We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 1/16
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

This clear hit among locals has even spread to tourists—everyone comes back time and again. The owners bring hospitality to a new level, thanks to a jo...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Bib Gourmand: good quality, good value cooking
Comfortable restaurant
About
Authentic Mediterranean, Greek cuisine served with love and joy in the beautiful city of Carmel by the sea .
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
348
105
25
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
348
105
25
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummus kebab lamb grilled octopus rice the butternut squash ravioli filet mignon baklava mishmish chicken mediterranean cuisine wonderful meal aleppo entrees tomato monterey
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 19, 2020

Simple greek / med food that was certainly tasty but did lack imagination when presented. The Watermelon Salad was akin to playing Jenga than an attractive dish to tantalise the eyes and not just the belly - whilst simple (watermelon, crumbled feta, pine nuts and...a dollop of honey) it could have been so much better presented than a lego creation (sorry guys). The Ravioli was also great in texture, not to thick (or thin) and it held the squash in place but again the presentation let you down. It looked like a bowl of green life preservers - don't be afraid to add some colour (or sauce) to this dish to bring it to life, a nice cheesy cream sauce would have lifted this. I cam here for the Aleppo, whilst it was tasty, again the way it was presented lack so little imagination - plonking two kebabs on a plate isn't inspiring. You have great flavors here, show them off!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 28, 2020

We had a good dinner Yafa over Labor day weekend. Stopped by and got a table reserved for the evening. Nice seating outside but a little dark. Had the Gorgonzola fillet mignon which was perfectly cooked and delicious. The Jafa pasta with lamb and beef...also turned out to be quite good. Place got pretty packed as the evening wore on. Service was good too. Overall, a good experience.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 27, 2020

Such a bummer. Quality has gone way downhill. First time back since it has been owned by new owners and we will not be going back. Food was raw, skimpy and tasted like microwaved/instant rice with a ton of cinnamon sprinkled. We had to send...our food back. Owners were kind but it’s not how it use to be.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed May 29, 2020

These are challenging times for restaurants and they bend over backwards to serve their customers. My wife and I were staying at a nearby hotel and called Yafa to order a delightful Middle Eastern dinner for two to take out and eat in our room....The owner could not have been more gracious and giving. The food was excellent. I hope that as regulations continue to open up that Yafa will be able to continue to serve customers wonderful food and service. Recommended!More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed May 25, 2020 via mobile

we hoped to have a romantic eating date near the beach, enjoy the beautiful natural rocks on the Coast line (monterrey). we called in a TO GO ORDER at faya. due to covid they only offer to go orders so i assume they have packed...Many to go orders for customers. we got settled on a nice area and found out THERE WAS NO DISPOSABLE FORKS/SPOONS/KNIVES, NO NAPKINS, NO WIPES. forget about knives, WHERE ARE THE FORKS!?!??! i ended up having nasty sticky saucy pasta fingers. way to go for a first impression on your date! embarrasing! to the chef(s): great pasta! 👍 the moraccon chicken was somewhat way too heavily sweetened to my liking but otherwise that would have been very delicious too, and the ingredients used for the moroccan chicken was great!😋More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 28, 2020 via mobile

We visited at Peter church. We take a city sightseeing with it’s nice water front and historical places representing different history dates. Small shops and seafood restaurants are attractive. It s realatively war tel avev.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

Went here with my wife for my birthday. Absolutely loved everything about this place. The place is cozy, the food was unbelievably good but the best part was the owner Dia. He made us feel special right from the start and even sat with us,...toasted my birthday and shared some stories near the end of the meal. Can’t wait to go back!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020

I was charged by both Grubhub and Yafa, the restaurant, when I picked up my food. I called Grubhub and spoke to their customer service when I returned home from vacation. They explained to me that the restaurant would need to issue the refund because...Grubhub pays them through their partnership agreement. I called Yafa multiple times over the course of the following month, explaining to various employees that we were charged twice and I needed to be refunded. Each time they said that the owner would have to go into their system and approve the refund. On October 9th, after calling repeatedly the Employees at the restaurant gave me Ben, the owner’s phone number to deal with him directly. That same day I texted and called the owner explaining what happened and that I needed a refund. On October 10th, the owner responded via text by saying he would send a confirmation of the refund. He explained that he would have to go through the bank and said “I will send it ASAP.” On October 23rd, I texted the owner again saying there was still no refund, apologetic Ben explained that the credit card processor told him that it was handled. He further explained that the credit card company was going to have to be the one to handle the refund due to the fact that their computer system is not allowed to save CC numbers after a certain amount of time. Ben gave me the credit card company’s phone number and told me they would need my credit card number to issue the refund. I tried calling his contact at the CC company to issue a refund multiple times and left several messages. I finally spoke to Frank (the owner’s contact at the credit card company) for the first time and he explained that it was Grubhub who needed to issue a refund and I had expressed that this was not the case. Frank told me he would have to call the owner to confirm this. The second time I spoke to frank he explained that he needed authorization from the owner to complete the refund transaction and he would call back as soon as he could get into touch with him. Frank and the credit card company did not call back. The third time I spoke to Frank he explained that he needed proof of both charges one from YAFA and the other from Grubhub to verify there was a double charge. I emailed him screenshots of both charges to my credit card. This was the last time I have spoken to Frank. I have left several messages to him and was told by other employees at this credit card processing company that they would have Frank call be back with no response. After this excessive amount of back and forth I texted the owner one final time explaining that there was still no refund and there was no choice but to leave negative reviews and report him to the BBB.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Yafa is a great option for Mediterranean food. We had the Yafa salad with beets and arugula as well as a ground beef/lamb kebab plate that was very satisfying. The food was prepared in a way that was very tasting and also visually appealing; all...items on the entree were very flavorful. The salad was very nice also, although we would have liked maybe one or two more beets in order for it to be truly satisfying. Overall, I think the food is great, the service is friendly and courteous, and the atmosphere is very nice also.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Over the holidays we enjoyed a wonderful meal at Yafa. The place was absolutely packed and yet our service was attentive and swift. The meal was delicious and healthy.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Carmel Inn & Suites
216 reviews
.03 miles away
Carmel Bay View Inn
1,304 reviews
.05 miles away
Carmel Lodge
689 reviews
.08 miles away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
779 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Flying Fish Grill
1,037 reviews
.17 miles away
Brophy's Tavern
220 reviews
.12 miles away
Patisserie Boissiere Restaurant
436 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Carmel Chamber of Commerce Visitor Center
40 reviews
.18 miles away
Carmel Plaza
107 reviews
.14 miles away
Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery
20 reviews
.16 miles away
Weston Gallery
21 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Deborah D
May 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Deborah D |
Too much later to be helpful. A reservation is necessary-it is a small place. Well worth it. Excellent if you like authentic middle east-Arabic food. Everything we ordered was great.
0
Votes
359gene
December 23, 2015|
Answer
Response from Coasttravelor | Reviewed this property |
I do not know.
0
Votes
Lauren M
August 20, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from johnfN6982YJ | Reviewed this property |
I think it was one of the owners who played a song on a Middle Eastern drum. Quite lively and to my ear he was very good.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing