We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby

Glen Rise, Oadby, Leicester LE2 4RG, England
+44 116 259 2229
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good16%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (14 reviews)
“ravioli” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Glen Rise, Oadby, Leicester LE2 4RG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on Sunday with some friends. Was greeted by a really smiley woman who promptly took us to a table. The service was very friendly and quick. Very personable but not too much. When the food arrived we couldn't believe the portion sizes, there was...More

Thank HayleyP14
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. Glad and really happy to read that you decided to review us 5* We at Goodwin's strive to deliver great personal service and so glad to read that we achieved this on your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to come here all the time and yes the place needed a serious makeover and has become a lovely looking dining place. But it seems the staff can't cope with it becoming table service and you have to wait to be seated. Now...More

1  Thank PDKJ
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectation on your recent visit. I have shared this review with my Managment Team to ensure that this does not happen again and that we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having heard this restaurant was under new management and read some favourable reviews I decided to give it a try for Sunday lunch. We hadn't booked so went after the lunchtime rush arriving at 3pm and sure enough the dining room was quites empty. Then...More

3  Thank Else100
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really sorry to read that we did not get the opportunity to showcase what we offer here at Goodwin's. As you are aware we do get very busy here, sorry to read that you were...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first visit to the revamped restaurant good wins, the place is lovely,we had booked for 8 persons, we waited 10 mins before my husband had to ask the waiter for our seats, then we had to wait ages before my husband had...More

Thank veronicapH8751UV
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really sorry to read that we failed you on your last visit with us and that you were not happy with the service that you recieved. I will share this review with the team at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here regularly, approximately twice a month. The food is always freshly cooked, and they will tweak the menu where possible. Steaks are cooked exactly as ordered, and it's one of the few places to get the squid in Panko done to perfection. My...More

Thank Helen P
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really happy you love our Calamari and steaks and they are always to your perfection. Such kind reviews only help us grow the business and deliver what our guests expect and enjoy. We really look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First st time I visited was the 28th April 2017 with my mum and 2 friends. We had a fantastic time and we were really looked after as soon as we walked through the door till we left. And Goodwins were busy as well but...More

Thank Sophie9584
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really glad to tread that you enjoy what we offer here at Goodwin's and that you enjoyed your last visit. We as a team strive on such feedback and can not wait to welcome you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great venue, disappointing kitchen. New style management old style menu. This kind of food was served in the eighties and deserves to be served in prisons. The roast dinner was the worst I have ever tasted in my life. I ordered the vegan butternut roast...More

3  Thank Lorrainejanew
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am really sorry to read that we failed to deliver what we are proud of on your recent visit, as you can see from the below reviews that this is not normal practice so...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been to this restaurant a few months ago and had poor service and had to send 2 meals back, we decided to try again last night, prompt service when we arrived, food was very good as was our server (Fasel) who was very attentive...More

1  Thank Mike B
Paul H, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Really glad you enjoyed what we offer and that Faisal looked after you, he remembers you well and is really pleased that you mentioned his name. Goodwin's would love to welcome you back in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our previous visit in early May this year was the reason for our return last night. However, neither the food nor the service were up to its earlier standard. Both my wife's ravioli and the chips accompanying my steak should have been hotter. The portions...More

1  Thank Steven B
SmileyApril, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Goodwin's bar and Kitchen oadby. I am really sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit, as you have visited us before you know that this is not...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ate here whilst staying in the adjoining Premier Inn, eating breakfast on every morning of my stay, and dinner on three of the nights. Every single meal was much enjoyed and was cooked beautifully. Service, however, was variable. Some waiting staff were outstanding whilst...More

Thank BigWoo
Paul H, General Manager at Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a review. Happy to read that you enjoy our food offering here at Goodwin's and you dined with us so often on your stay. I have shared this review with the team to enable consistency, but glad you overall enjoyed our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pug & Greyhound
134 reviews
.87 miles away
The Yews
448 reviews
.72 miles away
Grange Farm
372 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wistow Maze
173 reviews
1.53 miles away
The Tap and Barrel
9 reviews
2.45 miles away
University of Leicester Botanic Garden
267 reviews
2.71 miles away
The Wheel Inn
8 reviews
1.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Goodwins Bar & Kitchen Oadby staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Glen Rise, Oadby, Leicester LE2 4RG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Leicester  >  Oadby
  • Phone Number: +44 116 259 2229
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing