We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
About
The Cow / An Eatery is a freshly updated mountain town diner. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. We have an outside walk up ice cream window for your enjoyment and a cozy rear patio to dine on, along Bear Creek. We pride ourselves on serving fresh, local food and beverages. Full bar, espresso and coffee menu, and soft serve ice cream and other decadent desserts.
PRICE RANGE
$4 - $19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Cafe
FEATURES
Television, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
159
117
45
19
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
159
117
45
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger salad red rocks green chili parking lot hike town colorado
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 11, 2024

We stopped at the Cow An Eatery and were pleasantly surprised with the delicious food and friendly and helpful wait staff.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thomas, we are so appreciative of your review. Thank you for giving us a try and we can’t wait to have you back in soon.

Reviewed April 6, 2024

First time and we will come back! The seafood Mac n Cheese was excellent. Also, the Moment tortilla soup was great. The wait staff was friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2024

ThomasW146, Thanks so much for giving us a try, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We cannot wait to see you again.

Reviewed January 3, 2024 via mobile

While the place is sort of cool looking, the food was just OK. Service was good, and they have limited free parking. Prices were a bit high for what you get.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2024

Experienced Travelers, Thank you so much for visiting and giving us a try. We appreciate your feedback. Was there something more specific about your food that you would be willing to share so we can improve?

Reviewed November 16, 2023

We had a great lunch here on the way to Red Rocks. Best fried pickle ever. Service couldn't have been more attentive and efficient.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2023

Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are happy you decided to stop in and give us a try and we hope to have you back very soon.

Reviewed October 26, 2023 via mobile

Happened upon this place leaving Denver. Quaint little town and this restaurant had a sweet back porch with a babbling brook. I had the cheesesteak sandwich and fries for lunch. Very tasty and quick service.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2023

Thank you so much for the visit and the very nice review. We appreciate your business.

Reviewed September 26, 2023

My daughter, a new Colorado resident, had heard fabulous things about this place. But when she, her husband and her two sons (4 and 7) attempted to stop here on a weekend, the wait was just too long. I was with her for this second...attempt to hear what all the rave reviews were about. She, my two grandsons and I decided we were going to wait it out even though the wait was 30 minutes and it was drizzling outside. Give them credit, they did our party of four in just about 30 minutes. Then the trouble started. My daughter asked the server who came to our table to get drinks and food for the two fidgety boys while she and I perused the full menu. She ordered two Shirley Temples, a hot dog and a corn dog. Within minutes (or so it seemed), two corn dogs showed up. Um, that was 1 corn dog, and 1 hot dog. The server looked indignantly at her notes. To save her any embarrassment I said, "You know what, I will take the corn dog but please bring a hot dog for my grandson." She marched away. A second server soon appeared with the hot dog, but we pointed out neither we or the boys had received their drinks yet. That server flew off, returned with the lemonade and ice tea we ordered, but not drinks for the boys. "Oh, we have to get lids on those drinks, I will be right back." True to her word, she returned with the drinks at which point my daughter pointed out she still had not ordered her food. Needless to say, by the time her food arrived, the grandsons and I had finished our meals as well as our drinks. My daughter enjoyed her vegetarian chili relleno. Beyond that I can't comment on the food because all I had was a corn dog. Our original server never returned to our table. Three other servers either delivered orders, checked up on us once and brought the check. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, the server was new and simply didn't listen. The delay in getting drinks was, in my opinion, inexcusable. The other servers bailed out the one gal but the experience could have been so much better.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2023

Hi Ken, We're very aware of your visit, as you know the manager visited your table, was very apologetic, and being a father himself, completely understood your frustrations. He even assisted you all in celebrating your daughter's birthday with some free ice cream. The server...More

Reviewed September 2, 2023 via mobile

Great place! Great environment! Great service! We sat on the patio with our dog and had a great time. We will be back at a later date.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2023

Thank you so much for the kind review. We appreciate it very much. We are excited to see you next time!

Reviewed August 23, 2023

We waited 45 min to get a seat but it wasn't worth the wait. Food was like a village inn or Dennys. Staff was too overwhelmed to give me a refill on drinks or check on us and we had to wait a long time...just to get the bill. We came in for brunch and left when it was lunch time. We decided to check out their famous ice cream at the window outside. Took 20 min just to get one single vanilla ice cream cone, that tasted like McDonald's. We were so disappointed. The parking is horrible too that we kept having to feed the meter since the beginning to end was almost 3 hours! Would not recommend and not worth it at all. Lots of other places on the strip and behind the strip tucked back that are much better.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2023

Thank you for giving us a try. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We do have a lot of new staff members since most of our summer staff recently returned to college which could explain why they may have been overwhelmed. We have...More

Reviewed August 2, 2023 via mobile

Great wholesome food in a quaint little diner. Solo traveler so ate at the bar, extremely comfortable and ALL the staff were attentive, not just the person who took my order. Would go back again!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2023

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are so glad you found us, and we look forward to serving you again very soon. Safe travels.

Reviewed June 15, 2023

Very busy, even until 3pm but the biggest issues were that I was hassled about my service dog, and the salads were bland (Brussels sprouts sorta cooked/not roasted and flavorless, dressings were boring, for ex). We wanted dessert and coffee (which they’re supposed to be...known for) but the server instead dropped off the check and walked away. We flagged down a different server who was at least friendly to finally get some coffee (no offer of refills forthcoming) My service dog is legit but I was told we have to sit outside “because you have a dog.” When my friend pointed out it was a service dog (well behaved, throughly trained for my medical conditions), the host first said it was a “health concern” then said it was a “safety concern because there wasn’t room“. I’m completely sympathetic with businesses having to put up with fake service dogs but my dog is clearly legit. I said all we have to do is move a chair and the dog will lay under the table (the chairs were too small for her to fit under). She told us again that we’d have to sit outside. I said “I call BS on that” and she finally said she’d ask someone else. The manager was nice, handled it very well and coached the employee on where she went wrong — but meanwhile, we’re left standing for ten minutes in the middle of the restaurant!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2023

386sheryls, We're sorry that the experience regarding your service dog was perceived as "hassling". Our new host was not simply not aware your dog was a service animal. The manager on duty did coach her and mentor the situation immediately upon the incident, as you...More

Reviewed May 28, 2023

Great spot for a meal while in the area. Sat outside and enjoyed the scenery. Was looking for a place to grab a quick breakfast while on way to hike at Red Rock. This location was perfect. Did window service and ate outside, enjoying the...scenery.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri Lind, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2023

Mike, thank you for the kind review. We appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed March 29, 2023

visited with family/young kids. The huevos rancheros were amazing - staff friendly and fun to the kids. comfortable - perfect

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri L, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2023

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are so glad you found us and certainly hope you dine with us again very soon.!

Reviewed March 2, 2023 via mobile

Unfortunately I was ignored for several minutes. Stood by the entrance near the please wait to be seated sign, waited patiently for at least several minutes. My presence wasn’t acknowledged. I moved on. This occurred on March second around 245pm.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri L, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2023

Almarcusp23- Well -- this is embarrassing. We are so thankful for your review as you mention the exact day and time you were in. We were able to pull up our store video and see that you were indeed ignored by our staff for 3...More

Reviewed November 6, 2022

My friends and I were driving to hiking spots southwest of Denver and stopped in Morrison for lunch. We decided on The Cow An Eatery, which turned out to be a very good choice! The restaurant has been there for many years, and still has...the charm of a well-known, well-loved local place. We were seated on the enclosed patio, which was delightful given the good weather. Our waitress, Hattie, was friendly and efficient, and processed our requests for modifications to our order with a smile. We started with the fried pickles, which were scrumptious, and then each of us enjoyed our meals. I had the brussels sprouts salad, one friend had the 1/3-pound burger, and a third had the “famous fish n’ chips”. Everything was delicious and all the flavors were fresh. The Cow An Eatery serves good food in a kitschy, homey atmosphere. If you’re looking for the genuine Colorado small-town vibe, this is the place to be!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri L, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2022

Galeda, we are thrilled you gave us a try. Thank you for the kind review. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again very soon.

Reviewed October 11, 2022

Once again its hit or miss at the Cow Eatery. Just came back from lunch where my order was a complete miss. I ordered a bison burger medium rare with extra cheddar and crispy fries. After waiting 20 minutes the fries were like raw potatoes,...totally inedible and had to be thrown out. By the time I got the fries ordered the way I wanted I was already done with my burger. The burger had one slice of american cheese which they then thru on another american single. The burger was cooked perfect but the rest was a debacle. This place is great sometimes and totally clueless other times. Also, they let food sit up on the counter under the heat lamp waaay to long. Some meals sat up there over 10 minutes as employees walked by but did nothing. My waiter took down my order wrong as I ordered extra cheddar but the bill showed american cheese. Again, clueless.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri L, Owner at The Cow An Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2022

Christopher, thanks for the feedback. We're sorry that you felt that your meal was a "debacle". You didn't mention any issues other than asking for crispier French fries which came out as soon as they were cooked. We do not keep fries cooked ahead of...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
La Quinta Inn & Suites By Wyndham Littleton/red Rocks
107 reviews
3.54 miles away
Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites Denver Southwest, Littleton
15 reviews
3.60 miles away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Golden - Denver Area, an IHG Hotel
172 reviews
4.74 miles away
Hampton Inn Denver-West/Golden
1,009 reviews
4.74 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Prague
206 reviews
.07 miles away
Red Rocks Grill
214 reviews
.05 miles away
Willy's Wings
63 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Morrison Natural History Museum
140 reviews
.36 miles away
Mount Falcon Castle Trail
108 reviews
.63 miles away
Bandimere Speedway
49 reviews
.68 miles away
Chapel at Red Rocks
13 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tkring
September 23, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SherriL242 | Property representative |
We do allow well behaved dogs on leashes, and they need to sit under your table to allow serving staff to move freely on our patio floor so they are not tripping over dogs. Thank you.
1
Vote
sullico
October 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 903sherril | Property representative |
We offer a gluten friendly menu. There is a lot of opportunity for cross contamination in our kitchen, so we cannot be completely gluten free. We offer GF breads and have a variety of salads as well.
0
Votes
Cyrielle M
March 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SherriL242 | Property representative |
We do not serve breakfast all day. Weekdays we serve breakfast from 7am-11 am. Weekends we serve breakfast from 7am-12pm.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE COW AN EATERY, Morrison - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Order Online Food Delivery - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cow An Eatery

Yes, The Cow An Eatery offers takeout services.

Yes, The Cow An Eatery is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Cow An Eatery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4