We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 11/25
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $35
CUISINES
Italian, American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
114
83
25
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
114
83
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ravioli steak avocado sandwich garlic bread crab louie prime rib sole french roll side salad sundae fries chicken old school san francisco portions are large food is excellent monday night
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 16, 2020 via mobile

We were there 15th and all 3 were disappointed in their meals. 1 person had Linguini and clams which lacked flavor. Lots of clams but no flavor. 2 people had the Rosted Ribeye dinner. The meat was TOUGH, hard to cut and hard to chew....The Cream Spinach was good, mashed potatoes seemed instant. None of us plan to return. Service was very good taking into consideration Covid restrictions. Al SchmadekeMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are very sorry to hear about your last visit and your disappointment. This is not the norm for our establishment, so we truly hope you are able to join us again in the future for the 5-star experience...More

Reviewed October 6, 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed a night out last night at Original Joe's. They've built a nice outdoor seating area in their parking lot with heaters. It was a cool foggy night but we felt very comfortable with spaced tables and heat lamps. Our dinner was outstanding...and portions were very, very generous. I loved my Chicken Parmesan (maybe the best I've had) and my husband was pleased with his order of Veal Piccata. I choose a side salad with blue cheese dressing instead of a pasta side with the chicken and it also was wonderful. We had two very nice servers and very good service.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Marketing at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

It's so important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their visit and we are so happy we were able to make that happen for you! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so glad...More

Reviewed August 25, 2020 via mobile

We stopped here for a to go order on the way home from Half moon bay. It did not disappoint! On time when they said it would and as always wonderful food

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Thanks for this review, Fred! We are happy to hear it.

Reviewed July 10, 2020

We decided to order take out from Original Joe’s Westlake on July 7, 2020. The restaurant is officially open for dining indoors but we are not ready to do this yet with the recent burst of Covid-19 cases reported in California. We’ll stick to take...out. We ordered the mini-sliders (3) with fries along with the grilled chicken sandwich with a side salad. Both items were quite good and was a nice break from cooking at home. There were not a lot of people eating inside but there were a few takeout orders which are picked up the bar. We like Original Joe’s and recommend it.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
OriginalJoes1937, Marketing at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Chris, thank you for leaving such a great review and 4 stars. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your take out!

Reviewed June 21, 2020

Same excellent tasty food as always. Great service! Order a half-hour before you want to pick-up. Drive up to entrance, roll down your window and they place your order in your car. Reasonable prices and good portions. Our entrees- veal picatta and a shrimp dish...come with sides- I had homemade ravioli as a side. Starters included garlic bread and a crab cake. Dinner comes with french bread as well. Total price including tip was under $100More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2020

We are so glad to see you enjoyed everything. Please stop by to join us again soon!

Reviewed March 22, 2020 via mobile

We had my dad’s Celebration of Life reception here The planner Tracey was very helpful Michelle and the staff were great The food and service was good as always Some family couldn’t stop saying how much they enjoyed the menu-which is one of the reasons...we chose Joe’s We come here often to dine in and take outMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2020

Thank you for your thoughtful review, Sel. We're glad to hear that your reception was just as positive as your previous visits with us! We want to thank you once again for your kind feedback!

Reviewed March 11, 2020

Went there with friends. The restaurant was nicely furnished and serviced was good. Parking was a bit difficult even on a Monday night despite a large car park. We shared a fried calamari dish as starter and it was OK. I had veal scallopini sauté...as main with spaghetti as a side. The veal was tender but the sauce was a bit overpowering. Spaghetti was very tasty. Two of my friends had pork chops and they were rather dry. My other friend had clam linguine and it was good. Servings were so huge that I only had half of it. Every single table had a doggy bag. My friend brought a nice bottle of wine and corkage was $15 which was very reasonable. It would be better if servings are smaller and the price reduced accordingly.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2020

Hi there, We are disappointed to see that your experience with us did not prompt a higher rating. We want all of our guests to have an off-the-charts experience, and we're sorry to see this was not the case. We hope you give us another...More

Reviewed February 21, 2020

Returned after a while. Server, Nathan was excellent..Food for both of us was very good. Portions are large. Lots of free parking. Will return in future

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Marketing at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Thanks for your awesome review! We're so happy you had a great experience with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed February 12, 2020 via mobile

We had a family visit to celebrate the birthday, food was awesome and the portions are just huge,we regretted that didn’t share one dish between me and my husband! Steak was perfect,they also have delicious pasta! Recommend!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Marketing at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2020

Hi, we really appreciate the kind words! We're so glad you and your party enjoyed your visit and we hope this means we will be seeing you again soon!

Reviewed January 10, 2020

I have dined at Original Joe’s many times and usually have a good time as long as I am with a party. For the third time now I found myself looking for dinner by myself and was immediately sat at the bar without any other...option. I received a menu after 10 min and asking three employees, I ordered Ribeye with Mashed potatoes with Garlic bread Appetizer and Diet Coke. I got my Coke after 15 Minutes my garlic bread after 40 minutes, I started eating and in anticipation of more issues ordered dessert to go. My steak came cooked after 50 minutes of waiting and I was then told they were out of mashed potatoes. So I got my entree served to me without a side, they then asked if I wanted a different side to go. I’m sorry but for the prices this restaurant charges and the amount of staff they have I should have had a better dining experience. I feel like my ticket was listed no one wanted to take responsibility so these series of issues occurred. I will not be dining here anytime soon after this experience if a restaurant cannot take accountability for their mistakes and be honest with their customers than it is not going to provide a nice dining experience for its customers. They ended up giving me a free dessert and said the manager would come talk to me which never happened.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
OriginalJoes1937, Owner at Original Joe's Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so very sorry to hear about your experience with us. Please rest assured that customer service that is not provided to its fullest is unacceptable, and I can assure you it will...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton Inn San Francisco - Daly City
982 reviews
1.06 miles away
El Camino Inn
140 reviews
1.50 miles away
Mission Inn
196 reviews
2.19 miles away
Mirage Inn & Suites
622 reviews
2.53 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
banana island
72 reviews
.19 miles away
Blue Line Pizza
27 reviews
.23 miles away
Burgermeister
26 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Thornton Beach State Park
20 reviews
.67 miles away
Mussel Rock Park
10 reviews
.78 miles away
Mar Vista Stables
30 reviews
.62 miles away
Fort Funston
158 reviews
.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lina I
October 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from TheBel | Reviewed this property |
California Casual. The waiters are dressed up but a great spot and busy. They will take care of you .
0
Votes
PatG728
May 11, 2017|
Answer
Response from ErinO1309 | Reviewed this property |
Somewhat depends on time of day. However, Joe's has two convenient private parking lots. Often, it's necessary to utilize the "upper" parking lot, accessed from Glenwood Drive. PS: Good thinking to "carpool".😊
0
Votes
tourcust25
May 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 911leanney | Reviewed this property |
Agreed. If you go, it's best when it first opens at 11am.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing