We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 5/24
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $55
CUISINES
Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
21
9
8
3
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
21
9
8
3
12
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 17, 2024

oh what a fabulous coffe they do pleasant cakes so delicious. coming here again when i’m able to thanks so much for good service

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 16, 2024

Really great experience. The food was super and really pleasant atmosphere. In particular, our server, Ada, was a pleasure and she made sure our food was brought out promptly and ensured our needs were met. Very nice time. In particular, the bruschetta and chicken quesadilla...were fantastic and are highly recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 10, 2024

Absolutely subpar and mediocre food for high prices. I order a $18 hamburger with a top of a lettuce slice and iceberg lettuce. The bacon was burnt. This was my last time where and I will never go again. The food is alway terrible.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2023

We went after the lunch time crowd where it wasn't as busy. Even though it was a friendly atmosphere, service was spotty at best. Our server seemed promising but went away for awhile. There was a disconnect with service. The PEI mussels were tasty and...fresh but they need to work on staffing.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 14, 2023

This was not brunch. It was an ordeal. Arrived at 12 noon and food did not arrive till 2:45pm--Two and a half hours for four entrees. The polite server kept on apologizing for the long delay. When the food did arrive, it was not great....Focaccia with lobster was missing the lobster. The reuben sandwich had no sauerkraut or Russian dressing. The omelet had no bacon. Just a terrible experience start to finish. We were comped our entrees which was the least they could have done. Our Mother's Day brunch was a four hour failure. NOTE: I had read the negative reviews here prior to going. I should have listened.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2023

I'm so glad I gave this place a second chance. It was my go to place during their great happy hour and then seemed to take a turn which made me not go but after months of not going I decided to go back and...it has definitely turned around. The manager Mr. Ramirez and the staff's customer service was phenomenal and the food.... is back on track.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2022 via mobile

There was 45 minute wait at a Kwanza hut restaurant and decided to walk and find another spot…bad decision. Seeing only one table occupied we thought it was a good choice for a quick meal… We were sat at a table for two by the...window but it was an awkward seating , so we moved to a different table to allow both of is to gaze out onto the street. Our fault totally as we we were chastised for taking it upon ourselves to move. Roughly 1/3 of the menu was not available-no pancakes, no fries, no fresh fruit, no steaks, no acia bowls….. I ordered the avocado toast with 2 poached eggs (smallest baby eggs I ever saw and super runny whites), tomatoes overpowered the entire dish as did the over abundance of cheese. My hubs had the chicken sandwich- cant say good or bad, but it was ok! With the limits on the menu items, we wondered if the place was a) brand new b) closing c) changing menus d) changing owners. Took over 45 minutes from when we placed our order to when food arrived-there was 1 other table in house when we ordered. Not on our list to go back to.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 16, 2022

I really wanted to give this restaurant a 5 star rating but cannot. The location is great, the decor great and the staff great. I just can't get past the poor quality of the food. My standard is that it must be better than my...cooking (I am a mediocre). This was not. I have tried their Mystic location and found the same quality, so I'm assuming the problem has to do with their recipes. I have gotten better food at diners. I also feel that their price point is high, and one would expect the food to taste good. I must add that the staff was very attentive and asked how everything was. I didn't have the heart to tell our waitress how disappointed I was, considering that it was not her fault.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 20, 2021 via mobile

We tried two different cocktails, the peach margarita and the Whitfield Fizz. Both were terrible. The soup was butternut squash. It was terrible. The pasta with meat sauce was terrible. The grilled tiny asparagus was terrible. The strip steak was average. All in all we...were 1 for 6 ….terrible. Service was good, kitchen was terrible, food quality was below average. We were thankful Ashley’s ice cream was on the way home.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Journey20624214854, Owner at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2021

840tr, first and foremost, thank you for choosing to dine with us here at Chapter One Food & Drink. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. Our team strives for excellence & we're disappointed you didn't enjoy...More

Reviewed October 19, 2021

A pitiful small piece of salmon $34, and not well prepared, I go to the FINEST restaurant in the area, by far, and the same fish, much bigger, much, much better is $31. What happened? It's a joke. I had never been to this restaurant...before, under this ownership, despite living 1 mile away. And I will not be back. It is crazy, almost criminal. A restaurant should be better than that, and for that amount of money!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Journey20624214854, Marketing at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2021

First and foremost, thank you for your review. We really do appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. Our culinary team strives for excellence & we're disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal. Your feedback...More

Reviewed July 3, 2021

I ordered a tomato and mozzarella salad with little arugula. Then added a topping of plain lobster The add on lobster was 18.00 plus the salad. It came to about 43.00. Hardly any lobster. My friend ordered same salad with blackened chicken. Tiny cut up...pieces of chicken went on top. NOT WORTH IT. Restaurants are trying to make up for COVID- well, so am I, honestly. You guys will lose customers if this continuesMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Journey20624214854, Marketing at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2021

First and foremost, thank you for your review. We really do appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. Our culinary team strives for excellence & we're disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal. Your feedback...More

Reviewed April 27, 2021 via mobile

Great Sunday brunch... I enjoyed the Shrimp and grits... very good, way to big a portion to finish so great leftovers... tons of shrimp!!! Great service, nice setting, attractive interior...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Journey20624214854, Owner at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2021

JJFlash, we are so grateful for your kind words here on TripAdvisor! Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback! We are so appreciative and cannot thank you enough for supporting local. We strive for excellence, from food to service to decor, and are always...More

Reviewed March 13, 2021 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this place (and I am picky). I went there because a good friend had her daughters wedding there and raved about it. The salmon picante was one of the best salmon dishes I ever had. The fish was so tasty...(those mashed potatoes beyond words)and the pasta dish was cooked perfectly with a fresh and delicious sauce The service was very attentive and friendly. The other great part was the heated tent. It makes it comfortable to eat outside. I watched them sanitize menus and tables. The prices is a little on the higher side, but as they say “you get what you pay for” and this was the case here. You get good quality food from a chef who knows how to cook, attentive service , and nice atmosphere. I cannot wait to go back!!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chapter One Food & Drink, Owner at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2021

Theresa B. WOW! Thank you so much for this fantastic five star review! We are so appreciative and cannot thank you enough for your kind words. We strive for excellence, from food to service to decor, and are always happy to hear when our guests'...More

Reviewed January 24, 2021 via mobile

Great brunch/lunch today. One of the best COVID dining experiences I’ve had. The tent in back shielded us from the wind and the heat being pumped in kept us so warm we were able to take out coats off even when the temperature was 20...degrees outside. The food was really good (lobster benedict, steak sandwiches, etc), the Bloody Marys were just spicy enough, and the service was great (especially tending to our 2 tables of 4). I highly recommend Chapter One and then take some to check out the lovely shops around The Green, especially the Page, the best hardware and gadget store I’ve ever seen.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chapter One Food & Drink, Owner at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2021

Joe K, thank you so much for this fantastic five star review! We are so appreciative and cannot thank you enough for your kind words. We strive for excellence, from food to service to decor, and are always happy to hear when our guests' have...More

Reviewed August 30, 2020 via mobile

Late afternoon lunch with the family. The calamari app was salty, the hot lobster roll was small compared to other places in CT, the hamburger was very greasy & the burgundy chicken was just ok. Service was slow.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chapterone_ct, Owner at Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2020

Mark, thank you for your review. We really do appreciate the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. Our culinary team strives for excellence & we're disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal. We'd love to give...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Comfort Inn Guilford Near I-95
159 reviews
1.36 miles away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
80 reviews
2.47 miles away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
1,104 reviews
3.99 miles away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Branford - Guilford
96 reviews
4.19 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Guilford Bistro and Cafe
214 reviews
.33 miles away
The Place
295 reviews
.46 miles away
South Lane Bistro
99 reviews
.10 miles away
Bufalina
89 reviews
.32 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bishop's Orchards
207 reviews
.76 miles away
Henry Whitfield State Museum
46 reviews
.55 miles away
Greene Art Gallery
6 reviews
.01 miles away
Hyland House Museum
7 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CHAPTER ONE FOOD & DRINK GUILFORD - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Order Online Food Delivery - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford

Chapter One Food & Drink Guilford is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3