ - $$$British, ,
106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
+44 1372 462021
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good27%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“steak pie” (2 reviews)
“pies” (2 reviews)
“sea bream” (2 reviews)
Opens in 28 min
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful restaurants/pub with a large garden and yummy food. I had the burger which was Slightly pricy but well worth it. Staff were helpful but didn't seem all that enthusiastic. Despite this it wouldn't stop me coming again.

Thank sallypritchard12
Reviewed 1 week ago

There's a lovely calmness to this place, even when it's busy. I enjoy a relaxing drink and lovely meal here occasionally with my mother-in-law who lives closer by. Although it's certainly on the pricier side, most pubs worth their weight in Surrey and London tend...More

Thank chrismccarthy94
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We had the Sunday roast beef. It was adequate, but frankly for £19 I expect more than two or three thin slices of meat. The potatoes were average. Yorkshire pud and cauliflower were good. For dessert I ordered the Belgian waffle with strawberries and ice...More

Thank toolmantadgh
Reviewed August 27, 2017

One night stay, comfortable and good breakfast. Pleasant staff. Nicely appointed, ideal for an overnight stay, and our dog slept well in the room too.

Thank Liz S
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Love their Sunday roast!! Great clean pub with good Service and great food at reasonable prices. Google says they do breakfast but they only do it for guests of the inn.More

Thank jjmg4423
FoleyHotel, Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Dear jjmg4423 Thank you for your comments we can assure we will pass them on to the team who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers “apologies with...More

Reviewed July 2, 2017

Birthday gathering for a friend, who lives locally, within the confines of the Beer garden (at the rear of The Foley). We numbered around 30, but food was delivered with ease and promptly by the staff, who were affable and hard-working. Pies, Burgers, Cold Meats,...More

Thank BOBLSWAGGER6
FoleyHotel, Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Dear ROOM-1011 Thank you for your comments we can assure we will pass them on to the team who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the future. Declan & Trish General Managers “apologies with...More

Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Can't fault. We only had a few drinks and fish and chips and burger, but we are always very comfortable with the whole experience here. Staff all very polite and welcoming, which is always the best possible start, just a very nice place to be.

Thank Jeff P
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Jeff P Thank you for your valued comments we can assure we will pass them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the near future. Declan & Trish General Managers

Reviewed May 30, 2017

Service is very slow both at the bar and restaurant. Beer and food is at the pricier end and while the interior is lovely, it is massively compromised by the apparently uncaring attitude in the (mostly) very young staff. Disappointing.More

Thank rossjackson69
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear rossjackson69 Thank you for your valued comments we were however dissapointed to read your comments regarding uncaring staff, we hope you can appreciate it is very difficult for us to investigate any service issues we may have if we are not made aware of...More

Reviewed May 18, 2017

My wife and I had dinner in the bar recently. We found a very airy comfortable table and enjoyed the food. My wife is vegetarian and found a nice array of mezzes and cheese while I had an excellent fish dish. Good service also

Thank paudraigmurphy
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear paudraigmurphy Thank you for your valued comments we can assure we will pass them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the near future. Declan & Trish General Managers

Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

Great decor - relaxed and friendly. Adhoc furniture creates a nice charm. Food is good. As with all surrey pubs, it's expensive. Nice area outside for sitting with blankets and heaters.

Thank Alexandrahollands
FoleyHotel, General Manager at The Foley, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017

Dear Alexandrahollands Thank you for your valued comments we can assure we will pass them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Foley in the near future. Declan & Trish General Managers.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hare and Hounds
552 reviews
.20 miles away
Jolshiri
174 reviews
.20 miles away
The Swan Inn
136 reviews
.53 miles away
Rasoy
65 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chessington World of Adventures Resort
6,450 reviews
1.54 miles away
Claremont Landscape Garden
247 reviews
1.61 miles away
Squires Garden Centres
9 reviews
1.70 miles away
Thames Ditton Miniature Steam Railway
57 reviews
1.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Foley staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 106 Hare Lane, Claygate, Esher KT10 0LZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Esher  >  Claygate
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 462021
  • E-mail
Description
We offer beautifully cooked seasonal dishes throughout the day, including breakfast, lunch and dinner. With a menu full of freshly prepared dishes using some locally sourced produce you will not find a better offering in the area. From delicious traditional British meals to a handful of dishes from different origins you are sure to find a dish to suit all tastes and appetite. Our delightfully lighter menu option in the bar area includes a sandwiches selection during the day and home-made bar snacks with scrumptious scotch eggs and sausage rolls to have with a pint or glass of wine. With many ingredients sourced from local producers in and around the town, diners can enjoy dishes featuring award-winning meat including a variety of outdoor bred pork sausages from The Game Larder in Claygate. On Sundays you will find a bustling environment of friends and family enjoying our fantastic roasts, while some watch weekend sport and others are just having a quick drink a prefect Sunday is to be had with us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing