We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
El Sabor offers authentic Mexican and Latin Fair at affordable pricing. The bar offers a large selection of tequilas, also hand made margaritas and seasonal cocktail menus. The margaritas are made from 100% freshly squeezed lime juice and agave nectar. The family, friendly atmosphere and incredible views are sure to offer something for everyone.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Latin, Mexican, Bar, Pub
FEATURES
Parking Available, Television, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
79
79
32
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
79
79
32
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tacos chips and salsa burger great mexican food the lion square lodge lionshead village gore creek margaritas gondola deck servers
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

This would be a great place to come for drinks. I don't suggest coming for food other than chips and salsa. Our dinner was mediocre at best. It arrived lukewarm, the cheese on the enchiladas not completely melted. And it wasn't as if the place...was packed at the time. Overpriced for what it is. Well located, though.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate the compliment on our drinks! We're sorry that you weren't satisfied with your food and would like to learn more about your visit. Please email us at elsaborvail@gmail.com at your convenience and let us know what day and time you dined in our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sit out on the deck on a nice day and enjoy a fabulous view. They have a full bar and pleasant staff. The food is wonderful and as I said, BEST HAMBURGERS IN TOWN.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We love bringing our traditional Latin flavors to the Vail Valley! We're happy to know that you loved our hamburger as well as the gorgeous view from our deck. We can't wait to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location right on the Gore creek with good food and service. Always a favorite stop each time I'm in Vail.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the 5-star review! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food and location! We truly value having a spot with such great views in Lionshead. We can't wait to see you again next time you're in Vail!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in for lunch, only 4 people in the place, they refused to let my wife who wasn’t real hungry order off the kids menu. Unbelievable!!!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we apologize that your visit was unsatisfactory. We would like to learn more about your experience. Please reach out to us at elsaborvail@gmail.com

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I got the sabor tacos which were good, but not great (too much meat-to-everything-else ratio, based on my personal preference). The chips and salsa/queso were solid. My friend and I took our two 4-year-olds, and the restaurant was very family friendly. Service was very friendly...but slow - after waiting for our check for about 15-20 min we had to get up and go find our server (who was chatting with staff at the bar). One thing that was OUTSTANDING (the best I encountered during our trip) was the way they treated restrictions/allergies. My son has 7 anaphylactic allergies (on top of being vegetarian). I ordered the Impossible burger for him and the chef came out to talk to me about the allergies, their precautions in the kitchen, potential for cross-contamination, etc. I even forgot his epi-pens in the car and still felt safe because of their level of care. They took it seriously and that was appreciated so much.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 27, 2021 via mobile

Happy hour prices were good, 2 tacos for $5, margaritas $6. The food was nothing exceptional. Nice outdoor seating on the deck.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2021

We appreciate the compliment on our great happy hour specials! We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your food and would like to learn more about your visit. Please email us at elsaborvail@gmail.com at your convenience and let us know what day and...More

Reviewed September 15, 2021

I liked the casual outdoor setting and the vibe was fun and outdoorsy - just what you want after a day of hiking. Servers were personable. Food was decent at a price that was very fair, especially for Vail. The Salsa was maybe the best...I've ever had. The El Sabor really should print a menu! Diners are to order by looking the online menu on their phones! I thought that was weird, and a challenge because I didn't bring my glasses. Even a photocopy would be helpful! Nonetheless, I would return and would recommend El Sabor to other visiorsMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avid T, Owner at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We love bringing our traditional Latin flavors to the Vail Valley! We pride ourselves in having affordable prices for the location we are in. We're happy to know that you loved our salsa...More

Reviewed September 6, 2021 via mobile

After having only mediocre food during my trip in Vail, this place was an absolute treasure to find!!! Walking in, the deck and views had my attention but the strawberry Margarita had heart. The queso was fabulous and all the food was just as wonderful....Our waiter was super helpful and this restaurant is also very dog friendly. Not to mention they play some very rad music and the vibe is very chill. All and all, we will definitely be visiting this place again and I am so excited to eat the remainder of my food later tonight. Strongly recommend!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, Owner at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review, Monda! We love bringing our traditional Latin flavors to the Vail Valley! We're happy to know that you loved our strawberry margarita as well as the gorgeous view from our deck and our...More

Reviewed August 27, 2021

Loved this place on our last two visits, but this year I would have to say that the best part of our meal was the chips and salsa! The place was deserted when we entered early on a Sunday evening. A few more people did...arrive after we were seated. Service is friendly enough. Probably happy to have someone to talk to for a few minutes!! The menu is varied and we have experienced good food in the past. Two of us ordered chicken enchiladas with beans and rice. This was without a doubt the dullest, blandest Mexican dish I have ever had. I did enjoy the side salad! I don't remember what our Teen ordered, is was so non-descript. Like I said, we enjoyed the chips and salsa. Vail was "different" this year, perhaps because of COVID and the difficulty hiring people, but it seems like a number of the establishments just don't care. We'll think twice about coming back.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avid T, Owner at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2021

Thank you for taking time to provide us with some feedback on your recent dining experience with us, Nancy. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our chips and salsa plus the side salad, but we are disappointed that the rest of your meal...More

Reviewed August 18, 2021 via mobile

What a horrible experience! Had my reception catered just steps from their restaurant, as we live locally year round. Sarah and a partner delivered our food (was charged for THREE people to set up at $25/each), and besides not getting our fajitas for our guests...(~$600 charge), we ordered at least six tubs of guacamole and received only two. I’m writing this review not because of those mistakes, but we had to ASK for the refund, even though Sarah said she found our food sitting in the kitchen after she’d set up our food. And what, just going to skip it and charge us anyway? When we brought it up, she said she’d take care of it, but argued about the $60 missing guacamole.. Why would we lie? We’d have rather have served the guacamole for our guests than save $60, otherwise we wouldn’t have ordered it. The real kicker is now six weeks later, with no refund for the fajitas we were charged for and never got (Sarah refuses to refund our missing guacamole costs), her reply was curt and said this was already taken care of. Uhhhh…..we didn’t ask again because we are scamming, we really didn’t get the refund. Now just received an email saying the refund will be processed and to expect a 5-10 business day delay. Poor, poor customer service.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 31, 2021 via mobile

Located in Lionshead village, at the bottom of the mountain right on the gondola. Good variety of Mexican comfort food.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2021

Thanks for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed the traditional flavors of our Mexican food dishes! It's all about great flavors at great prices in Lionshead Village. Come see us next time you're hitting the mountain!

Reviewed March 20, 2021

We were staying at the Lion Square Lodge and had dinner at this restaurant twice. The first time I tried the roasted brussels sprouts and could not believe how delicious they were! I wanted to go back to this restaurant a second time just for...that, they were that good! I also had the mahi mahi tacos which were also delicious. The service was great and our family really enjoyed it!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2021

Thank you for this wonderful 5-star review! It's our pleasure to serve up delicious dishes, like our highly regarded brussels sprouts and mahi mahi tacos, at really great prices for a resort town. Come see us again for more great service and food next time...More

Reviewed January 26, 2021 via mobile

Food was good. Our server was amazing, he made sure that we were happy with the service. Will be returning again during our stay.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2021

Thanks for the kind words and 5-star rating! Customer service and great flavor are both important to us, so we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your server and our food! We look forward to serving you again next time you're in our corner of...More

Reviewed January 25, 2021

We went in to order take out but the host said we would have to place the order online (we were standing already in the restaurant!?). So we went home and ordered online - had to put in contact info including name, cell number, etc....Gave me a time to pick it up (90 min later) Went to pick it up at that time and the same host tells me that the food has been sitting there about 30 minutes. I told her this is the exact time the on-line system gave me and she said "yeah, this happens a lot - if the clock on the computer is still at your old time the online system gives you the pick-up time based on that time zone, not Mountain Time". Why would it not automatically give you your pick up time in the local time zone?? Why would they ask for my phone number then not call or text me to let me know the food is ready?? If this happens a lot and food is sitting there, why not at least call the customer and let them know the food is ready and has been sitting a few minutes?? Or better yet, if it happens often, then why not fix the online ordering system pick up time to local time?? Why not offer to comp an item for the inconvenience? The food was tasty but cold - and they forgot lettuce on the taco and Oreos with kids meal. Overall highly disappointingMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Colby L, General Manager at El Sabor, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2021

We understand your frustration, but there is no way for our online ordering program to actually address this as it is unable to know how each person’s clock is set on their laptop. We're also operating on a skeleton crew due to COVID, so unfortunately,...More

Reviewed September 5, 2020

We had a great experience with Holly our bartender last night! She was very personable, friendly, and took great care of us! The Diablo burger was fantastic and the margaritas were great! Will definitely be back and hope Holly will be working that night!!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lion Square Lodge
300 reviews
.02 miles away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
735 reviews
.06 miles away
The Hythe, a Luxury Collection Resort, Vail
79 reviews
.15 miles away
Legendary Lodging at the Ritz Carlton Residences Vail
212 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Swiss Chalet - Vail
850 reviews
.58 miles away
The Little Diner
1,171 reviews
.12 miles away
Bully Ranch Restaurant
889 reviews
.58 miles away
Annapurna
304 reviews
.35 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Adventure Ridge
219 reviews
.16 miles away
Piney River Trail (Upper)
19 reviews
.55 miles away
Lost Lake Trail
8 reviews
.49 miles away
Epic Discovery
87 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sightseer410918
May 29, 2021|
Answer
Response from vailcolby | Property representative |
Yes, we allow dogs on our patio as long as they're well-behaved and on a leash.
0
Votes
Christie R
August 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from vailcolby | Property representative |
Hey Christie. We do not accept Apple Pay. Just Visa, Master Card, Discover, and American Express.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Sabor

Yes, El Sabor offers takeout services.

El Sabor is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4