We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chowder Pot IV

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
165 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102
+1 860-244-3311
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Portarlington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in the Best Western right next to this restaurant and so ate there quite a few evenings. If you like seafood this is a good bet, but outside of seafood the range is very limited. To be expected, the chowder was very good and filling. Plenty of other choices but do be aware the portions are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank EquiCaroline
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us and that the food met your expectations. It always makes us happy to know that we are doing things right! More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food here is edible but uninspiring. I was trapped in the adjacent hotel for a few days and this is the only restaurant (save McDonalds!) within walking distance so I ate here three times. First question: yes, I enjoyed their chowder. Not everything was as enjoyable. Once I had a stuffed lobster. It was dry and chewy. Even the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weej1967
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visits to the Chowder Pot. We take all customer suggestions and reviews seriously and try to use them to improve our guests satisfaction. We are sorry you weren't totally satisfied with you meal and wish we could have corrected it for you while you where dining with us. We ask... More 

Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chowder Pot is exactly what you think it is - a seafood and chowder house. If you want fried clams and onion rings or a nice lobster this is the place. If you want ambiance or romance, go somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoatgirlCT
Management response:

Thank you for your honest review. We do celebrate our strengths, which of course is seafood and we hope to work towards making our guests feel like the atmosphere is more intimate. We would be happy to work with you next time to achieve the experience that you are expecting. More 

Eerbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good seafood restaurant. Liked the oysters and the crab sliders. Service is friendly and quick. Nice place to dine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bertrand N
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the oysters and crab sliders and hope that you will return to experience more of our menu! We appreciate your feedback and will pass along your review to our servers! More 

Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place really looks like it could use a makeover. From the outside it's almost depressing and inside is so dark and outdated it feels like it belongs in a coastal tourist trap town instead of inland CT. It's easy to get to with tons of parking so it makes a great spot to meetup when coming from different parts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
Management response:

Thank you for your review and creative feedback. It is important to hear from our customers about the positive and negative impressions they had while visiting and we work hard to take each negative insight into account. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our food and service and that there were other aspects of our business... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

A Hartford "go to" for seafood and such for quite a few years now. Service was ever so courteous, but alas, for me, the food lacked a little today. Both of us had Rhode Island clam chowder which we deemed too salty. Other party had a crabmeat cobb salad which she liked. I had a fried combo platter with oysters... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lastmate23
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry that your experience was not good this time, and I won't make excuses for us having a bad day. We should exceed your expectations every time. We are grateful that you shared your thoughts with us so that we can strive to stay at the top of our game everyday.... More 

Plano, Tx
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

We saw this place recommended in the AAA trip guide and decided to stop for a late lunch. This is very large place with trendy harbor motif and when we walked in I was concerned it was the type place that catered to large tourist groups and might have suspect quality. I was wrong. We ended up having an early... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jimandbevh
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking advantage of our Restaurant Week offering and then posting such a great review! We are proud of our menu and the portions that we offer and it is always so nice to receive such positive feedback. We hope that you will dine with us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2016

Kind of hit or miss! depends on what you have, I had the fried scallops and they were'nt cooked, and when i went to send them back was told that's how they're supposed to be, not! another time I had fish and chips and the fish was over cooked and dry, and 1 time the food was perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snowgod101
Management response:

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention through your review. I recognize that you have experienced inconsistency in your meals and I sincerely apologize for that and will address that issue with the kitchen. I am also sorry that your service seemed to unacceptable and that will be addressed as well. I hope that you will give us... More 

New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

This is an ok restaurant to go for a meal with family. it was within walking distance of our hotel so we decided to go. I had the crab combo. it was pretty good but I didn't really like the crab rangoons. They seemed a bit dry. Our server was excellent She gave us ideas about the Wadsorth Atheneum that... More 

Helpful?
Thank marguerite14
Management response:

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that your service was above expectations and that your food was good, if not completely up to your taste. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again if you return to the area in the future. More 

Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2016

It is a very big restaurant broken up into areas. There is a bar and there was a band (Saturday night). The music was good but very loud. We were in a group so we sat in the back where it was much quieter. Our server was great. The food was good. I had the crab combo. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ctgama
Management response:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We apologize for the noise level but we are happy that you found the music to be enjoyable and especially we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and value. We hope that you will visit with us again! More 

Travelers who viewed Chowder Pot IV also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Pot IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$35
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Television
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 165 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Hartford
  • Phone Number: +1 860-244-3311

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chowder Pot IV and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 month ago
Connecticut
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chowder Pot IV staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?