We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Wok

Claimed
Order Online
Grubhub

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Menu

APPETIZERS‏
Edamame
China Plate
Crispy Chicken Won Tons
Vegetable Spring Rolls
Stuffed Eggplant
Potstickers
City Wok Gyoza Bao
Szechuan Chicken Dumplings
Korean Barbecue Short Ribs
Barbeque Chicken Skewers
SOUPS & SALADS
Hot & Sour
Won Ton
Chicken & Corn
Spicy Saigon Noodle
Chinese Chicken Salad
Chin's Spinach Salad
HOUSE SPECIALS‏
Chicken Lettuce Cups
Chinese Burrito
Kung Pao Combo
Candied Walnut Shrimp
Garlic Chili Scallops
Spicy Salt & Pepper Calamari
Shanghai Potato Scramble
Gai Bowl w/ Veggies
CHICKEN
City Wok Chicken
Spicy Chili Bean Chicken
Peppercorn Chicken
Curry Chicken
Kung Pao Chicken
Sesame Chicken
Cashew Chicken
Moo Goo Gai Pan
Lemon Chicken
Sweet & Sour Chicken
BEEF‏
City Wok Beef
Mongolian Beef
Beef & String Beans
Broccoli Beef
Sesame Beef
Chinese Pepper Steak
SHRIMP
City Wok Shrimp
Kung Pao Shrimp
Garlic Shrimp
Shrimp w/ Snow Peas
Shrimp in Black Bean Sauce
Shrimp w/ Lobster Sauce
Spicy Chili Bean Shrimp
Honey Sesame Shrimp
PORK‏
Twice Cooked Pork
Sweet & Sour Pork
Garlic Pork
BBQ Pork w/ Chinese Vegetables
Hot Shredded Pork
VEGETABLES
Dried Fried String Beans
Spicy Chili String Beans
Tofu-Edamame
Buddha's Feast
Just Broccoli
Hot Braised Tofu
Chinese Greens
Szechuan Eggplant
Lemon Garlic Spinach w/ Crispy Fried Onions
RICE & NOODLES‏
Lo Mein w/ Choice of Meat
House Lo Mein
Chow Mein
Pan Fried Noodles w/ Assorted Vegetables
Chow Fun
Singapore Rice Noodles
Special Lo Mein
Fried Rice
Yang Chow Fried Rice
City Wok Curry Rice w/ Shrimp & Pineapple
About
City Wok offers fresh, made from scratch Chinese cuisine at affordable prices. Each dish is made to order using the highest quality ingredients. It's our 23rd year in the Coachella Valley. Dine in. Efficient take out and delivery.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Parking Available
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
94
114
62
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
114
62
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonton soup city wok chicken spare ribs string beans garlic chicken moo shu won ton lettuce wraps spring rolls burrito soups fries chinese food take out half order fresh ingredients large portions
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is our first stop every winter when we’re arrive in Palm Desert. We love the Wonton soup, the City Wok chicken, and the Honey Sesame Shrimp. Service staff is accommodating and friendly, Portions are large, with half orders available,

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank terriw986
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in town and didn't feel like going out. We ordered for delivery, very fast and the food was very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank DMunsey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

four of us ate there for dinner. the only good item was the spare ribs the mongolian beef was slimy and awful tasting, the rice fried rice was tasteless, and the crab rangoon was horribleMore

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank bonus02180
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Bonus. We appreciate the fact that you liked the ribs as you and your party sound like you must really know food. The Honey Bbq Ribs are one of our more popular items and we sell out of them frequently. Regarding the Mongolian Beef,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband is not a fan of Asian-style food and did not know what he wanted to order. He told the server what he likes and does not like..from this the server made recommendations. The orange chicken with hunks of pineapple was perfect for my...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank labguides
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Labguides. Thank you very much for the kind words. It sounds as though your husband ordered Sweet and Sour Chicken as the Orange Chicken does not come with pineapple. Hope to see you again as our Orange Chicken (City Wok Chicken) is the most...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not fresh, poor quality! the lobster sauce was some smelly fishy gooey stuff on frozen shrimp n bamboo shoots. Teriyaki chicken didn’t look or taste like chicken also smelled funny and with no real teriyaki sauce. Too much white rice and menu said vegetables but...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank LWKnowsBest2015
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear LWKnowsBest. We sincerely apologize that you were this unhappy with your meal. It is understandable that we cannot possibly please everyone. However, for the past 24 years in Palm Desert, the one thing we do serve is FRESH food. Every item on our menu...More

Reviewed January 8, 2019

Oriental food. You can share everything very large portions. Does not accept reservations. Food is good not great. Fast service. Large takeout business.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank mdsshapiro
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

I was overcharged. The food was terrible; cold, bland and chewy. They ran out of chicken and served beef instead?! I don't even like beef! No apology, nor refund. The service was terrible and I waited over an hour for my food (which was a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Happydays54321
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Hello Happydays. Doesn't sound like a good visit. That's for sure. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you suffered this Holiday weekend. It was certainly one of the busiest we've ever experienced. Yes, we were quoting upwards of an hour for take out orders. Yes,...More

Reviewed December 29, 2018

Just visited Palm Desert for the first time (yup, ready to move there!:)). My friend and I stayed at the Westin Desert Willows, and their consierge recommeded City Wok. And the were spot on! We walked there from our villa (about 1.5 miles) to have...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SBSCalifornia
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Wow SBS. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves on a fresh, made to order product that's tasty too. Rosa and the rest of the staff appreciate your kind words. Take care. Stuart Davis

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

We found ourselves at Shadow Ridge not really wanting to venture out and discovered City Wok delivered Ordering online proved to be a challenge but a call to them resolved the problem As my dining companion accurately assessed....”it’s not the best Chinese food I ever...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank davefoshee
Reviewed December 11, 2018

If you like Chinese food and are in the Palm Desert area, this is a great place for a quick and enjoyable meal. Many selections to choose and at reasonable prices. City Wok also has take out service that can be easily enjoyed at your...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 1951Bud
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 nearby hotels
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2,579 reviews
.40 miles away
Embarc Palm Desert
285 reviews
.42 miles away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
510 reviews
.54 miles away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
1,204 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 318 nearby restaurants
Cork Tree California Cuisine
920 reviews
.02 miles away
The Terrace Restaurant at Desert Willow Golf Resort
205 reviews
.78 miles away
Mikado at Desert Springs JW Marriott
330 reviews
.20 miles away
Rockwood Grill
313 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 122 nearby attractions
Desert Springs Golf Club
11 reviews
.20 miles away
Palm and Valley Golf Courses at Desert Springs
120 reviews
.20 miles away
Spa at Marriott's Desert Springs
100 reviews
.20 miles away
Maui Massage Spa
6 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
redstroud
December 15, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Woking88 | Property representative |
Hi, We have beer and wine only
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing