We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
We're Back! After a devastating fire in September 2013,The Gaslight is back up and running. Although the building is fresh and new, The Gaslight still features the same warm, friendly atmosphere. We look forward to seeing all our old friends again and to meeting new visitors! -The Gaslight Team
PRICE RANGE
$8 - $23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
107
52
19
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
107
52
19
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pepperoni rolls steak prime rib indian taco wings pasta burrito rapid city bear country wonderful waiter black hills mount rushmore would highly recommend this restaurant food was great decided to give it a try south dakota tasted great
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 28, 2020

It was our last night of our trip and we wanted to celebrate with our dear friends prior to parting company. This place had such good reviews on this site that we decided to give it a try. What a complete let down for us....We should have gotten our first clue when we entered the restaurant and were not greeted by the several employees at the desk who let us stand there with our hands in our pockets rather than say "Hello, we will be right with you"! I know they had had a very busy night prior to us getting there and that might account for some of the issues we had, but certainly not all of them. First, when bringing our drinks to the table, the waitress threw down one single straw. There were four of us. When we caught her later to ask for more, she threw down two more straws. as she was going by our table. Yes....she threw them across our table. It took another request for all four of us to get a straw! They were out of several of things our group tried to order, which left us having to scour the menu again for more selections. The waitress was impatient with us and seemed in a big hurry (which accounts for the straw throwing). She might have avoided the issue of having to wait on our order by telling us BEFORE HAND what they were out of. We waited quite some time for our meals and when they arrived....ughhh. The baked potatoes were so old and so cold the butter would not melt. I had ordered the special which was a fish dish that was so overly seasoned and so full of bones that I was either coughing from the seasoning or pulling tiny bones out of my mouth. The fish also had a strong and awful fishy taste. It was a total waste of money. My husband expressed his complete disappointment with his meal as well and our friends were also let down. What should have been a wonderful evening for us turned out to be a bad way to end a very special trip for us. Never again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2020

We would like to apologize for your experience. As you probably saw by our many positive reviews this is NOT the Gaslight standard that we expect for our customers. There is no excuse for such a poor end to your trip to The Black Hills....More

Reviewed September 22, 2020

Good food and hard to find restaurants after season and that are open on a Sunday. This was on our way to Bear Country. The food was great and we could eat outside.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2020

We are glad you found us and were able to enjoy your meal comfortably outside away from the crowds. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, it's truly appreciated.

Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

We had not eaten here in ages so thought we would give it a try. It is still a unique, charming, and yet quaint place. Though the menu seems to have been pared down considerably from what we remembered, there are still ample selections to...fit any needs. I tried the Indian taco. It was just the right side and absolutely loaded. The greens were fresh and crisp. However, the ample portion of the meat was somewhat underwhelming in terms of flavor. It really needs a bit more spice to liven it up. The salsa was equally mild. I did get mine with the 50 cent upcharge of jalapenos which gave the meal a bit more punch, but the key is the meat. And some beans may help. My wife had the chicken parmigiana sandwich. She said it was quite good though a bit sloppy to eat. She had to use a knife and fork as it had a bit too much sauce for her tastes. We also had one glass of wine and a couple of beers. All that was less than $40 so it is a good bargain.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 24, 2020

We were staying closee to this restaurant and decided to give it a try based on it's reviews. We were not disappointed in the least. My husband's steak was perfect and my Indian Taco was so large I couldn't eat it all. Sid was a...great waitress and ask for her when you come in! Thanks Sid for all your local recommendations of where to visit. Too bad we are only here one night. We will stop again when we come through in the future.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
GLRestaurantSaloon, Owner at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope to see you again!

Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

We had a group and stopped for dinner. Since we weren’t very hungry, my hubby and I decided to share the 16 oz rib eye. This steak was tender and had a delicious marinade/sauce over it! It came with fried potatoes but i believe there...was jalapeños in it which had a little too much bite for me. Everyone enjoyed their selections and I would definitely go again!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

We are thrilled that you had a great experience at The Gaslight! We know steak here in South Dakota can't just be good... it has to be GREAT! The Fat Tire Ribeye is our most popular special so we are glad you enjoyed it. Thank...More

Reviewed August 4, 2020 via mobile

Food was good and service was great. The menu is limited at the moment, I assume due to COVID because the menu posted here on Trip Advisor is a full menu and not what they currently have. Pepperoni rolls were very good.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

We appreciate our great staff and are glad that you did too! Thanks for being understanding about the temporary limited selection. You were absolutely right that it is due to Covid-19. We hope to have our full selection as soon as possible. We are glad...More

Reviewed July 15, 2020

Everything we do these days is viewed from concern for personal safety and for others, We visited in the late afternoon on the way to Mount Rushmore and were very pleased. We sat on the large covered area which essentially is outside space, socially distant...from others. The staff and everyone we encountered was wonderful. By chance, our party of three all had steak and salad and I also had a local beer. We would gladly go again and encourage others to visit Mount Rushmore, including the addirional drive to see George Washington's profile that can be seen on the drive around to the far side. An AMAZING overall experience.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

Thank you for stopping in. We are glad you were able to sit on the outside patio and feel comfortable dining with us. Our guests safety and comfort are a priority for us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at The Gaslight as well...More

Reviewed July 14, 2020 via mobile

Thank you so much Gaslight employees for giving us great service and keeping us entertained. We loved having you so close to our lodge and consider staying there again thanks to you!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GLRestaurantSaloon, Guest Relations Manager at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2020

Thank you! We are happy to be able to serve guests from the Rockerville Lodge and that it is just a short walk across the street. We truly enjoy meeting new people and welcoming them to our little neck of the woods. We hope that...More

Reviewed July 8, 2020

We stopped by for dinner and in spite of it being a busy evening we were very happy with our meal and service. My cheeseburger was perfectly cooked and my husband tried the Chislic which is a specialty in South Dakota. It was really good!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GLRestaurantSaloon, Owner at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2020

Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and got to try our South Dakota specialty, chislic, a local favorite!

Reviewed July 7, 2020

We dined out at Gaslight on July 3. We had 13 people in our group. It was my parents 49th wedding anniversary. My dad had bought flowers for my mom which they kept in their cooler until dinner. The service was excellent (very friendly, professional...and prompt). The food was also well prepared and came out quickly. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in the area.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
GLRestaurantSaloon, Owner at The Gaslight, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2020

Thanks for choosing The Gaslight to celebrate your parents Wedding anniversary! We are thrilled to have been able to host your party and that you had a wonderful experience. We appreciate the kind review and recommendation! We wish your parents many more anniversaries to come!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Econo Lodge Mt. Rushmore Memorial
201 reviews
4.75 miles away
Happy Holiday Resort
84 reviews
5.03 miles away
Brookside Motel
231 reviews
5.33 miles away
Battle Creek Lodge
413 reviews
5.42 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Grapes & Grinds
223 reviews
5.90 miles away
Powder House Lodge Restaurant
1,471 reviews
5.22 miles away
Janes Boardwalk Pizza
453 reviews
5.62 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Reptile Gardens
2,204 reviews
4.91 miles away
Bear Country USA
4,010 reviews
3.32 miles away
America's Founding Fathers Exhibit
213 reviews
4.56 miles away
Old MacDonald's Farm
180 reviews
1.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Resort67711886259
October 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Davy1950inv | Reviewed this property |
YEs, they do have a kids menu
1
Vote
bdittes
May 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GLRestaurantSaloon | Property representative |
Yes we do. The Bluegrass Jam is every Thursday evening starting at about 6:30 or 7:00.
1
Vote
jennopocensky
July 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GLRestaurantSaloon | Property representative |
We don't have a gluten free menu, however, we have been able to accommodate people with gluten free options. We do like to remind people that we make our own bread in house and use high gluten flour so you should keep that... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing