We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

) #3 of 12 Restaurants in Claygate $$ - $$$ , British,
2 Hare Lane | Claygate, Claygate, Esher KT10 9BS, England
+44 1372 462582
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“custard” (3 reviews)
“chicken pie” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Hare Lane | Claygate, Claygate, Esher KT10 9BS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Myself and my wife thought we'd treat ourselves to a midweek lunch. Staff pleasant and efficient but food not good, fish was very watery and unevenly battered and the chips bought in frozen ones that you'd expect in a low grade cafe. Thai beef salad...More

Thank ClaygateFan
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited The Swan for dinner to celebrate our daughter's 13th Birthday. We'd heard a lot about the new owner and were keen to visit. The decor is lovely, the staff were excellent-attentive and helpful but if I'm honest the food was disappointing. We weren't...More

Thank Mellie1065
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I celebrated my birthday at The swan and from beginning to end it was superb. The staff were warm and friendly and made my party of 10 feel so welcomed, it felt like i was entertaining at home. Everyones food was fantastic, from my delicious...More

Thank Dominic W
Sohjope, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Dominic, Thank you for sharing your kind words with us on TripAdvisor. I am so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our pub, and hope that you will return to enjoy some wonderful afternoons in the sunshine over this summer....More

Reviewed May 17, 2017

Having heard about the place we were looking forward to going and being wowed with some amazing dishes. The food, in the end was good, not spectacular and certainly didn't live up to the prices being charged. We had to send both of our mains...More

Thank Mmm_Spicy
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to The Swan Inn for Sunday lunch earlier today to try it out. I had heard it was good and wasn't disappointed. The roast beef was delicious as was the roast chicken my boyfriend had. The staff were zreally friendly...More

Thank VLJ19
Reviewed May 12, 2017

I visited The Swan Inn on Saturday lunch and had a very enjoyable lunch. I knew it had been taken over by Claude Bosi and was eager to experience his food – I wasn’t disappointed. I had the Thai Beef Salad – every mouthful was...More

Thank 48Cricket
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

If you prefer not to eat surrounded by small screeching children and push chairs, don't come here for lunch at the weekend or bank holidays. The food is not good enough to warrant ignoring these irritations. The menu is dull, one of the choices, the...More

1  Thank gaggy2013
Reviewed May 1, 2017

These days the food is best described as average. Barely. Interesting items have disappeared, replaced with bland chicken Caesar and equally unexciting chicken Kiev. Staff was all smiles, but who cares when one’s menu is thrown across the table. Clientele appears to be using this...More

1  Thank Tablefor1please
Sohjope, General Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Dear Tablefor1please, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your rather less than satisfying experience with us. It is regrettable that we were unable to provide the experience you were looking for on this occasion. Our menu changes on a regular basis and...More

Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely lunch Beef was beautiful Good quality meat cooked beautifully Pavlova pudding which I don't usually indulge in but that was gorgeous Home made Highly recommended Lovely staff All in all excellentMore

Thank Jane B
Sohjope, The Swan Team at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Dear Jane B, Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience that you had here at The Swan. We very much appreciate your kind comments over the dishes you chose and the friendliness of our staff who always endeavour to provide the best service for all....More

Reviewed April 9, 2017

Went here for a late lunch and and had a prawn cocktail which had less than 100 grams of prawns, no lemon and some fairly dense, over baked soda bread.My grandmother was Irish - I'm an expert. Ordered a roast chicken Sunday lunch at £17.50...More

1  Thank Gastfreundschaft
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Peppers Esher
425 reviews
.60 miles away
Rasoy
59 reviews
.40 miles away
The Foley
150 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sandown Park Racecourse
193 reviews
.76 miles away
Daytona Sandown Park
113 reviews
.86 miles away
Everyman Cinema Esher
125 reviews
.61 miles away
The Homewood
22 reviews
.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $30
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
7:30 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Hare Lane | Claygate, Claygate, Esher KT10 9BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Esher  >  Claygate
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 462582
  • E-mail
Description
Serving classic pub and comfort food favourites. Typical dishes include Crab on Toast, Day Boat Fish with Beurre Noisette, The Swan burger, Treacle Tart with Clotted Cream and Sticky Toffee Pudding. Traditional roasts are served on Sunday. Children have their own menu. The Swan Inn has a large dining area for up to 55 guests, outdoor seating for up to 100 guests, and a private dining room on the first floor with views across the common seating up to 18 diners. There are 6 bedrooms available to book should you wish to extend your stay with us. The Swan Inn is conveniently located close to both Esher Common and Sandown Racecourse and we are also dog friendly! We look forward to welcoming you.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing